We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taxi driver's Favorite!”
Review of Nene's Restaurant

Nene's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Not knowing where to go, our taxi driver recommended his favorite and took us to Nene Restaurant. Few blocks from the main street, we ordered their ceviche, steamed trout, and rib eye steak with grilled shrimp. The latter two came out on wooden platters with the food wrapped in foil and a little flame coming out from under it. Sight to behold! And sooooooo juicy and delicious! We also tried their fresh fruit juices...blackberry and strawberry were especially good. prices were reasonable and portions large. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank onthegojl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wuando, Guest Relations Manager at Nene's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that your experience has been nice. Our special dishes are highly recommended and our Ceviche is really one´s of the top. We also choose our products really carefully to make our food, one of the reasons we are highly recommended for all our customers.
We hope to have you back in the near future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 219 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We were recommended by a tour guide and were welcomed to the restaurant by several waiters - the food was ok but not excellent. My cheaper steak with stroganoff sauce was much nicer than wife and sons more expensive rib eye although the seasoning on the steak was good

Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wuando, Guest Relations Manager at Nene's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for choosing our services and share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you found out staff friendly and good food. Thank you again for sharing all of your experiences, we will be using your comments to further improve our restaurant and service for all of our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

The food was good here, but the prices were high. Clearly more tourists eat at this establishment than the locals do.

Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wuando, Guest Relations Manager at Nene's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

We have done our menu with different dishes for the variety of our clients, without losing the Costa Rican essence. We were born and grew in this place that´s why also out clients are local, not just tourists.
We have different dish for different budgets. We work really hard to offer the best food in the best possible environment for everybody.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

My group of 6 with two teenagers arrived hot, hungry and thirsty. We were warmly welcomed and the drinks were nice. Good fruit drinks and cold beers. We ordered everything from very "American " food to their barbecued pork special. ( came with a fire lit on the plate and more food than one person could eat) The food was well received by all and was reasonable in price. The staff was great and the place was clean and filled with nice ambience. A local recommended it and we were happy to have found it.

Thank Mj024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wuando, Guest Relations Manager at Nene's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you very much for your review of our restaurant. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit, food as well as the service of our team. We want to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest on your next visit to La Fortuna!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

We were recommended by our hotel that we come here for dinner. Told it was very nice and that if we mentioned where we were from we would get a free cocktail.

When we arrived we were met by the hostess who was obviously upset that we didn't have a reservation, but then immediately sat us at one of the many empty tables right by the door. With that reaction we assumed that the place would fill up quickly with all the 'reserved' tables but since we were seated right by the entrance we were able to hear that no one coming in had reservations and each person was treated with the same off handed reaction as if a table smaller that 4 wasn't worth her time.

We got the free "cocktail" which was a small shot glass of a pink cream liquor topped with a maraschino cherry. It didn't have much flavour beyond syrup.

We ordered the heart of palm salad and ceviche as appetizers. The salad had no dressing, the ceviche was ordinary, nothing terrible but nothing to write home about either.
The mains were delivered about 12mins later. None of us had finished the eating the apps.

The mains were over cooked and way over salted! Even after scraping all the sauce off the chicken it was too salty to eat. The vegetables were cold and flavourless almost like they were frozen and then boiled.

They started clearing the table the second someone put their fork down, wether they were done eating or not. Clearly focused on getting as much turnover as possible.

They only way this place could possibly stay in business is from all the hotels referring the tourists there as a one off customer. Which must be the case as we stayed a night at a different hotel the next night and they tried to send us back here again. They must be giving a kick back to the hotels for the referrals because the food and service was so terrible.

Walk up the street to the BBQ chicken place. That meal was fantastic and much more affordable!

Thank KenseyYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wuando, Guest Relations Manager at Nene's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

We appreciate very much your feedback concerning our service and the quality of our food.
Our goal is to satisfy all customers who delight us with their presence. We really sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. Our atmosphere and our dishes are highly recommended that's reflected in the reviews. I hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nene's Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Nene's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing