We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$258
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$180
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$177
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$71
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
US$79
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$516
US$377
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveller rating
390
255
101
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
255
101
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst regisbutler servicethe executive loungecentury avenuespg platinumpvg airportbeautiful propertytop flooracross the riverclose to metro stationbusiness areaexcellent hotelfamily martwater pressurebusiness staythe financial districtbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 777 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Stayed in the St Regis for 3 nights based on the reviews on tripadvisor and also as I had some Starwood points to redeem. Having previously stayed at The Shangrila and Eton Hotels in Shanghai, was looking forward to staying in the St Regis as i had read so many good tghings about it.

What was Good

Quality of hotel is very good. This includes public spaces such as lobby, pool area, gym and the bedroom. All are of a high standard and no complaints.

Room (not exec room) was spacious enough and bathrooms were very well fitted out with marble floors, large bath and rain shower. Bed was very comfortable and tv had a reasonable number of engllish language channels considering its China.

Not so Good

Seems as though they started to charge for wireless internet access even though the inroom guide says its still free and nothing on the opening web page suggests that you will be charged for it. On checking out I noticed that they had charged me 100RMB a night and when I complained the manager stated that they had just started to introduce charges ! At the very least guys, please inform guests upfront about the change in policy !

For a business hotel, hotel seemed to be dead at night. Maybe due to mid autumn holiday but the place just lacked any atmosphere. Totally different from the Shangri la which is always buzzing.

If you fancy a late night drink in the bar, seems as though they shut at midnight which for a 5 star hotel in Shanghai is ridiculous.

I found the service in the executive room strangely cold. Going for cocktails with a friend at 6.30 got totally ignored by the lady there and had to walk up and ask her for a drink. Also dont expect there to be much food left if you arrive late for 5.30- 7pm drinks after 6.30pm !

Location isnt great for tourists although it is only a 5 min walk from the underground. You are right in the middle of Pudong which isnt the most exciting place in the world !

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank blademan940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Everything works exactly the way it should at the St. Regis Shanghai. And, considering the service economy gap that currently exists throughout China, that's no mean feat. This hotel is a respite and an oasis from the other "pretenders" which are desperate for Western business but really can't provide the comfort, cleanliness and language facility required. Service and amenities match, if not exceed, the other Starwood luxury properties. And the pictures don't lie. The hotel actually looks the way it appears on the Internet glamour shots.

True, the hotel is in Pudong and the trek to Puxi can be hellish in Shanghai traffic but taxis are dirt cheap -- no more than 35 yuan (5.11 USD) even in the heaviest congestion -- so your major expenditure is time (approx 40 minutes in rush hour traffic), not money. On the brightside, given the Pudong location, the airport is only 50 minutes from the hotel (fare approx 140 RMB; 20.44 USD). That's a bonus when you have an early morning flight, as I did. And some of the touristy things you'll want to do -- the Oriental Pearl TV tower and Shanghai history museum; the Jinmao tower and the restaurants and bars of the Grand Hyatt (e.g., Cloud 9); Shanghai Uncle; the Riverside Promenade along the backside of the Oriental Riverside Hotel property; the Oriental Art Center; etc. are in Pudong anyway.

The St. Regis Shanghai butler service is quite swank. So, if you're more of a do-it-yourself person, it'll take some getting used to. But you'll acclimate quickly! I highly recommend butler Melannie Zhang. She was a sweet, bright, quick and accommodating young lady. Not hard or jaded at all. I'm not sure if you can ask for butlers by name, but, if possible, I'd request her assistance if I were you.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank shanghaisurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

I stayed at St. Regis Shanghai from 14/07/08 to 18/07/08. There is only one word to describe the place - SUPERB.
Distance between the hotel and Pudong Int'l Airport is about 45km (1 hr drive).
Checking in was a breeze. Service is top notch with each staff greeting me whenever I am in the hotel.
The room is big and clean. The bathroom has mirrors on all walls and there is a choice of using the shower cubicle or the huge bath tub. Bathroom amenities are complete - shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, talcum powder, cotton buds, etc. Internet is free and hence business travellers will find it very convenient.
The hotel is located with restaurants on the opposite street. Just behind the hotel is a 24hr convenience shop and a coffee club. If you choose to walk a little further (10 minutes), try Lao Shan Road where there are many other Chinese seafood restaurants and fruit stalls.
Overall experience - very satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nickel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

The employees of this hotel bend over backwards for their guests. Every detail is addressed. The hotel is in the business district of Shanghai but very easy to get around. Our only complaint is that beds are hard as rocks.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Although this is a very nice hotel, I think that it has been overrated slightly. It is definitely a "4", but hotels in Beijing were much nicer.
Our breakfast was served to our tour as a group and was very nice, but not outstanding. Beds were comfortable and the room was very clean and had nice amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews