We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toughest Hike I've ever done!”

Cerro Chato ANC Park & Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$62.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano National Park Walk with Optional Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GreenLagoon Arenal Nature Conservancy Park & Gardens is a private Park, Trails & Gardens Preserve within its 400 Acre-Property. It is the closest property to the Extinct Cerro Chato Volcano, its Crater's Green Lagoon and the Fortuna Waterfall. There is a $10 Fee charge at the GreenLagoon InfoCenter or at the GreenLagoon Lodge to take this Hiking Tour. Parking facilities at no cost are available at the lodge. The Trails also lead to the Wildlife and Rainforest Preserve within the 400-Acre private property. You will have magnificent Views to Mountains, Arenal Volcano and the Valley of San Carlos here. If you decide to hike to the summit of Cerro Chato, the Lagoon or to the view point of Arenal Volcano at the summit, you will do it under your own risk and responsibility.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Toughest Hike I've ever done!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

But so worth it. The lagoon is beautiful and a great reward after a difficult hike.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank PJVNutrition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CerroChato, Guest Relations Manager at Cerro Chato ANC Park & Gardens, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Hiker, this Mountaineering Activity is all about Wellenss Lifestyle Choices. That is the Bottom Point. As owner and as a Wilderness Medical Specialist, I have chosen this Land 20 some years ago, to set my Wellness Destination business with one dream in mind. To promote only activities that enhances the Physical, Spiritual and Intelectual Wellness of our Guests & Wildlife. Unlike a hospital setting which is about Pro-Treatment in most cases, this Project is Pro-Preventive Medicine, that is what Wellness is about. As the Trainers say, No Pain No Gain. I only hope that this moderate Climbing Experience and perhaps painful Achievment help you set your daily goals towards Daily Wellness & Nutritional Goals. On our part, we are working towards, Organic Food, Wellness Land and Water Sport Activities to make out of GreenLagoon a Wellness Destination serving the best we can all of our Guests and Visitors. Do not forget, next time to check our Mountaineering Base Camp, The GreenLagoon Falls Park Lodge & Natura Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    95
    26
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very tough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Wow... not sure we were really quite prepared for this hike. They told us it would take 1.5-2 hours, just to get to the top, but it took us closer to 3. It was a little rainy, so the mud didn't help. But we made it. We were very proud to get there...but unfortunately it was so overcast we couldn't see ANYTHING from the top. Would have been an amazing experience if there was a view waiting for us.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 144bdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CerroChato, Guest Relations Manager at Cerro Chato ANC Park & Gardens, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments, and you are right, there are days where Cerro Chato exhibits the "Cloudy RainForest Nature", which is beautiful too. Other days and most of them you will be able to see the Turquoise Lagoon, the Arenal Volcano and a bit further the Magestic Lake Arenal on the West side of the Summit.
I am glad you made it and I am very proud of you. It is true the average time to get to the top is 1.5-2 hours. However, the elite climbers, like Raul our Park Manager and Jose Mario, our General Manger go from the base to the top in 45 minutes and there are others that may take 4 hours to the Summit. However, the challange is for anyone of any age who may want to Conquer the Cerro Chato Expedition, see Natural Wonders but most important taking upon daily "Climibing to the Summit" Challanges for their Lifelong Wellness. By the way you may subscribe to our newsletter "Climbing to the Summit" in our web site. May God bless you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABQ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Steep misty climb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Great workout! I'm in very good shape. Avid cyclist. I made good timing, but started too late in the day. I'd go in the morning next time. Never made it to the top, so I had to turn back before dark . Enjoyable even w/out the view of Cerro Chato and Arenal. I was none too keen on La Fortuna in general, but this was my favorite activity. There is a cute cafe owned by Americans on the road up to the parking lot that was worth the stop.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank shanebikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CerroChato, Guest Relations Manager at Cerro Chato ANC Park & Gardens, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Hiker, like you, many people have chosen Cerro Chato Mountaineering Expedition to challange their fitness and to set goals of improving your daily Adventure Marathon like-experiences of life. We have had also International Adventure Marathons in our Cerro Chato ANC Park & Gardens. All would say the same you did, it is beautiful and I like to hear that. However, our dream is not just to have a beautifull place surrounded by Natural Monuments, such as GreenLagoon, La Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano, Lake Arenal, and the viraity of Rivers, Hot Springs an other attractions. Most imprtant is the Impact this Special Authentic Place Own by Locals the "GreenLagoon" will have in your heart and Lifelong Wellness Choices you are making. As a Wilderrness Physician Specialist, this is my challange to everyone "take this Expedition achievement into your heart and mind" and practice it daily through great Lifestyle Choices. My only desire is that everyone will take this Wellness Treasure home. May God bless you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hard work”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The Cerro Chato hike is incedible, but very challenging. If you are not in good physical condition--DO NOT DO THIS HIKE! My husband and I are in decent shape and it was difficult for us. We are so happy we did it, you will understand once you get there.

For the first hour you hike up the fields and the second hour is hiking through the jungle. When you are hiking through the jungle it is all steps. You will need to back lots of water, nuts, sandwiches and some chocolate. We also wrapped up two celebratory beers for when we finally made it to the top.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Plunketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Hike was enjoyable and view was spectacular. Please use a guide as they gave good insight into the area (such as flora and fauna).

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cerro Chato ANC Park & Gardens also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Cerro Chato ANC Park & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing