We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food!”
Review of Sura Bar & Bistro

Sura Bar & Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Inspired by traditional Costa Rican architecture, Sura Bar & Bistro allows up to 120 people, and is completely open, so that you can enjoy the climate and natural environment of this area as well as a spectacular view of the Arenal Volcano. With a wide menu variety, combining international gastronomy, as the traditional flavors of our fields, seas and rivers: flavors of Costa Rica. The doors open from 7 am until 10 pm, to enjoy from breakfast, to lunch or dinner. Sura Bar & Bistro also offers a fine selection of wines, and domestic and imported liquors of the highest quality. A pleasant and convenient place to eat appetizer before or after your activities in La Fortuna de San Carlos. Sura Bar & Bistro offers delicious and practical options, with the special touch of home.
Reviewed 10 February 2021 via mobile

Terrible food. Every meal was discussed. Even the desert wasn’t good. The only thing that was ok is the service. I will never come back.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank NirGilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo La Palma H, Director General at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

Hi, Nir!

Thank you so much for your review.

You might think that there is nothing to be thankful for, if the review is not positive; But we consider that, from the most negative opinion to the most positive, it deserves our attention.

Even a negative opinion allows us to improve and for this team of people to continue growing, as professionals and providing a better service to all our guests.

We hope you enjoy Costa Rica, thank you for your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2020 via mobile

We are staying at the hotel, and we decided to dine in because it was raining hard. We enjoyed shrimp rissotto and tuna teryaki. Delicious and the service was excellent . Thank you.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Christine2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2020 via mobile

First night here was perfect. What a difference the second night is. The guy who was the bartender last night is now our server. He is awful. He makes me feel like I am making him go out of his way. He never asked how the food was. Never checked on us at all. 10 minutes ago he came by and I asked for tres Leche cake. Still not here. I am ready to go. Just came out. He set it down, walked away and said nothing.
Food was good. Service is awful!
There is a pretty young blond here who is getting all the attention from our server.
It is a shame tonight is so bad when last night was so good.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank C8680GQwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director General at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Hello William, thank you for your time and effort to evaluating us.

We want to apologize for the attention received. It is a really isolated case, since we are known for providing an excellent quality service.

We are sorry that your experience was not the same as the previous night.
We will take into account your contributions to improve and make some decisions.

Once again we appreciate your feedback.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2019 via mobile

Beautifully presented dishes. Excellent service. Generous portions. Not cheap but worth the money. All tried dishes were very tasty including the vegetarian one.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank kattullus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2019

Hello, thank you for your time and effort to leaving us your positive comment.

We are delighted to know that your experience at Surá Bar & Bistro has been so positive.
Your feedback motivates us and encourages us to keep doing things better every time.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Kindest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

We ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner here during our stay. We found the food reasonably priced and pretty good. The service was excellent. If you are staying at the hotel would definitely recommend taking the time to have a meal here

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank ppochiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sura Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2019

Dear customer, we want to thank you for your time and effort to evaluating us.

We are happy to see you had a magnificent experience with us.
Our main goal is the complete satisfaction of all our guest and customer.

We hope all your stay and meals has been good.

Warmest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sura Bar & Bistro also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Sura Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.