We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"Great Arenal hotel"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Great Arenal hotel"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Royal Corin was recommended by a Costa Rican friend and we found it to be a lovely hotel. The rooms were fabulous, all of them overlooking Arenal volcano. The restaurant was superb. We were fortunate enough to be seated outside on a veranda, which was lovely. Our dinner was one of the best meals we had in Costa RIca. A bit pricy, but definitely worth it! Breakfast was also wonderful. We enjoyed the pools as well. My only comment is "I wish the bar had been placed in the cool water pool instead of the hot pool". Only the whole, I can highly recommend The Royal Corin!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,500
    419
    83
    26
    25
See reviews for
528
1,101
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My sister and I were headed for a week's vacation in La Fortuna/Arenal area, and she picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed!

ROOM: very spacious, with tile floors, dark wood armoire, large rainshower shower with room for 2, comfortable fluffy beds, and a balcony overlooking the thermal pools. Each day the maids made up the room they turned our bathtowels into animals - an elephant, a dog, a swan - and each evening there were small 'sweets' on a plate in the room, just one or two bites per person, but a nice touch. The room was extremely clean and looked very well maintained. The bed linens were comfortable - soft, thought not the softest I've felt. There's an alarm clock-radio, and a TV, as well as a small writing desk and two chairs.

SPA: a highlight of our trip! the prices weren't much less than we find in the US, but the experience was as good or better than what I've experienced in high-end hotels in the US. The changing rooms are large and lockers with keys are provided. The relaxation area has fishponds and chaise lounges in a spacious room with garden views. The treatment rooms are first-class, and the therapists are friendly, attentive, and expert. We had wraps and massages, and they were first-rate wonderful. They give you a nice little energy-drink cocktail at the end, and you can relax as long as you like in the spa, and there are indoor and outdoor hot tubs to enjoy before or after your treatment. Ask about the deals - usually there's some package offered.

ON-SITE FOOD: There is a swim-up bar in the main thermal pool which has simple food - local-style pizzas, salads, etc. - and frankly, we found that to be the best option. Everyone says you don't go to Costa Rica for the food, and that's absolutely true... the hotel has a white-tablecloth restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The breakfast is perfectly fine - it was included in our room, and consisted of a range of local foods (rice and beans, eggs, fruits, cereals, breads, sausages, and some local specialities). The main menu, though, was uneven. A Peruvian-style tilapia ceviche was fantastic - fresh, clean tasting... wonderful. Snails in garlic butter were excellent. But most of the other dishes we had were merely ok, and given you are paying $30-50 for one person for dinner, I expected more than a mediocre steak that was over-cooked, or a strange runny almond 'cake' for dessert. Our advice? Go into town, and check Trip Advisor for recommended cafes - Volcano Cafe looks like a sports bar, but the food was some of the best we had.

VOLCANO: They have a lounge on the top level that looks out over the volcano, but as of 2011 the lava stopped flowing... it still smokes every day, and it's still stunning, but not dramatic. Just don't be disappointed - Arenal volcano pics with lava flowing are everywhere, but they can't control when it will happen!

THERMAL POOLS: one huge full-sized pool heated to 102 F, plus smaller pools and waterfalls running from 80 F to 103 F, as well as natural hot tubs that were too hot for us to get into... we probably should have worked our way from the cooler to warmer pools first, to acclimate our skin, but we could never do it. If you're a fan of the super-hot Japanese style baths, you'll LOVE this. They also have outdoor saunas by the hot tubs. The large pool has swim-up bar. Perfectly maintained, and beautiful in a natural setting. Very romantic, but also lots of kids were there with families.

CONCIERGE/TOURS: The hotel has 2 free computers at the front desk area. They also have a tour sheet with recommended tours. We found some of our own ideas, and we also got the help of the staff to plan some things. There is no dedicated concierge, but everyone at the front desk - day and night - can tell you about the tours in the area and help make calls for you. They're wonderful. We chose a full-day riverboat tour to Cano Negro, where we saw a two-toed sloth, howler monkeys, bats, and amazing birds. (There are more extensive hiking tours of Cano Negro where you see more, but we didn't have the time.) My sister arrived before me and love the Cloud Forest - she saw the mythic ketzal bird. On our own, we hired a taxi to take us 40 minutes to the Arenal Observatory Lodge - it's a hotel 1 km from the base of the Arenal Volcano, and they have hiking trails, waterfalls, and a restaurant too. The road is atrocious, and it's a $40/each way trip by taxi, but it was so worth it! The views from the observatory of the lake Arenal and volcano are the best, and the gardens and paths around the hotel are a great way to spend a day. The food was actually good - we enjoyed arroz con pollo. (But skip the flan.) We also found on Trip Advisor the "Proyecto Asis" wildlife rescue center. MUST VISIT. It's 30 minutes/$30 each way by taxi from the hotel, but it's wonderful... run by a father-son team, they shelter and rehab animals saved from the black market and poachers, or who people abandon. For $45, you can spend 4 hours helping to feed the animals, hose out cages, etc. The tour is amazing, and they are really passionate about educating people about the perils of exotic animal ownership. You can also volunteer for a week, and they also have combo vounteer/spanish language immersion programs. Please support this wonderful organization!

LOCATION/TRANSPORT: The hotel is located outside of the town of La Fortuna, a fixed-rate $7 taxi ride from the hotel to anywhere around the center, 5 minutes drive. (While the distance is do-able to walk, I would not suggest planning on it as the road is mostly along pastures, and at night there are no street lights, so not the safest walk.) La Fortuna is ~3 hours by taxi or shuttle from the Airport at San Jose. A shared shuttle is around $45 per person each way, and a private taxi is around $140-180 each way. Unable to get a shuttle, I took a private taxi. There are no highways to speak of, so you will be on windy roads nearly the whole way. If you're suseptible even slightly to motion or car sickness, suggest taking medicine when you arrive at the airport, at least 20 minutes before you get into the shuttle or taxi.

WARNING: you need to book WELL in advance to get a seat on a shuttle. There are only a few companies offering shuttles, and they seat only a dozen people, and they run only 2x per day - so even in the low season when we were there, they were booked up 3-5 days in advance.

Room Tip: All rooms face the volcano - it's built 'slim', so there are no rooms facing over the va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Royal Corin on our recent trip to Costa Rica and I was pleasantly surprised. The view of Arenal volcano from our balcony was beautiful. The staff were very helpful and attentive. The rooms and facility are spotless. We enjoyed the different thermal pools as well as the swim up bar. The hotel is on the smaller side so there were never any crowds. The only minor complaint was that all rooms were single king and we were traveling with 7 teenagers that would have preferred rooms with 2 beds. Overall, we were pleased.

Room Tip: All rooms face the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Corin Feb 10-12, 2012 and we throughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spotless, the view of the volcano from our balcony was outstanding, the pools were relaxing and the free breakfast was very good. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The dinner menu was on the pricey side but because we had a car, we ate dinner in nearby La Fortuna.

There does not seem to be anything within walking distance but you can book tours with the front desk. The town of La Fortuna is worth investigating and since it is close to the hotel, a taxis would not be expensive.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela_4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I must admit that when I first saw the Royal Corin I was very disappointed, too modern and too 'over the top'. But I very quickly 'warmed' to it. The room was very nice, with a (to me) high tec shower in the bathroom. Our balcony had a great view of the volcano and it did clear long enough for us just to see the top.
The pools are wonderful, it took a while to get used to the temperature but then you just didn't want to get out.
I suppose the real highlight was restaurant food and service. Breakfast was exceptionally good and a good choice for dinner. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. we did eat at Tabacon Springs but thought food better at Corin.
I still prefer less 'modern and plastic' hotels but the Corin was perfect for our two night stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.8 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
2.0 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
2.2 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
2.0 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
3.9 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing