We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TrewinDorset
Christchurch

The views! The gardens! Lovely hotel (but don't be surprised that it's hilly)

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Hotel Lomas del Volcan has fantastic views of the volcano and beautiful gardens with lots of birds - stunning toucans, a motmot and more especially in the mornings. With that location comes steep slopes! Our bungalow was uphill from the restaurant, pools and reception, but golf cart transfers are available if needed. The bungalow is very well equipped and comfortable.
We stayed in mid-May and had 2 days of blue skies & sun, then 2 days where it rained afternoon / evening – the volcano disappeared!

The staff were excellent from the friendly reception team and throughout. The pools are fantastic (not hot springs), lovely and quiet for most of our stay in May – we enjoyed being poolside to relax in the afternoons, even when it rained. The pool bar and food service was great.
Food is generally very good, though the main restaurant does rather lack atmosphere – large, high ceilings and never seemed busy. Breakfasts had a very good variety to choose from.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Pool bar food service is great for relaxing lunches Walk thru gardens early a.m. to see the most...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabricio Murillo, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear TrewinDorset,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the fantastic views of the volcano and our beautiful gardens teeming with stunning birds. We agree that the mornings are especially magical here.

We understand the steep slopes can be challenging, but we're glad you took advantage of our golf cart transfers. It's great to know that your bungalow was well-equipped and comfortable. Mid-May weather can be variable, with a mix of sunny days and rainy afternoons, but we're happy that didn't deter you from enjoying your stay.

Our staff always strives to provide excellent service, and we're delighted that you found them friendly and helpful. We're also pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic pools and the quiet, relaxing atmosphere they offer, even in the rain. It's wonderful to hear that you appreciated the pool bar and food service.

Regarding the main restaurant, we value your feedback and will consider ways to enhance the atmosphere. We're glad you found the food generally very good and enjoyed the variety at breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Lomas del Volcán for another memorable stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€363
  • Priceline
    €522
  • Vio.com
    €318
  • Expedia.com
    €418
2.9 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€384
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    €340
  • Vio.com
    €284
  • Hotels.com
    €383
4.6 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€336
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €336
  • Hotels.com
    €336
  • Priceline
    €336
4.8 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€271
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €271
  • Agoda.com
    €233
  • Hotels.com
    €271
3.3 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free parking
Pool
€364
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    €363
  • Vio.com
    €312
  • Hotels.com
    €363
5.4 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€450
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    €450
  • Hotels.com
    €450
  • Priceline
    €450
2.7 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€82
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €67
  • Priceline
    €82
  • Hotels.com
    €67
4.7 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€130
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Restaurant
€215
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €299
  • Agoda.com
    €196
  • Hotels.com
    €298
9.4 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€988
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    €985
  • Booking.com
    €635
  • Hotels.com
    €984
6.8 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Reviews (2,387)
Filter reviews
2,387 results
Traveller rating
1,645
595
93
21
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,645
595
93
21
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews back porch arenal volcano costa rica deluxe bungalow hot tub individual bungalows huge bathroom front porch beautiful pool howler monkeys close to la fortuna close to town great view of the volcano every morning buffet style dirt road taxi ride
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,387 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Receptionist was very rude and unhelpful. In fact she seemed to go out of her way to make the process difficult. Eg she refused to give me simple details about breakfast and pool timings, insisting that my husband join. Her demeanor was awful, so our first impression was tarnished. Entry is also tough for the last few kms. as the road is not paved.

Rooms and bathrooms are not modern but the view of Arenal is great.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 882firef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabricio Murillo, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Fireflies,

Thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry to hear about your experience with our receptionist. This is not the level of service we strive to provide, and we will be addressing this matter internally to ensure it does not happen again.

We appreciate your feedback about the rooms and bathrooms and are glad you enjoyed the view of the Arenal Volcano. Your input is invaluable to us, and we hope to improve our services to better meet your expectations in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope you consider giving us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The little semi luxury cabins here are amazing! Friendly, professional service all around, especially the breakfast staff! Would likely stay here again the next time! 4 nights for $700 was more than reasonable for what we got:
PROs:
-Large spacious cabin with big clean bathroom.
-Very comfortable king bed, fridge, large LCD TV, coffee maker
-Fun pool area with a cold and a heated pool with swim up bar.
-Amazing breakfast buffet that changed daily, with a fresh omelette station.
CONs:
-1km road to the hotel is unpaved and very rocky, its nearly 5 minutes each way.
-Some tiny ants in the room, but that is normal for Costa Rica.
-Depending on your cabin location, it can be a long walk to the breakfast and pool areas. We drove because of rain or heat.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JohnnyTrekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabricio Murillo, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Johnny Trekkie,

Thank you for your detailed review! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in our semi-luxury cabins and appreciated the friendly and professional service, especially from our breakfast staff. It's great you found our cabins spacious and comfortable and enjoyed our pool area and breakfast buffet.

We appreciate your feedback on the unpaved road leading to the hotel and understand it can be a bit rocky. We're constantly working on improvements and will consider your comments. As for the tiny ants are indeed a part of the natural environment here in Costa Rica, but we do our best to manage them.

Regarding the distance to the breakfast and pool areas, our bell staff can assist guests with transportation using our golf carts, ensuring a comfortable experience.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Lomas del Volcán, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2024

Lomas del Volcan is one of the highest-quality hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff are friendly, the included breakfast is good, the pool and related amenities are fantastic, and the rooms are very clean. The on-site hiking trail is also a must see! I would recommend staying here to anyone and would like to come back some day.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabricio Murillo, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2024

Dear Andy,

Thank you for your outstanding review! We're delighted to hear that you consider Lomas del Volcán to be one of the highest-quality hotels you've ever stayed in.
We're glad you found our staff friendly, enjoyed the included breakfast, and appreciated the fantastic pool and related amenities. We're also glad you enjoyed the on-site hiking trail.
Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we hope to welcome you back someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2024 via mobile

We really loved this hotel. We got the room with the bathtub, it was amazing. Very romantic and cozy.
The breakfast was amazing, the best we had at Costa Rica, really worth it.
The staff was very very cool.
We really recommend this place.

The dinner at the restaurant was excellent.

The only thing is that when we came it was a little cold (for us, we are from Brazil) and the pool is not heated, and the water in the room was not that hot either. But it was not a problem, just something to have in mind.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marinamalaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabricio Murillo, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2024

Dear Marinamalaman,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're delighted that you loved our hotel and found your room with the bathtub amazing, romantic, and cozy.

It's great that you enjoyed our breakfast and found it the best in Costa Rica. We're also pleased you had an excellent dinner at our restaurant and appreciated our cool staff.

We appreciate your feedback regarding your room's pool and water temperature. We'll consider this for future improvements.

Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2024 via mobile

What a great Hotel, a fantastic location ( with so many beautiful birds in it’s grounds, Paradise for us birdwatchers as well as nature lovers)
The accommodation was brilliant right below the volcano. A great view to wake up to . The rooms had well kept gardens all round them, with balconies front and rear. Lovely for watching birds flitting around including hummingbirds! While drinking a cold beer.
Everywhere was spotless, even the gardens where well tended. The staff were so friendly and pleasant, nothing was a problem for them.
The food in main restaurant was brilliant.
Bar snacks were good.

You could always get a lift to you room day or night if the slope to your room was too much!

The pool bar was excellent and Rudy was always happy and seemed to love his job and was good at it ( a asset to the hotel)

All in all a great six days, in hindsight I wish I’d spent a little more time relaxing at this paradise rather then out on excursions!!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank srickard348
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabricio Murillo, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2024

Dear srickard348,

Thank you for your fantastic review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at our hotel and appreciated our beautiful location, especially as a birdwatcher and nature lover.

It's wonderful to know that you found the accommodation brilliant with a great view of the volcano and enjoyed the well-kept gardens and balconies for birdwatching and relaxing. We're glad you found everything spotless and well-tended, and that our friendly and pleasant staff made your stay even better.

We're delighted that you enjoyed the food in our main restaurant and the bar snacks and had a great experience at the pool bar with Rudy. Your kind words about him being an asset to the hotel are much appreciated.

Thank you for mentioning the convenience of our lift service for guests. We're glad it made your stay more comfortable.

We appreciate your feedback and are happy you had a great six days with us. We hope to welcome you back for more relaxation and enjoyment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews