We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,414)
Filter reviews
1,414 results
Traveller rating
652
600
115
36
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
600
115
36
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyuyuan gardenfree mini barwalking distancemetro stationrenmin roadminute walkcoffee machinecity viewlocation is greatbreakfast buffetbottled watersitting areafree upgradeenglish speaking staffpeople's squarenice bathroomreception area
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,414 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Was checked in early, no questions asked, when we arrived sopping wet from the raging rain outside.

The room was excellent for its price and very comfortable. Amenities good, bed comfy, appreciated the delicious complimentary snacks too.

We're just here for a day but I could see this as being great for a longer stay!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gladys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagoda Junting ... p, Guest Relations Officer at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Gladys C,

Warm greetings from the entire team of SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund. We thank you very much for taking the time and effort to share your experiences regarding your most recent stay with us. We are very glad to learn you have enjoyed various aspects of your stay, such as our rooms, affordable prices, amenities and all complimentary treats. It is sad your stay didn't last very long which is why we can not wait to have you back so you can explore more of our hotel and the city. We wish you safe upcoming travels and we very much look forward welcoming you here again soon.

Best regards,

Seanna Pereira
Guest Relations Officer
zhongxing@ssawhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

We spent three nights in this fabulous Indonesian styled hotel. It is close to most attractions in Shanghai and is a short walk to Yu Garden subway. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room was very large and luxurious, especially the bathroom which included a separate shower and bath tub. Toiletries were in large refillable containers, good for the environment. Towels were large and fluffy. Bath salts were also available.
The bedroom had a very comfortable king size bed and there was a lounge by the window and a table and two chairs also in the room. There was also a cupboard with dressing gowns, hanging space, safe, ironing board and iron.
Besides a kettle and a variety of teas, there was a coffee pod machine and the fridge had soft drinks and an okra snack pack which were free. These were replenished daily if necessary.
A good breakfast was included in our rates and included western and Chinese foods.
We loved staying here and wouldn’t hesitate to stay again. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NettyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagoda Junting ... p, Guest Relations Officer at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear NettyA,

Warm greetings from the entire team here at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us and the travel community. It is our goal to ensure all our valued guests are having an enjoyable time while staying with us which is why we are absolutely delighted to learn you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and especially liked our great and comfortable rooms as well as our friendly and skilled staff. It was our pleasure having you here as we now very much look forward welcoming you again on one of your next trips to Shanghai.

Best regards,

Seanna Pereira
Guest Relations Officer
zhongxing@ssawhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Had a nice say in this hotel.
This hotel has an almost perfect location as it is close to a subway station (Yuyuan Garden, Line 10) and to some tourist attractions (The Bund, Yuyuan Garden, City God Temple, ...). There are also a few bars near the hotel.
Staff was very friendly upon arrival and spoke English very well.
The room was very clean and spacious, with a nice view of the city. Furthermore, this hotel has the softest bathrobes ever!
Also, the airconditioning works very well, which is great because Shanghai gets really hot during summer months.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Shanghai.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JolienM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagoda Junting ... p, Guest Relations Officer at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Jolien M,

Warm greetings from SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund and thank you for sharing your most recent stay with us.

We value your positive comments regarding our central location, staff, cleanliness, rooms and all the small treats that come with that. All our staff feel very happy to have made your stay a unforgetable one and cherish your all compliments.

We once again would like to thank you for your Tripadvisor contribution and would love to have you back again, the next time you get the chance to visit Shanghai.

Best regards,

Seanna Pereira
Guest Relations Officer
zhongxing@ssawhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel, friendly reception staff, very good breakfast (!), clean rooms, free facilities, lots of information and advice, free minibar which is refilled every day, central position in town, 5 minutes walking distance to metro, 15 minutes to people ‚s square and bund

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank fingonwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagoda Junting ... p, Guest Relations Officer at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear fingonwow,

Warm greetings from SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund today and thank you for sharing your positive experience regarding your stay with us.

We are very delighted to have made your stay as comfortable as possible and feel very gratefull for your comments regarding our skillful staff, rooms, extensive breakfast buffet and all our small complimetary treats that come with that.

We thank you once again for choosing SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund and very much look forward to have you back some time soon.

Best regards,

Seanna Pereira
Guest Relations Officer
zhongxing@ssawhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel have very distinct Buddhist interior, which I found exciting. Room is clean and room facilities are well maintained, for which they get my thumbs up.

I enjoyed the free snack bar (e.g free water, coke and a lemon drink) and the free evening snack (think small buffet with congee, eggs, pastries on offer) - it was a nice touch. Another surprise is the free library next to reception lobby - if you are bored or a keen reader that’s is pretty cool.

Wi-fi speeds are decent, however as this is not a foreign hotel chain, you’d have to use VPN to access Google & Facebook, shall you desire to. That’s pretty standard for China.

A small warning - At the moment the facade is being renovated so it might be a bit hard to find it the first time coming around. I’m assuming that would be finished soon.

What I did not like about this hotel is the lack of good soundproofing - I can hear every time the elevator arrives on the floor or if there people in the hallway. I think this was less of an issue at the beginning of my stay as I might have been the only person on my floor but towards the end it became a bit noisy. Also the restaurant balcony area is being renovated so expect loads of construction work happening. I think also they should offer complimentary coffee there - it could be nice and relaxing and no need to push their hole afternoon tea offer (especially since it did not look in any way, shape or form appealing). SPA prices looked on the ridiculous side so I decided not to go for a massage.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
Thank valerybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagoda Junting ... p, Guest Relations Officer at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Valerybg,

Warm greetings from the entire team here at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us and the travel community.

It is our goal to ensure all our valued guests are having an enjoyable time while staying with us and are glad you liked our complimentary small treats, late-night snack and mini library.

We however do apologize for any inconvenience caused regarding the construction we are going through and the noise caused by that.
In addition to that I will share your comments regarding our afternoon tea to the relevant departure head to see if we can improve on our services here.

Construction will be finished by the end of this month as we do look forward to your second visit so you can see on our improvements by yourself very soon.

Best regards,

Seanna Pereira
Guest Relations Officer
zhongxing@ssawhotels.con

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews