We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Amanda C
Boston, Massachusetts

Fantastic Spot, Great Service

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Feb 2018via mobile
My family and I stayed here for three days during February break. The rooms (more like private Cabin bungalows) were beautifully made out of wood and were very clean, and you are situated right on the base of the volcano. The pool area was perfect, the restaurants serve delicious food, and wild birds, butterflies, and coatis (local raccoon-type animals) were walking around the property. Don’t miss happy hour – or the delicious included breakfast.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review
Responded 25 Apr 2018
Dear Amanda C.

Thank you very much for your visit and for sharing with all of us your experience had at Lomas del Volcán Hotel.
It was a honor to offer you our special service in this beautiful land: Arenal area.
Hopefully we will see each other again. It will be a pleasure to see you return someday

Kind regards.

Your friends of Lomas del Volcán Hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€338
  • Expedia.com
    €420
  • Vio.com
    €302
  • travelup.com
    €379
2.9 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€258
  • Expedia.com
    €324
  • Vio.com
    €225
  • Hotels.com
    €324
4.6 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€478
  • Hotels.com
    €533
  • Vio.com
    €426
  • Expedia.com
    €533
6.3 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€174
  • Hotels.com
    €238
  • Vio.com
    €156
  • Expedia.com
    €238
4.5 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free parking
Pool
€373
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €373
  • Agoda.com
    €301
  • Hotels.com
    €373
4.8 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€299
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €299
  • Hotels.com
    €299
  • Priceline
    €299
2.7 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€92
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €92
  • Hotels.com
    €92
  • Priceline
    €92
4.7 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€131
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Restaurant
€216
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €300
  • Agoda.com
    €213
  • Hotels.com
    €300
9.4 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
€1,000
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    €640
  • Hotels.com
    €1,001
  • Trip.com
    €940
6.8 km from Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Reviews (2,388)
Filter reviews
2,388 results
Traveller rating
1,646
595
93
21
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,646
595
93
21
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews back porch arenal volcano costa rica deluxe bungalow hot tub individual bungalows huge bathroom front porch beautiful pool howler monkeys close to la fortuna close to town great view of the volcano every morning buffet style dirt road taxi ride
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
457 - 462 of 2,388 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Really nice place. Enjoyed the cabins and the view of the volcano. Great for kids. Close to much of the activities in the area, but not smack dab in the middle of things either. The food is good for breakfast. Very good value. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bretandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear bretandlisa.

Thank you very much for your visit and for placing your comment here.
It was a honor to offer you our hospitality and we hope to have your visit again.

Kind regards and see you the next season.

Your friends of Lomas del Volcán Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

When we saw the location for the hotel we were really pleased. The staff was also generally helpful. Still, the devil is in the details. First of all this hotel is still pulling off the old game of charging you for mini bar usage that you don't use. They never responded to our email regarding the "mistake." Also, the hot tub is luke warm, the breakfast to go was just fruit, and the drinks were watered down. The hotel holds promise even though it isn't located on the hot springs but for us it was disappointing.

Room tip: Most rooms have a view of the volcano
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Mdavey.

Thank you very much for visiting us and for selecting our hotel as the place to spend your vacations in Arenal.
We regret that your experience turned into a negative stay and that some little details that you mention ruined your fore perception.
Our breakfast to go is only fruit but the one serve at the restaurant is a huge buffet plenty of different options. Usually when one of our guests asks for a breakfast to go we explain the 2 options: the free one with fruits and natural juice or the one with extra charge that is more than fruits. Perhaps you opted for the free one but we are not clear about that, you don´t mention that here.
Related to our drinks, we ignore what you ordered but certainly we know that we make top quality drinks as we are in a tropical country and we rise all kind of fruits all year round.
We really sorry for having a not very pleasant stay and we appreciate your visit. Maybe in a second trip we can fill up all your expectancies

Kind regards from all the staff of Lomas del Volcán Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We had inadvertantly booked an economy room rather than one of the cabins, but although our room was quite small, it was adequate for our three-night stay, well-equipped and spotlessly clean. The location of the hotel is good for exploring the Arenal National Park and is right at the foot of the volcano; the gardens are beautiful and there is a lovely swimming pool too. As it is quite a long way from the main road to the hotel, it is probably preferable to have a car (as we did). The only meals we ate at the hotel were the breakfasts (there are some very good restaurants in La Fortuna), which we did not find particularly good. Furthermore, as some other reviewers have mentioned, the restaurant staff were not particularly friendly. On the other hand, the staff at reception were very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ALB1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear ALB1806n.

Thank you very much for selecting us as the place to spend your vacation in Arenal. It was a pleasure to offer you our hospitality and charming treatment. We regret that the service received at the restaurant wasn´t the one you deserved. We promise you we will make all the corrections and everythings as possible to investigate what happened.
It is a pitty that our breakfasts were not of your choice due we consider we serve the best breakfast of the entire region: fresh, aboundant and with wide variety of options.
We hope that the next time you stay with us, we can fill up all your expectancies

Kind regards and see you soon.

Your friends of Lomas del Volcán Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our Costa Rican tour but, unfortunately, our stay did not get off to a good start. Our trip had been booked for almost a year with a bespoke British tour company but, despite this, there was no cabin available for us on the first night and we were shunted into overspill ‘economy’ accommodation. Needless to say, we were not best pleased about the situation! A quick look at Trip Advisor revealed that this was not an isolated occurrence with some poor guests actually being shipped off to alternative hotels! To be fair, we were offered 2 free dinners with wine and a free half day tour in recompense which we accepted in order to draw a line under the matter and to try to get on with enjoying our holiday. It was such a shame that our stay began like this because this is a lovely place to stay, spacious, clean cabins with large bathrooms and two queen size beds situated in lush tropical gardens. It is so quiet and peaceful and we were lucky enough to have fab weather and a magnificent view of the volcano as a result. The staff were friendly and obliging, food not too bad and a two hour ‘happy hour’ helped with the enjoyment of our stay. All in all, we really liked this place but if overbooking is a recurrent problem, the Management need to sort this out or risk no bookings at all!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank watsonpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear watsonpk.

Thank you very much for visiting us and selecting our mountain lodge as a part of your vacation.
We really regret that your first day at Lomas was not as expected for you but unfortunately we had some issues with the availability. We sthrove to make you entire stay as pleasant as possible and believe us we really sorry but it was out of our hands.
Happily at the end you finished your stay in the kind of room you did book and we helped you this situation with a pack of free stuff for you.

Kind regards and we hope not to repeat this situation

Your friends of Lomas del Volcán Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Living at Lomas del Volcan for 2 Nights was fantastic, fantastic hut direct "under" the Volcano with an excellent view, and the Breakfast was top class, and the staff too.
All the way through an fantastic experience.
Thanks

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Husted1955.

Excellent feedback.
Thank you for let us be part of your vacations and for selecting our mountain hotel to be part of them.

Kind regards from all your friends of Lomas del Volcán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews