We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
4
11
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
11
6
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016

The corridors are dirty havnet been maintained in ages looks like years, but the rooms are fantastic clean and has the necessities worth the price. Stayed here twice both rooms showers hot water non existant, first occasion visited rooms had no cookery items or dinner plates, second visit room had it all, so problems with housekeeping and consistency. Get the City View room

Room Tip: City View Room. All rooms have a Balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Last visit to Shanghai, we did not have confirmed reservations at the Eton. This hotel is a very short walk from there and was convenient to stay with the rest of my party.

In a word, the place is a little dumpy and not very well maintained. The room was fine from a amenity stand point, but was more like staying in a college dorm rather than a hotel.

If you are choosing the breakfast.. You may disappointed.

For the price and location, I would recommend if you are on a tighter budget, but for a little more, you can walk to the ETON..

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank BKDET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Don't be deceived by the nice pictures you can find on internet about that place: those pictures bring about higher expectations than reality. Infact I was disappointed. The price is quite high for those kind of apartment and is possible to find a better accomodation at better price. Low value for money

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mingjie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

We stayed here for approx $50 Australian per night. It was fantastic value. The room was a very good size and had everything we could ask for. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Great location with the subway station in short walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chocomaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I recently stayed for two months at the Acme Riverside on an extended business trip. I chose it simply because it was close to the (excellent) Novotel Atlantis hotel, where I had been staying for a couple of weeks beforehand, and the location was convenient for my daily commute. However, I ended up regretting my decision. Overall I was not happy about my choice.
It is not an establishment geared towards foreigners. Only a couple of staff members speak some English, and others none at all, making communications and problem resolution a bit of a challenge sometimes. In the rooms, the washing machine and the remote controls of all electronic devices are only in Chinese, so I had to seek help to learn how to operate them. On the TV sets, there are only two non-Chinese channels (CNN and HBO), and the reception quality is very bad. The wifi however works quite well, better than the (low) Chinese average.
The area in which it is located is also not very interesting, there are very few shops or restaurants nearby (There are, however, a string of pubs/brothels on the opposite side of Changyi rd., so I would say it's definitely not an area suitable for families)
The place suffers from an evident lack of maintenance. As other commenters have said, it probably looked great when it first opened, but has since been neglected and now looks run-down. The elevators are dirty and slow, and the hallways uninviting. In the room, much of the furniture looked well past its prime, in particular one chair with torn upholstery. In the bathroom, the shower was a bit of a problem, as it had multiple leaks which I had to contain laying towels on the floor, and the drain did not function properly. The apartment was infested with small, pillbug-like insects, which showed up mostly in the bedroom and the bathroom. There were many windows, so the apartment was well-lit, but the glass was thin, meaning that it was permeated by noise from traffic and sometimes loud music being played in the bars across the street, and the apartment quickly got cold or hot depending on the weather outside. The AC unit in the bedroom worked well to deal with this; the one in the living room, not so much. Also, only a few of these windows could actually be opened, and those that could, didn't close properly, due to the wear and tear of their mechanisms.
The apartment was serviced twice a week. The towels were changed, the bed was made (and the linen changed once a week), the floor swept and the dishes done, but the furniture was never dusted and the windows never cleaned, and they looked quite filthy.
The bed had the standard Chinese hard mattress, which takes a while for westerners to get used to. The pillows however were fluffy and comfortable.
Only the bare minimum number of dishes, glasses, cutlery and cooking instruments were provided, meaning you had to wash them frequently. There was one pot and one pan, and they were not of good quality.
Given that the price of the rent of the apartment paid by my company was quite high (more than my monthly salary in Spain, for example, and just a fraction less of what it would have cost for me to stay at the Novotel Atlantis hotel for the same period), I don't think that it was a good deal and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank el_monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews