We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chris M

Ideal start to the holiday

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 May 2024
The perfect start to our holiday. The lodges are comfortable, spacious, clean. The resort itself is very clean and the pool, bar & restaurant areas are all nice. Incredible view of the volcano at breakfast. Staff were all great also. Sitting at the pool bar for a couple of hours each night before heading out for dinner was perfect. Really enjoyed it here.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabricio Murillo, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review
Responded 6 May 2024
Dear Chris,

We're thrilled to hear that your stay with us was the perfect start to your holiday! It's wonderful to know that you found your lodge comfortable, spacious, and clean and that you enjoyed the amenities and facilities throughout the resort. It sounds like relaxing at the pool bar in the evenings was the ideal way to unwind before heading out for dinner. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€276
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    €284
  • Agoda.com
    €232
  • Hotels.com
    €276
4.6 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€533
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    €467
  • Hotels.com
    €533
6.3 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€278
€177
  • Expedia.com
    €211
  • Hotels.com
    €211
  • travelup.com
    €278
4.5 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free parking
Pool
€373
€309
  • Expedia.com
    €331
  • Hotels.com
    €331
  • Vio.com
4.8 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€299
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    €299
  • Hotels.com
    €299
  • Tripadvisor
    €299
2.7 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€92
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €55
  • Hotels.com
    €55
  • Tripadvisor
    €55
4.7 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€131
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Restaurant
€308
€216
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    €270
  • Expedia.com
    €270
  • Priceline
9.4 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€890
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    €890
  • Booking.com
    €626
  • Priceline
6.8 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    €420
  • ZenHotels.com
    €384
  • Hotels.com
2.9 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Reviews (2,388)
Filter reviews
2,388 results
Traveller rating
1,646
595
93
21
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,646
595
93
21
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews back porch arenal volcano costa rica deluxe bungalow hot tub individual bungalows huge bathroom front porch beautiful pool howler monkeys close to la fortuna close to town great view of the volcano every morning buffet style dirt road taxi ride
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,388 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2024

This hotel was my favorite of the two on the trip. It was located in a beautiful spot at the base of the volcano where we had almost every view we could imagine of the volcano with clouds, fog and clear and sunny. Our bungalow was private and I could sit on the porch in the mornings and listen to the many birds. The restaurant had great options and their breakfast buffet was included in our stay and there were so many choices. Food was great. Staff was great. We had 2 services each at the spa which were lovely. My husband had deep tissue massage twice and I had the "Relaxing Massage" and the Volcanic Mud massage which were fabulous. Highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfabbrolous
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabricio Murillo, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Dear kfabbrolous,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our location at the base of the Arenal Volcano provided you with such breathtaking views. It's wonderful to know that you found your bungalow to be private and serene, allowing you to immerse yourself in the sounds of nature. We're glad you enjoyed the dining options at our restaurant, and that our breakfast buffet offered a variety of choices to start your day off right. Additionally, we're thrilled to hear that you and your husband enjoyed the spa services and that they added to the relaxation of your stay. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2024

The best experience i’ve ever had , the rooms are amazing , the food is incredible, and the people in the hotel is the most kind people i’ve ever seen, thanks to my stay in lomas del volcán our time in Costa Rica was so much better ! High level hotel in all senses

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Paola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabricio Murillo, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Dear Paola,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic time at Lomas del Volcán. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed our amazing rooms, delicious food, and the kindness of our staff. We're delighted to have contributed to making your time in Costa Rica so memorable. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we're grateful for the opportunity to have hosted you. We hope to welcome you back again for another exceptional stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2024

Absolutely beautiful property with individual bungalow rooms! Rooms were large and very comfortable. We even had a outside 2 seater jacuzzi that was surrounded by the jungle! The breakfast was amazing with lots to choose from and the windows in the dining room were floor to ceiling. They knew it was our anniversary and had chocolate covered strawberries waiting in the room for us, as well as towels shaped as swans and their necks shaped into a heart! Close to town, but you do need a car. We used UBER each time to go into town and it was $4 and then taxis to get back as they were readily available. It was raining while we were there, so no pool time, but it did look nice and there was a swim up bar. There are 2 eating locations, the main dining room and an open air (but covered) sport bar. I would stay here again!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 97,989,798
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabricio Murillo, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

Dear Illicia0825,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us at Lomas del Volcán! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our property and amenities exceeded your expectations.
It warms our hearts to know that you found our bungalow rooms comfortable and that the outdoor jacuzzi surrounded by the jungle added to your experience. We are thrilled that you appreciated the special touches we arranged for your anniversary, including the chocolate-covered strawberries and towel swans.
We're also glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast options and the ambiance of our dining room. It's great to know that you found our location convenient for exploring the area.
Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay at Lomas del Volcán in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Loved and enjoyed our stay at this Resort. Our bungalow was so cute, surrounded by flower and trees. We enjoyed waking up to this natural and so very lush surroundings. Thoroughly enjoyed our morning walks around the grounds. Great breakfast included. Would definitely stay here next time I'm in CR.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabricio Murillo, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Dear Radha P,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our resort! We're thrilled to hear that you loved and enjoyed your stay with us. It's fantastic to know that you appreciated the beauty of our bungalows and the lush natural surroundings. We're delighted that you enjoyed your morning walks around the grounds and the delicious breakfast included.

We would be honored to welcome you back during your next visit to Costa Rica! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything we can assist you with in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024

This place is amazing and beautiful so much wildlife to see, beautiful rooms in a cabin in the jungle with a jacuzzis bath on the balcony. Hotel breakfast and restaurant is excellent

Room tip: Beautiful spot
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreaturps
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fabricio Murillo, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Dear Andreaturps,
We're thrilled to hear about your amazing experience with us! It's wonderful that you found our location to be beautiful and that you enjoyed observing the wildlife. Our cabin rooms are indeed designed to offer a cozy retreat amidst the jungle, and we're glad you appreciated the jacuzzi bath on the balcony. Ensuring a delightful dining experience is important to us, so we're pleased that you enjoyed our excellent breakfast and restaurant offerings.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews