We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value in Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Del Arenal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Del Arenal
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best value in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Excellent hostel with nice garden area to chat with other travelers.
Great location, only a short stroll to the centre of town. Big, clean rooms, we had a private double. Friendly, helpful staff. Carmen makes a tasty, big breakfast! The kitchen can also be used by guests. She also helped us with shuttles, taxis and tickets to Baldi Hot Springs. All this for a very reasonable price! Probably the best value for money accommodation in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a room with private bathroom and if we ever go back to la Fortuna we'll stay at Posada Inn again because everything there was excellent. The room was quite big (1dbl bed+1 bunk bed but we were just 2), hot water in the shower, little outdoor (but covered) kitchen to cook, view over the volcano from the 1st floor, nice :-)
Moreover the staff is really helpful and friendly, they even prepared us a packed breakfast to take with us when we left very early one morning. They phoned for us to book tours or transport, very nice of them as I don't think they get any commission for that. Overall a great stay even if the weather was lousy... Definetely recommend the place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tondeuse81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

I stayed at Posado Inn during Christmas time and the staff at was more then accommodiating. The breakfast was excellent and if you wanted any special requests they were sure to do those for you. The rooms were big and the showers were hot. It was close enough to town that I could walk everywhere I wanted to go. Elaine was very helpful on arranging tours. Carmen is an excellent cook. It was very quite so you could get a good nite sleep.There is a outdoor kitchen that you can use to cook meals and there is a bakery a few steps away that is open 24 hours a day. I highly recommend Posado Inn

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

I have stayed at La Fortuna twice before but never found a place
I really felt comfortable in.
I was referred by a friend to stay at Posado
Inn and I was not disappointed at all. We stayed in a room with a double bed and a bunk bed with a private bathroom on the second floor. The shower was hot and the bathroom was big.
The room was big and it came with two fans which was more then what we needed to stay comfortable in the evening. Elaine was more then helpful on telling us where to go to get things we needed. Carmen was vey sweet and makes the best breakfast I have ever had in Costa Rica. She even made my son hard boiled eggs. The whole staff was very accommodating on whatever your needs may be. I almost forgot there is a kitchen that you can use to cook your meals which is a big bonus. It is really close to town which makes it easy for the people who do not have a car. There is very secure parking if you do have a car.I can honestly say that you will not be disappointed when choosing Posado Inn for a place to stay.

Room Tip: Room number 9 is a great room big and comfortable enough for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had a wonderful experience at Posada Inn! We were in La Fortuna for two days and wanted to make the most of our time there. The people at Posada went out of their way to accommodate us: cooked us special requests (empanadas), showed us cool places to explore that are not in the guide books, set up an awesome excursion to the hot springs as well as a guided hike, recommended good local eats, even took me to the pharmacy when I had a headache and showed me what to ask for. It was a very welcoming place with a personal feel.

The set up is very nice as well. The rooms are clean and airy, there is a cute kitchen and outdoor breakfast area complete with hammocks, and beautiful landscaping. Walking distance to everything and next door to a awesome bakery that is open 24 hrs. I highly recommend Posada Inn!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 km away
Mayol Lodge
Mayol Lodge
#11 of 39 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Fas
Hotel Fas
#33 of 39 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.7 km away
EcoHostel
EcoHostel
#13 of 70 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
La Choza Inn Hostel
La Choza Inn Hostel
#16 of 39 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
#17 of 39 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.5 km away
Cabinas Las Palmas
Cabinas Las Palmas
#26 of 39 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Arenal

Property: Posada Del Arenal
Address: Calle central | Main road, 250m east of La Fortuna central park (downhill), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Del Arenal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Arenal, we are located in the center of La Fortuna. The supermarket and local stores are only 200 meters west on Main Street and walk a little further to find a bank / ATM, cafes, excellent restaurants and bars, all within walking distance. We have a very safe and quiet environment, so come to relax and enjoy our hospitality. Parking. Tour Desk. Communal Kitchen. Wi-Fi and Free Internet. View of Arenal Volcano. TV on the Back Patio. Private Baths with Hot Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Posada Del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Posada Del Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing