We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
48
26
10
7
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
26
10
7
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small close to the airport helpful owner san jose fresh fruit a great place to stay arrived late an airport hotel would definitely stay here again henry persian parrots hamid convenience flight cr country
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

After 10 wonderful days in many different hotel across Costa Rica we were unfortunate enough to choose Casa Antigua for our last night. As nights can be quite warm for people coming from up north we always looked for hotel with AC and this hotel was advertising as such.

When we arrived we realised our room was not with AC as it should. We went back to the receptionist he started being in a bad mood and said you had to pay 10USD extra to "pay for the electricity you will use" and that it was specified in the booking policy (spoiler: it was not). Of course he refused to make a gesture or even to refund anything, hiding behind the booking agent (which was very helpful in trying to find a solution by the way kudos to them).

He started getting rude, saying we were cheap (that's the first time we've seen an hotel making you pay for AC in Costa Rica, up to you to decide who was being cheap in the first place) so we just did not feel like in holiday anymore and preferred not to let him ruin our last day and booked another hotel.

While we did not stay for the night, we could say there was absolutely no noise isolation from the street, which is very busy as its next to the airport. The room had many flying bugs and was very old fashioned. You can find way more modern, with AC, and way more lovely personnel just a few meters away, don't fall for this scam :).

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Versipelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H C, Manager at Hotel Casa Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

We are sorry that you did not have a good experience with us ,
you have to understand you can only get what you pay for ,
you wish to upgrade you room , you need to pay the difference .
you have booked your room ON SALE $56.00 non refundable for 2 person ,including parking and breakfast !
we can not offer you a Suites for that price
Hotel is near the airport ! yes is busy ,that way you choose us . AIRPORT !
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Thank you Henry. We love your beautiful little hotel. Courtyard is beautiful, relaxing, and fun to hang out in. Easy airport access. Easy booking. A great experience! Would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable, convenient airport hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveneu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We wanted a hotel in close proximity to the San Jose airport to catch an early morning flight, this one was on the list of hotels closest to SJO and we're SO happy we selected it. The host Hamid is SO AMAZING! He's so hospitable and personable, he makes you feel right at home. The rooms are small and quaint, but you can't expect much else for such a reasonable price. We had a very comfortable stay, the beds were comfortable and the rooms and washrooms are CLEAN- which is a must. The outdoor patio is PRISTINE, he makes all the tables and chairs himself! Each piece of furniture truly is a work of art. He even makes art out of tires. It was like a contemporary art museum out there!

He also has a gorgeous Persian cat named Pishoo, that cat definitely stole our hearts. The owner has a heart of gold, the dogs on the property are rescues, and they are so adorable and friendly. He has strict rules about where the dogs are allowed to be, so don't be intimidated by their presence if you're not a dog person- but who isn't a dog person?

I wish we had more than one night at this property, it'd have been amazing to spend more time there. Thank you for being such a great host, Hamid! Also, my husband was feeling very nauseated and Hamid made him a tea to settle his stomach. What a guy! Thanks a million.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shamiran Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Would not recommend staying here.
Loud road noise, felt like we were sleeping in the middle of the road. I’m a heavy sleeper, so this was very loud and a very busy road all night.
Windows had no seal and you could see the drapes moving even though the windows were closed.
Sink only had a faucet for cold water to wash your face. Shower was only slightly trace of warm water.
Suitcases had to be opened on the floor, no stand or table to put them on.
Hotel has about 11 rooms.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank TldHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

The hotel is very convenient to the airport, and a bit noisy but wackily charming. The room is basic, no A/C, but okay. BUT - we were double-charged. We booked through Expedia, and on the hotel's Expedia page it says you don't need to pay in advance - 'The hotel will charge you the full amount, including all taxes and fees in the local currency after booking,' but you still need to give your credit card info to Expedia to reserve the room. When we checked in, we paid the owner in cash. When we got home, we discovered we'd also been charged the full amount on our Visa as well. We've been working with Expedia to try to recover payment, but after four days of trying, the Expedia agents are saying that they haven't been able to contact the hotel owner at all. Feels like a scam. There are brand-name hotels near the airport, more expensive but possibly more reliable - I'd suggest going with them instead.

Room Tip: Get a receipt!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PainterDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews