We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$373
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$461
US$275
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
US$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$511
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Peninsula Shanghai(Shanghai)
US$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
2
15
8
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
15
8
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The location is bit secluded! hard to get taxi if want to go out. Says its international hotel from Accor but the staff hardly understands english. The plumbing and shower in bathroom is awful!. For breakfast you have coke and sprite for juice as well as canned mango juice! for this place fresh fruit juice is expected. very few choices of fruits during breakfast

Room Tip: better not choose this have another option!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mbsagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Stayed here when I was in Shanghai for business. It's a decent hotel and the rooms are not too bad. Not recommended for tourists, it's located in the science & technology district. Suitable if you're here for business or visiting a number of academic institutes near-by.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2014

It was a short, two-days stay in this hotel and it good enough but it is by no means a memorable place. My room was clean, big and comfy enough but things like breakfast and localisation were at best average. Staff were helpful but unfortunately not too expert in English which meant some hand waving for the likes of iron and board. The brekkie was really poor, though - no coffee, little choice. I normally prefer Chinese breakfast when in China but even this was very limited and sad-looking. The Western choice was virtually non-existent - you could have some chocolate cereals with milk. Plus the orange juice (?) was super watery and quite warm (!). The location isn't great if you don't have any business in the nearby research facilities which I did. Otherwise it is a pretty secluded area with little restaurant choice. In the larger hotel complex there are two Chinese/Cantonese places but with no English menus so I didn't want to risk another dish of duck tongues or deer tendons ;) Luckily, there is a small convenience store nearby where you can get some food - warm Chinese buns, warm beer etc. for a few RMB.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcinNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014 via mobile

I stayed a week here and had no complaints with the room and basic facilities. The breakfast was mainly Chinese style with very few western options. The coffee was appalling (a particular issue for me in the mornings) although there was tea and instant coffee in the room that helped matters a little.
The restaurant attached to the hotel wasn't bad at all but again served Chinese dishes only as you'd expect.
The staff were not that knowledgable of hotel policy. On one occasion I was told different things by different staff. Somewhat frustrating in that case. Lots of very young staff.
On the whole not bad but could do with a breakfast overhaul.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
Thank Gwyndaf E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is located adjacent to a major new academic construction project. They are building a new university a few blocks from the hotel, and there are significant other academic facilities here. This region is far from downtown Shanghai, so if that is your goal, you're probably better off looking elsewhere. The main reason to stay here would be if you have business in this area, which is still (mid-2014) growing very rapidly.

I have seen a number of incorrect statements in this review. First, there IS internet available in the rooms. There is a wired connection which works very well, and I've been told that WiFi is also available, but that you need to ask at the front desk to get it. While, like everywhere in China, it's behind the "Great Firewall" this should not be a major impediment for foreigners with VPN capabilities. Note also that there is at least one English (and I think one German) news TV channel (News), which suited me fine.

The rooms are very nice, comparable to a standard Marriott room you might find worldwide. The bed is comfortable. There is a desk for work. The tea service includes 2 satchels of the standard chocolate/coffee mix, and both black and green teas, which is refreshed daily. The tap warns against drinking the tap water (normal in most Chinese cities). A local advised me that boiling (to make tea) was fine (no serious industrial contamination). Likely won't hurt you for a few days regardless (with boiling). There are also two provided bottles of drinking water each day.

I would agree that this hotel is not really "international" in the sense that there isn't a lot of English documentation in the rooms, and the food options are traditional Chinese, not "western style". However, IMHO there is little point in coming to China if your goal is to eat hamburgers. The on-site restaurant has both high and low-end food options. If you just eat in the main restaurant, the food is ok, but nothing special. If you go next-door you can get some very nice food. Yes, Chinese breakfast habits are not equivalent to what most westerners eat.

I'm not sure that the concept of "no-smoking" exists in China, but given the smog in most Chinese cities, it would almost be pointless anyway :^) There is a definite smoky odor throughout the hotel, so if you are sensitive to such, you might want to look elsewhere. It hasn't caused me any problems.

Overall, I'd say it compares quite favorably to the other "international" hotel I stayed at in Beijing. If you're looking to have a "Luxury" experience, you should probably go downtown to one of the hotels catering to such tastes. For my own business travel I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Steve4241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews