We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place ”

Palatino Roman Cuisine
Ranked #37 of 17,139 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Former French Concession
Description: Palatino Roman Cuisine offers you the culinary expertise of Franco Varesano, Rome 1964, with a great set of pizza and pasta, excellent meats and fish, premium cold cuts and an excellent and affordable wine selection. English/Italian/Chinese speaking staff supports a gentle and great value for money experience in Shanghai's downtown.
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

An Italian island in the middle of Shanghai. Had a good spaghetti carbonara and an excellent tiramisu. And service was perfect. A place to go back to.

Thank Luc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iban A, Manager at Palatino Roman Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear Luc B,
Thanks for your feedback and review. Wish we have the chance to see you here once again soon, in your trusted Italian restaurant in Shanghai.
All the best,
Palatino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2016

Amazing Italian restaurant, for when you need a break from Chinese food. Had dinner as it was close to my hotel and decided to go back on my next trip. Real italian food and good value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iban A, Manager at Palatino Roman Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear Anna R,
Thanks for your review and visit, you can count on us anytime in Palatino, your trusted Italian restaurant in Shanghai.
With best wishes,
Palatino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Every time I've been to Palatino, I've enjoyed my meal. They've got fresh ingredients, and deliver tasty versions of Italian classics consistently and with good service. It's spread out over three floors, so it's not crammed or overly noisy—perfect for a meal with friends, a date, a celebration.

It's not the trendiest decor nor are they cooking up avant-garde cuisine, but they know what they're offering and they do it well. The menu has an excellent range of dishes, from pizzas and pastas to meats and fish. The wine list is basic though sensible.

Everything is reasonably priced, even a bit of a value compared to what some other western / Italian places in Shanghai charge, and especially for the neighbourhood. I look forward to every visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank weshallbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iban A, Manager at Palatino Roman Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Dear weshallbe,
Thanks for your helpful and detailed review. You got the essence of our business and we definitely love it.
Feel welcome anytime in here, your trusted Italian restaurant in Shanghai.
With best regards,
Palatino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Service was bad since it took forever to bring us our 2 pizzas, plus when we arrived and asked to sit outside in a table of 4 they said you are only 2 so better to give it to a group of more people, but then 2 chinese came and they gave it to them (since they would spend more). Food was nothing special but expensive. Can find much better pizza in Shanghai way cheaper.

Thank Theodoros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iban A, Manager at Palatino Roman Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear Theodoros K,
Thanks for your visit and review.
In Palatino Roman Cuisine we like to provide a fair and honest explanation to our trip advisor users giving you detailed feedback when visiting us. However, it's been a while since the day of September 2015 that you were here and, unfortunately, we do not remember what happened. We apologize for this inconvenient.
We could fail on that day when providing you the experience that you deserved. You did not like the food, the prices were expensive, totally respectable and we apologize if we did something wrong on that day.
Minding also your last visit we would to illustrate our readers saying that we allocate our guests according to their preferences and availability of the seats, caring about bookings and offering the best options for everyone minding the circumstances of each day. Hence, this your sentence: " but then 2 Chinese came and they gave it to them (since they would spend more).", is first a very subjective opinion and second, and most important, is not true. We do not follow any kind of discrimination like the one you mentioned.
With best wishes,
Palatino Roman Cuisine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

Yes the owner is Italian but the food is not like what we are used from Italy

Rather expensive for the quality

But friendly service and a good choice of artisanal Italian beers

1  Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iban A, Manager at Palatino Roman Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Dear W S,
Thanks for your last visit and feedback.
May be we were missing some guidance during your visit. Would personally like to see you back and guide you through our menu, believe your opinion would change after ;)
Please allow me to get deeper into " is not like what we are used from Italy"...Italy is a very rich and complex country minding food and culinary habits. From North to South, East, West, yeah, you may find lots of cooking ways, ingredients, flavors. Besides, what you usually get outside of Italy is not that Italian but an adaptation of the original way into something more local, which is o.k for us but not our philosophy.
Our Chef is from Rome with more than 30 years experience on working the " Lazio's cuisine". Hence we follow the Roman way, you can noticed this specially when visiting our pasta section with " Amatriciana", " Carbonara", " Cacio e Pepe", done on purpose and following its original recipes, focusing on quality with generous portions. Thin and crusty pizzas, grill mains...and we do it the same as if in Rome would be, there is no other adaptation because that's exactly what we know and want to do.
Glad to hear you enjoyed our beer collection, takes also lots of efforts to bring good beers.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Palatino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palatino Roman Cuisine also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Palatino Roman Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing