We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
392
260
106
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
260
106
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst regisbutler servicecentury avenuespg platinumpvg airportbeautiful propertytop floorclose to metro stationacross the riverexecutive loungebusiness areaexcellent hotelwater pressurethe financial districtbuffet breakfasthotel is locatedrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Everything works exactly the way it should at the St. Regis Shanghai. And, considering the service economy gap that currently exists throughout China, that's no mean feat. This hotel is a respite and an oasis from the other "pretenders" which are desperate for Western business but really can't provide the comfort, cleanliness and language facility required. Service and amenities match, if not exceed, the other Starwood luxury properties. And the pictures don't lie. The hotel actually looks the way it appears on the Internet glamour shots.

True, the hotel is in Pudong and the trek to Puxi can be hellish in Shanghai traffic but taxis are dirt cheap -- no more than 35 yuan (5.11 USD) even in the heaviest congestion -- so your major expenditure is time (approx 40 minutes in rush hour traffic), not money. On the brightside, given the Pudong location, the airport is only 50 minutes from the hotel (fare approx 140 RMB; 20.44 USD). That's a bonus when you have an early morning flight, as I did. And some of the touristy things you'll want to do -- the Oriental Pearl TV tower and Shanghai history museum; the Jinmao tower and the restaurants and bars of the Grand Hyatt (e.g., Cloud 9); Shanghai Uncle; the Riverside Promenade along the backside of the Oriental Riverside Hotel property; the Oriental Art Center; etc. are in Pudong anyway.

The St. Regis Shanghai butler service is quite swank. So, if you're more of a do-it-yourself person, it'll take some getting used to. But you'll acclimate quickly! I highly recommend butler Melannie Zhang. She was a sweet, bright, quick and accommodating young lady. Not hard or jaded at all. I'm not sure if you can ask for butlers by name, but, if possible, I'd request her assistance if I were you.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank shanghaisurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

I stayed at St. Regis Shanghai from 14/07/08 to 18/07/08. There is only one word to describe the place - SUPERB.
Distance between the hotel and Pudong Int'l Airport is about 45km (1 hr drive).
Checking in was a breeze. Service is top notch with each staff greeting me whenever I am in the hotel.
The room is big and clean. The bathroom has mirrors on all walls and there is a choice of using the shower cubicle or the huge bath tub. Bathroom amenities are complete - shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, talcum powder, cotton buds, etc. Internet is free and hence business travellers will find it very convenient.
The hotel is located with restaurants on the opposite street. Just behind the hotel is a 24hr convenience shop and a coffee club. If you choose to walk a little further (10 minutes), try Lao Shan Road where there are many other Chinese seafood restaurants and fruit stalls.
Overall experience - very satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nickel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

The employees of this hotel bend over backwards for their guests. Every detail is addressed. The hotel is in the business district of Shanghai but very easy to get around. Our only complaint is that beds are hard as rocks.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Although this is a very nice hotel, I think that it has been overrated slightly. It is definitely a "4", but hotels in Beijing were much nicer.
Our breakfast was served to our tour as a group and was very nice, but not outstanding. Beds were comfortable and the room was very clean and had nice amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

The hotel car service from the airport was excellent, on arrival at the hotel we were shown straight to our room. The room was spacious and the bathroom luxurious. We found all the staff to be very attentive and friendly. We stayed for one night on our way to Beijing and wish we had stayed for longer. Our favourite hotel during our two week trip to China.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jabiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews