We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pizza and pasta (and more...)”

Palatino Roman Cuisine
Ranked #37 of 17,139 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Former French Concession
Description: Palatino Roman Cuisine offers you the culinary expertise of Franco Varesano, Rome 1964, with a great set of pizza and pasta, excellent meats and fish, premium cold cuts and an excellent and affordable wine selection. English/Italian/Chinese speaking staff supports a gentle and great value for money experience in Shanghai's downtown.
Reviewed 31 December 2015

I need to come here at least once per week. Incredible pizza and amazing pasta, served by wonderful people in a great atmosphere. This place has been one of my absolute favourite restaurant in Shanghai now for a long time and i definitely will keep coming

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fredrik-Lundqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iban A, Manager at Palatino Roman Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Fredrik-on-the-go,
Palatino's family wants to thank your loyalty and kind words. Feels great to count on people like you, definitely you are part of us.
Feel welcome any time in here, your trusted Italian restaurant in Shanghai.
With best regards,
Palatino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

A couple of weeks ago we had been at Palatino for the first time. It is a small, but well accommodated and warmly decorated place which let you fell a bit Italia abroad.
The food was very good and above average compared to other Italian restaurants in Shanghai.
We had the cold cuts as a starter and Pizza for the main dish. Both were really tasty!
The only drawback were the wine glasses. Red wine should be served in big red wine glasses instead of those standard ones they also use for white wine as well as the amount served should fit the price per glass.
However we always love to come back since overall it is always a pleasant and tasty experience!

Thank SchlemmerRobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iban A, Manager at Palatino Roman Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Dear RobertTheChef,
Thanks for sharing your experience at Palatino. We are delighted to read you enjoyed our atmosphere and food, indeed, we try hard to bring a pleasant and genuine Italian experience.
Same about the wines, which also deserve lots of efforts, being food pairing and a careful wine selection a must in here. Don't know which wine you had that time, however, our house wines and some other wines from the menu are poured in standard glasses as they are younger and usually not as complex, rich, structured and bodied as some menu partners. When pouring these into big glasses will fall short in terms of perception or aromas. In the other hand, older, richer and more structured wines are served in big wine glasses as they take more time to open, breath and get into that level of complexity that makes them unique. This is our approach so far and we change glasses when customers drink more complex wines.
Finishing Mr.Robert, we would love to see you back in here. You'll get you big wine glass to enjoy your wine and I would personally love to share some with you, we can exchange some opinions and enjoy. The house offers!
Big thank and wish you all the best.
Palatino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

nice restaurant very tasty, service very quicly, we eat spaghetti vongole e pizza 4 stagioni was all grate i will came back sure

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wang h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iban A, Manager at Palatino Roman Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2015

Dear wang h,
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Wish we have the chance to see you once again soon in Palatino, your trusted Italian restaurant in Shanghai.
With best regards,
Palatino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

One of the best Italian restaurants in Shanghai with great wines!

Became pretty regulars her as the location is very convenient and the food is always perfect. In Shanghai you often have big differences when it comes to quality and when you eat there. But this one never fails, always very happy to come here!

Thank Geert31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iban A, Manager at Palatino Roman Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Dear Geert31,
Palatino's family is glad to check you guys enjoy our restaurant the same way we enjoyed your friendship. Feels great to chat and guide you through our menu and wine list, you guys definitely make this our humble work a pleasant experience.
Welcome anytime in here, your home.
With best regards,
Palatino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

This restaurant is in several small floors and not very large. Service was good especially by the italian staff. The chinese waitress did not know anything about wines, which was not unexpected but still not nice. We shared few starters and had pizza's and grilled tuna as main course. Food was good and well prepared in our opinion. Prices were on high side for this type of restaurant. But we will visit again because of good food and atmosphere.

2  Thank Aki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iban A, Manager at Palatino Roman Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

Dear Aki N,
Palatino´s family wants to thank your visit and great review.
We´ve got a WSET level 3 (wine and spirits education trust) awarded fellow in the restaurant. He´s name is Iban and he is responsible of the wine selection and guidance. Once a week, usually on Sundays, he is OFF. I tell you this because according to the date of your review probably you visited us on Sunday. Sorry for that, he would love to introduce and recommend you the wines during your next visit. Even more, you can even contact him through palatinosh@yahoo.com and share your concerns, questions, etc., in order to make your experience as pleasant as possible.
Marco, Jack, our saloon crew, would be happy to give you some support as well when needed.
Wish we have the time to see you once again in Palatino.
Cheers!
Palatino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palatino Roman Cuisine also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Palatino Roman Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing