We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
130
143
72
26
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
143
72
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gated parking lot room was clean sitting area continental breakfast great customer service one night stay would stay again roll tide road trip walmart property cereal microwave interstate alabama convenience campus
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

I was driving towards Houston from Ohio and pulled in to spend the night. The lot has construction going on next door but that wasn't any issue. The hotel does have a gas station next to it which was convenient. The next morning I checked out and Cathy and Gene were very helpful plus friendmy. The inside was very clean and the bed was comfortable.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAMELA C, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa - Univ. Of Alabama, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for the tremendous words of encouragement and please know that we will continue to work very hard to make your stay the best possible experience. We appreciate you being a part of our Days Inn Tuscaloosa family and we look forward to your next visit. Again, thank you for your feedback. Have a wonderful day!


Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while traveling - the entire place can use updating.

The curtains were old and actually looked dirty, the toilet had a slow leak around the base, and the room in general just looked tired. The lighting was poor...there is a small seating area, but the lighting isn't adequate to sit and read

Note : this hotel does not have interior corridors. Parking is not on one side of the building - ask for a room on the opposite side to avoid headlights shining right into your room

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MBC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAMELA C, Front Office Manager at Days Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa - Univ. Of Alabama, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. Our goal is to have each and every guest satisfied. I apologize if we did not meet or exceed your expectations and I promise you that this feedback has been used to make the necessary adjustments. We thank you for choosing our Days Inn and I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve as your lodging hosts while visiting Tuscaloosa, AL. Again, thank you...

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Our room looked like the picture, but it was definitely edited. The beds were hard as were all of the minimally supplied linens. Thankful that we had already showered. The bathroom was half cleaned. The room smelled. The toilet paper rolls were half used. No smoking room but there were burn holes in the linen and marks on the toilet. In need of remodel...lots of patches. Much smaller than anticipated. Not sure how it received the rating that I saw. It was not worth the price. Also disappointed that there were at least 3 to 4 times the amount of hotels in this area than what trip advisor advertised. We could have stayed cheaper in a much nicer facility. I also prefer rooms that do not have access to the outside of the building. This site didn't mention that. We stayed on the 2nd floor when there were multiple options on the ground floor. Cereal does not constitute a breakfast in my opinion.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank 156nancd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAMELA C, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa - Univ. Of Alabama, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Thank you for sharing this important feedback with us. I apologize, if we did not meet your lodging expectations during your most recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing a quality stay for each and every guest, and in this case, it appears that we did not meet that standard. Our records do not indicate that you contacted the front desk, so I would ask that whether you are staying with us or another hotel, that you would contact the front desk, so that we have an opportunity to turn any negetive into a positive. Again, thank you for sharing this information and hopefully you will give us another opportunity to win back your business.

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PAMELA C, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa - Univ. Of Alabama, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 December 2017

This was not what I expected the room was hardly a suite, the coffee maker had not been cleaned and there was mold inside. The next day when we returned to our room the coffee maker wasn't cleaned again also no coffee was left for us, we had to ask housekeeping for some. When I tried to use the business center the printer was not working. Our overall experience left us disappointed.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank oscarcM396TF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAMELA C, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa - Univ. Of Alabama, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Thank you for sharing this important feedback with us. I apologize, if we did not meet your lodging expectations during your most recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing a quality stay for each and every guest, and in this case, it appears that we did not meet that standard. Our records do not indicate that you contacted the front desk, so I would ask that whether you are staying with us or another hotel, that you would contact the front desk, so that we have an opportunity to turn any negetive into a positive. Again, thank you for sharing this information and hopefully you will give us another opportunity to win back your business.

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews