We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zhangjiang Mercure Hotel
Ranked #2,414 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I stayed at this hotel for a few times because I went to visit some Institutes of Chinese Academy of Sciences and the hotel is the nearest one. The hotel locates in the area of technical park with very few commercial facilities so that it is very hard to find food and drinks from the area and neither from hotel.

The whole hotel is filled with cooking smoke odors all day! And the room is not real smoke free. This makes me not comfortable.

The room is equipped with free wifi. But the network is not stable.
I will not recommend the hotel unless you have to stay.

Room Tip: Room is big enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2016

The location is bit secluded! hard to get taxi if want to go out. Says its international hotel from Accor but the staff hardly understands english. The plumbing and shower in bathroom is awful!. For breakfast you have coke and sprite for juice as well as canned mango juice! for this place fresh fruit juice is expected. very few choices of fruits during breakfast

Room Tip: better not choose this have another option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mbsagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Stayed here when I was in Shanghai for business. It's a decent hotel and the rooms are not too bad. Not recommended for tourists, it's located in the science & technology district. Suitable if you're here for business or visiting a number of academic institutes near-by.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2014

It was a short, two-days stay in this hotel and it good enough but it is by no means a memorable place. My room was clean, big and comfy enough but things like breakfast and localisation were at best average. Staff were helpful but unfortunately not too expert in English which meant some hand waving for the likes of iron and board. The brekkie was really poor, though - no coffee, little choice. I normally prefer Chinese breakfast when in China but even this was very limited and sad-looking. The Western choice was virtually non-existent - you could have some chocolate cereals with milk. Plus the orange juice (?) was super watery and quite warm (!). The location isn't great if you don't have any business in the nearby research facilities which I did. Otherwise it is a pretty secluded area with little restaurant choice. In the larger hotel complex there are two Chinese/Cantonese places but with no English menus so I didn't want to risk another dish of duck tongues or deer tendons ;) Luckily, there is a small convenience store nearby where you can get some food - warm Chinese buns, warm beer etc. for a few RMB.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcinNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014 via mobile

I stayed a week here and had no complaints with the room and basic facilities. The breakfast was mainly Chinese style with very few western options. The coffee was appalling (a particular issue for me in the mornings) although there was tea and instant coffee in the room that helped matters a little.
The restaurant attached to the hotel wasn't bad at all but again served Chinese dishes only as you'd expect.
The staff were not that knowledgable of hotel policy. On one occasion I was told different things by different staff. Somewhat frustrating in that case. Lots of very young staff.
On the whole not bad but could do with a breakfast overhaul.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
Thank Gwyndaf E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,867 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#33 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,456 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhangjiang Mercure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhangjiang Mercure Hotel

Address: No.1500 Keyuan Road, Zhangjiang Hi-Tech Park District, Shanghai 201204, China (Formerly Guoji Rencaicheng Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhangjiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,414 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: €48 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zhangjiang Mercure Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zhangjiang Mercure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing