We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great date night out”
Review of Don Rufino

Don Rufino
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 11/5
20:00
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$65
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Contemporary, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our cuisine features a contemporary concept, influenced by the classic European cuisine, Asia and Latin America, from an eloquent and modern perspective. Our steaks are locally produced, with very high farming standards; and our seafood and fish dishes are amongst the preferred by our guests, for whom our menu also offers many vegetarian options, made with ingredients which, in most cases, are harvested in our own farm, pesticide-free.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here for dinner. Open air feel, bar area is open to the sidewalk. Great service, food, location and vibe. Make sure to make a reservation.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank N4484AJbradleyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 2,603 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic food in La Fortuna. My only complaint is that the entee quantity is a lot - we had no idea and ordered appetizers plus entree which was simply too much food. And of course, during covid times, the tables were set a little too closely, in my opinion. This restaurant is clearly popular and was relatively full, with tables set less than 5 feet apart, it wasn't the most comfortable setting. Ignoring that, however, it is a nice setting and the ceviche, hummus, steak - everything was fresh and delicious.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank vids13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Would highly recommend! The food was amazing and so was the service! Definitely put it high in your list!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank MsAdventure2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2021

We dined here during a recent stay because of the reviews I found here on TripAdvisor. Between the food and the service, we enjoyed it so much that we returned the next night, something we rarely do while traveling as we want to try as many restaurants as possible. On both nights, each dish was one that made you automatically say "You have GOT to try this" and force your companion to try it (a major reaction for me as I usually am not one for sharing!). They have a very good wine list that is varied and well-priced but most noticeable, the restaurant knows the importance of slightly chilling their reds in such a warm environment as La Fortuna.

One thing we enjoyed was the service. And it wasn't just a single individual, but their entire team who was taking care of us at one time or another and ALL of them helped make things memorable (when we returned the next night, everyone greeted us as though we were local regulars!).

And a STRONG recommendation if you want to dine here, MAKE A RESERVATION! Even dining here when tourists were a fraction of normal because of Covid, they were still busy and we saw staff turning people away or struggling to find a table for walk-ups. So save yourself a headache and make a reservation, even a day before!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2021

This restaurant came recommended to us by a Tico! Wow, it did not disappoint! The service was great. We ordered an excellent bottle of wine - El Enimigo Cabernet Franc. My friend's Momma's Chicken came in banana leaf. It was the best!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Rufino also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Don Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.