We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty evening with great service!”

Restaurante SelvaRustica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant located in La Fortuna de San Carlos with a cozy atmosphere full of nature so that you can enjoy with your friends and family, specialized in international gastronomy with an extensive menu of Meat and Seafood.
Reviewed 31 March 2021

Haute cuisine? No. Everything made well to our requests and served to us by a staff who was very accommodating and took EXCELLENT care of us? Definitely. One warning ... just be careful when ordering the steak - delicious but the serving was HUGE so plan accordingly! We didn't realize this and ordered some appetizers and consequently felt VERY guilty when we didn't finish the steaks! Good wine list as well to choose from and their bartender made some perfectly balanced mojitos to start the night!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2021

We discovered Restaurants SelvaRustica, which was formerly known as Rancho Perla, on our last night in La Fortuna, and we both agreed that had we found it earlier, we would have eaten there every night.

We arrived in the mid to late afternoon, so we were the only ones there. The grounds are beautiful, and Señor Perla provided us prompt, friendly, and professional service. As if that wasn't enough, the food was wonderful! My husband ordered the tenderloin tips in jalapeño sauce, and I ordered the grilled tuna filet with garlic and wine. Both arrived beautifully presented with perfectly steamed vegetables and a little volcano of mashed potatoes with sour cream. My husband's steak and my tuna were perfectly cooked. Señor Perla brought a bottle of their house pepper sauce, and it was delicious. We also enjoyed the hierba buena lemonade and the strawberry lemonade which we ordered with minimal sugar, and the sweetness was just right.

We have lived in Costa Rica almost six years, and this was one of the best meals we've had here. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bonnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2021 via mobile

Husband said best steak he's had in Costa Rica. I had a perfectly cooked, very tasty tuna filet with potato and veggies, and our daughter had a chicken sandwich. Everything exceeded our expectations. And yummy garlic bread, too!
Very spacious open air dining, and Covid safe place to eat.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

During our stay at La Fortuna, we were on the search for a vegetarian option and at the Rancho Perla (new name: Selva Rustica) we were more than happy with what we found. The food was so delicious (Fajita Vegetable and Empanadas with Spinach and Mushrooms). As a starter, we enjoyed the garlic bread (for free). The waiters are very cautious (have a mask on and they make sure all guests wash their hands before seated).
Unfortunately for them, we were the only guest due to the pandemic. This restaurant deserves better and we hope that more guest can enjoy the great service in the future again.
We will be there tomorrow again before we will go further north.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ValerieChristine95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2020

very good food - crowdy but they are very well organised and food is served rather fast - I love it here - very friendly staff - we will be back next time - love the fish soup with curry and coco - a lot of choices - getting hungry now and wishing chief Perla and his wife Mireya could cook me something here in Belgium too

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Sabinev500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante SelvaRustica also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Restaurante SelvaRustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.