We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel itself is great- location is not good and frankly unsafe”
Review of Hotel Eskalima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Eskalima
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Reviewed 26 April 2017

When we arrived we had to get into the hotel to have them open the off street parking door---so we had to park around the corner (1 way streets everywhere here) and we had to walk 1 blocks to hotel- during the walk we had many people approach us with drugs IN hand to sell and asked to 'watch yo car'....we rushed to get garage open by hotel desk clerk and parked and then were locked inside the hotel...! The staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms were quiet- because we were the only ones on our floor. The doors are paper thin as are the walls though. It is a hotel of 'interior rooms' where the windows face an interior hallway- which given the area, we were fine with. There is a pizza hut 2 doors down which is convenient. There is air conditioning in some rooms (make sure you ask for one); the bathroom is decent but has a bit of a musty smell. The mini fridge wasn't turned on to be used- nice flat screen tvs and wifi. Again--- the redeeming quality here is the service. They helped us to print off our return flight tickets, and made us breakfast to go at 3:30 am when we had to leave for our international flight. Very nice staff. We chose this place as it was close to the airport and we had an early flight.

Room Tip: Get one with air conditioning and off 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017

Nice spacious room with huge bathroom. All rooms are inside. Secure parking besides. Excellent buffet breakfast. Staff very pleasant and helpful especially the young man who had just started 2 weeks before. The hotel is right in the very busy town of Alajuela but the rooms are far away from the street so very quiet.

Room Tip: computers available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank benand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel was amazing. The breakfast was free with the room and was excellent. The rooms were clean and comfy. The beds were fabulous. The staff were so helpful and friendly. We just loved our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Room is clean and neat. Secure offstreet parking included. Close to the airport and Bus terminals.
Good breakfast included. Located outside of San Jose to alleviate traffic when leaving town.
Very helpful staff, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from noisey street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Several of the rooms have no natural day light, they all run off a corridor which have windows opening on to them. The lay out is like a prison rather than a hotel. Literally, just like a prison.

There are some rooms which have day light, they are better but then you can enjoy the sound of the noisy road. Bring ear plugs if you want to sleep - yes it's really loud.

The bathroom stinks of sewers.

The area nearby is questionable. I wouldn't choose to go out after dark that's for sure. The hotel has security out front.

This place is ok if you want somewhere cheap to crash if arriving late and you just want to sleep. For anything else we recommend staying elsewhere, the place is really not nice at all. Having the choice again we will pay extra and stay at the airport itself.

The staff here have however been helpful so no complaints on that front. The issue is the lay out and design of the hotel which just doesn't work at all.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marysas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
3.5 km away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
19.8 km away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
314 reviews
17.8 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
15.6 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
134 reviews
16.3 km away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#14 of 27 in Alajuela
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eskalima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eskalima

Address: Mts de Pizza Hut 50 | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: €41 - €73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eskalima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eskalima is a family hotel finely decorated and created for each of our guests feel the warmth as in their own home.We have 17 rooms, with private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, air conditioning and telephone.We are strategically located in the city of Alajuela, just 5 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport and close to shopping and bus stops.From our hotel you can easily move to all tourist attractions in the area as the Poas Volcano, a bird zoo, Crafts etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Eskalima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eskalima Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing