We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Dinner”
Review of Nene's Restaurant

Nene's Restaurant
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 16 March 2021 via mobile

Everything we had was great. Lots of choices, both local and "mainstream". Highly recommend the garlic fish - so good!

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank Noelani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

My husband and I were excited to try this place after hearing about it from a few people. We were VERY disappointed. They were missing a lot of the wines from the menu, and the food tasted mediocre at best. We had steak and steamed vegetables on the side. The dish was very bland. I would not recommend this place.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Eeffielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

We were invited to Nene's for lunch by a friend who lives in La Fortuna. We were not disappointed and the ceviche was the best we had in Costa Rica. At the end we were surprised with a tres leches cake (homemade by one for the owner's wife) for my birthday. The staff was friendly and helpful. This restaurant has a great view of the Arenal volcano. Definitely a memorable experience!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 186nelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021

Ate here during our last day stay in Arenal and have to say that I regret eating here. Should have leave when I see that everyone that eat here are American tourist, and no local at all. The menu is more western ( steak, pasta) with a couple of Costa RIcan food. I ordered a seafood pasta, and it tasted okay but portion are quite small and nothing special ( sauce taste like from the can).Seriously, there are way way more much better restaurant in Arenal, don't waste your time here.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2020 via mobile

Outstanding food at decent prices. Excellent ceviche. Best nachos in Costa Rica. The waiter, Milton, was fantastic!!!

Date of visit: December 2020
2  Thank CypressCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nene's Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos
 

Been to Nene's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.