We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to start your trip.”
Review of Pura Vida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pura Vida Hotel
Ranked #1 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place to start your trip.”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We visited Pura Vida in June 2011 and loved our stay there. The casitas are charming and tastefully appointed. We loved the patio, complete with fridge and coffee machine. The breakfasts were amazing. We took an early tour one day and loved having the "to go" breakfast. The location is perfect for day trips in the area. We had our eight year old with us and he didn't want to leave. He loved the dogs and exploring the beautiful gardens on the property. We felt very safe and secure. We loved the convenience of booking the rental car right from the hotel. We were embarking on a three week trip to both Nicaragua and Costa Rica and planned to leave the car near the border. Bernie and the rental car agency helped us to prepare and arrange for this experience (...and yes, Bernie, you described Penas Blancas well! It is the Wild Wild West). Our arrival was delayed by an almost 24 hour layover in Dallas (due to mechanical and human error) and we were pleased not to have to pay for the night we missed (though sad to have lost one night at this lovely place). We loved the airport taxi voucher. Our only challenge at Pura Vida was that the restaurant was closed. We requested a dinner one night when we knew that we would return late and were provided with a simple, but very tasty meal, but generally we didn't care for the local restaurants and none of them are within walking distance. We would have liked to have dined at the hotel. If that had been possible we would have given an excellent review. We loved this place and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DidiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    80
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
225
343
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Our room was very spacious with a big bathroom. We had a view of the Poas volcano. The grounds were lush and beautiful with flowers and trees. The owner (Berni) was very helpful with advice on restaurants and finding us a guide to tour for a day. We did not have a car so the only disadvantage was that we had to take a taxi to go out to eat for dinners. The breakfast was great with lots of fresh fruit and served in an open air dining room. It is a very good location with close proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Pura Vida is the perfect place to begin and end your travels in Costa Rica. It would also be the perfect home base as you travel around. Berni is a wealth of information and always available to answer questions. We rented our car through Berni which turned out to be not only easy but stress free. Toyota brought the car to Berni's our first breakfast and we signed the papers and everything while we enjoyed one of the best breakfasts of our trip.

Pura Vida is beautiful! The grounds are a wonderful place to escape -- you would never know all of this lies inside the gate. We stayed in two locations -- one the night we arrived and then in Katydid the night we left Costa Rica. Both places were extremely clean and beautifully decorated.

The next time we travel to Costa Rica, we will definitely stay at Pura Vida. We will probably spend more time there and work with Berni in advance to plan our trip. He is a wealth of information. Pura Vida is a must, especially if this is your first time to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The hotel lived up to its billing on previous Trip Advisor reviews. Accommodation was modern and clean. Breakfasts were excellent. Berni and staff were very helpful in connecting us with taxis, guides and tour operators.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advoctae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The Pura Vida Hotel is a quiet little place just 10 minutes from San Jose International in Costa Rica (SJO). From the moment we arrived, the owner made us comfortable in this beautiful little place. Orchids abound and there are over 8 different varieties of banana and plantain plants around (amongst other plants). Each casita is nicely done and very comfortable. It was a wonderful first and last night in Costa Rica. If you arrive internationally take a RED taxi and the hotel will pay for your ride. They can even arrange to have a bite to eat for you if you let them know ahead of time.

Breakfast is Costa Rica coffee, fresh fruit (a large amount), yogurt with granola, and homemade bread/muffin. They will also prepare a full breakfast for a nominal fee.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
3.3 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
863 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
668 reviews
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
684 reviews
3.7 km away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
20.5 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel

Property: Pura Vida Hotel
Address: Tuetal Sur | 4km North of SJO International Airport, Alajuela 20102, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pura Vida Hotel is located 4km north of the SJO International airport - we provide a free taxi pickup for international arrivals. Breakfast is included and an excellent dinner is available with reservations (or late meals for late arrivals). Touring services include car rentals delivered here, private vans and as much touring advice as you wish - we are experts on Costa Rica. We have arrangements with Toyota Car Rental for deals on car rentals. Our idea is simply that this is a place we would like to stay at when we travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pura Vida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Alajuela
Hotel Pura Vida
Pura Vida Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing