We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$53
Orbitz.comUS$53
TravelocityUS$53
CheapTicketsUS$53
HurbUS$73
TripadvisorUS$53
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveller rating
572
102
20
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
572
102
20
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews back porch front porch costa rica chocolate tour family owned american breakfast visiting la fortuna a wonderful stay small fridge recommend staying here san jose grounds are beautiful hot springs roy waterfall birds property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 703 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2020

We stayed in the standard room (private lodge) and it had two queen beds with four comfy pillows each. The hosts were very accommodating. Even though the on-site restaurant was closed (covid times) we were served a tasty tico breakfast with coffee and fresh star fruit juice right to our front door. They recommended a restaurant that delivered to the hotel when we were too tired to go out. The waterfall is very close- just a five minute drive. There is a lovely river running through the property that makes for a perfect jungle oasis. You do not have to leave your back balcony or front terrace to see wildlife as the morning featured many variety of birds and especially hummingbirds to view in the colourful and well established garden. At night the bats were persistent. We did not see one mosquito!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank peanut123Weyburn_Sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

I would DEFINITELY come back to stay here! I loved this little cabin! It was absolute PERFECTION! Staff did not speak very good English but was VERY attentive and VERY nice! It is close to the reception area but far enough to be VERY private. There is a little tiki hut/bar on premises called I believe..ginger bar which was so cute. The front desk gave us 2 complimentary drinks for that bar area so we took a stroll across the lawn and got our drinks.. they were good! They had a jumbo size jenga game there (we didn’t play it because the area was too small for it and we didnt want the blocks to hit the other guests when they fell to the ground). The cabin was SPOTLESS! Everything looked new and we felt very safe day and night. The pathway to our cabin was EXTREMELY dark at night but we never felt unsafe. We used the flashlight on our cell phones to see the path to get back to our cabin. We had hot showers and the AC worked great! There was a small kitchenette area with a full sink and countertop. We had a small fridge for leftovers and drinks. The bathroom had full size shampoo and conditioner holders and they were full... not the usual mini size stuff hotels usually have. We had to ask for additional wash cloths because there was only one in our room when we arrived. I found that to be a problem at every hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica except at the Hilton in San Jose...no biggie though. We had a big back patio which had a forest like view and felt like we were in the jungle and it was so relaxing sitting out there at night listening to the sounds of the river, animals, crickets and just being one with nature. I’ve NEVER experienced ANYTHING like that before. It was wonderful! There is a walking trail behind this cabin that led into a rocky beautiful river... it was amazing! Breakfast was VERY good and PLENTIFUL! They bring you a BIG plate of fresh fruit... cut up banana, pineapple and it looked like mango...before you get your breakfast! Side note about breakfast: if you order the American breakfast and they mess up your order and they bring you what you asked for they will charge you an additional $7 for their mess up. We ordered pancakes, bacon and scrambled eggs. Waitress confirmed our order like 3 times...she spoke VERY little english but we managed. They brought us toast, bacon and scrambled eggs. We told the young lady that took our order that we ordered pancakes not toast and she asked us if we wanted pancakes and we said yes please and she said ok. Hubby and I waited and waited and other guests were receiving their food but the pancakes didn’t come. So we started to go ahead and eat our bacon and eggs they had brought to us earlier. So after about 20 minutes the pancakes arrived but by that time we were finished and full. I should’ve just sent the pancakes back but we didn’t. So when we checked out of the hotel the young lady charged us an additional $7 per person for the pancakes from that morning. She did not speak any English and I didn’t feel like arguing over $14 with someone who couldn’t understand what the heck I was saying anyway. My experience and time here was SUPERB other than that slight mishap with breakfast...next time I’ll just send the entire plate back until they get it right. Either way you will NOT be disappointed staying here! BOOK IT NOW! I can’t wait to go back!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 25QUEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

We spent 3 night here while visiting La Fortuna. First, the staff is amazing. Alejandra, Roy, Alonso and one other young woman whose name I did not get, were so helpful and kind. Lisette front housekeeping did a great job keeping our room tidy. Alejandra and the front desk staff were great when we had to rearrange some tours and always called taxis for us as my phone did not get a signal while there. Our room, #9, was kind of separate from the others...very private. It was lovely and very comfortable. One suggestion... lighting is very much needed on the path leading down to #9, so be sure to ask front desk for a flashlight before walking down at night. Also the bathroom, while very nice, needs hooks for towels, etc. There are none. Neither of these would deter me from staying again while in La Fortuna. The included breakfast is great and the one dinner we had there was excellent as well.

Room tip: Room 9 offers the most privacy, from what we saw.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

We quickly stopped in here on our way from the Chocolate Tour back to La Fortuna. We explored around the reception enough to see some of the accommodations (small secluded bungalows with little balconies on stilts half in the forest and half on a path), and a path that goes deep into the jungle toward a river. We stopped at the reception and had great service. The man explained that they had night tours in the jungle, and in-room massages. He pointed us in the direction of their very welcoming bar where we had yummy 2 for 1 drinks during happy hour (try their cacique sour).
Thanks for the friendly service!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Deannadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020

We just stayed for 3 nights on arrival in Costa Rica as a family, taking 3 cabins, and had a lovely stay here. The cabins are reasonably basic but lacked nothing we wanted and were always clean. We picked here as the price was very reasonable compared to the higher end resorts that had facilities we knew we wouldn’t use at this destination as we were here for the adventure activities.
The breakfast was an extra charge of $6 and included fruit, fruit juice, coffee, and a choice of hot meal (Costa rican, American or pancakes) - definitely worth it.
At the end of the day we chilled out in the bar and played jenga. We also tried the restaurant on site called Ginger and it was delicious (try the steak al gratin!), so we ate there 2 nights. Both nights it took over an hour from ordering to food arrival as it’s a small kitchen and they make everything fresh, so just plan ahead and settle with a drink in the bar while you wait. It’s worth the wait!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Allan1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews