We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shanghai fever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #4 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“shanghai fever”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a delightful hotel. Service was extraordinary w/o being obsequious as can happen w/ 5 star hotels. Beautiful space, although a bit spread out ( it reaches from the riverfront to the back of the block ). Concierge desk was very helpful w/ the usual recommendations and obtaining taxis... Terrific view from our room of the Pudong area across the river though you probably do need to request the right room. My vote goes to 2007. All in all a wonderful experience for a first time visitor to Shanghai.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,167
    156
    41
    17
    10
See reviews for
217
413
90
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

A wonderful welcome which was a surprise considering I have never stayed here before, Just have patience at the initial check in and you will be very pleasantly surprised throughout your entire visit, will have to stay here again,

Thank You, ...

Room Tip: Definatly a corner suite Higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFSorbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was my first stay at the Waldorf in Shanghai and having read very good things about it was looking forward to my stay. The hotel is, true to its pictures, very beautiful. The lobby is large, grand and strangely empty of people. After check in I was escorted to the room and it definitely had the wow factor. Very large rooms and bathrooms that they've managed to really give a luxurious feel to with the quality of the finishes (often not the case in China). The room seems to be wearing well and was clearly maintained to a high standard. Super comfortable bed, great sheets and towels, really can't fault them room wise. What surprised me was the impersonal feeling of the hotel. From the empty lobby where I was rarely acknowledged to the door people who didn't seem very bothered about guests taxi needs. The main entrance to the hotel is at the back side and the taxi rank is hidden from view of the entrance, while I had a driver organized I would stand watching as most people went ignored while waiting fo a taxi. Breakfast was good, but far from great, I usually stay at the Hyatt on the Bund and they far exceed the Waldorf's breakfast offer. And while there were a couple of very friendly restaurant staff most seemed to just be wandering around aimlessly. Drinks and service at the long bar were very good.
All in all it's a very good hotel, it could be a great hotel if they get service details ironed out.
Would I stay at the Waldorf again? Maybe, but I'd probably chose the Hyatt....



-Impersonal service
-Taxi's
-

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kthongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Returned after a stay in october and very disapointed
From arriving with no one to collect bags and waiting in a disorganised check in counter for 20 minutes
To a pitiful lunch service at the brasseri
Same slack service at breakfast
The hotel is beatiful
But the service standard is poor compared to what we experienced previously
Feel really embarassed as have been pushing this hotels to friends to stay there
Not any more !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AjmMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaldorfAstoria2011, Marketing and Communication at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We were very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction this visit however, appreciate your feedback. We receive your constructive review well and will use this to further develop our services.

Should you have the time to discuss this with us in more detail, kindly reach out to us on shawa.info@waldorfastoria.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
365 reviews
349 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

There is a separate hotel entrance on the side street that I was not aware of. Anyway, there were two doormen that quickly radioed my name from the luggage tags to the front desk. This is really how it should work in five star hotels. By the time we got to the front desk, everything was ready and I was just escorted to the suite where the check in formalities i.e. scanning of the passport was done.

The suite was absolutely stunning. Even though it was called just a junior suite, it could have been as easily classified as an executive suite as well. In addition to the spacious bedroom there was a separate half sized room with a work desk as well.

The fruit display with cherries was the most impressive I have ever received at a Hilton property. In addition there was some hard candy on the other room and selection of desserts on the bedroom next to the television.

I was surprised to find Salvatore Ferragamo Tuscan Soul bathroom amenities.

Fitness center had modern equipment, but was quite small considering the size of the hotel. Same for the pool. The workout facility was not busy when I was there.

The breakfast was very good that is complimentary for Diamond, and most likely for Gold members as well. You had a selection of items that you could order from the ala carte menu and rather extensive buffet.

This was really a very good Hilton family hotel. The service is typically not so great even at “better” hotels in China. My stay at the Waldorf-Astoria Shanghai on the Bund was as perfect as it could have been, however. Wouldn’t hesitate to return and most certainly will.

Room Tip: Try to get a room/suite with a Bund view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoyaltyLobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,901 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,155 reviews
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,059 in Shanghai
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.2 Zhongshan Dong Yi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#176 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the history and culture of the celebrated Shanghai Bund with a taste for 21st century sophistication, Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund offers a heritage ambiance, legendary service and timeless amenities to make your stay truly memorable and distinct. Housed within the two-building complex in phases are 260 well-appointed rooms and suites, stylish environments for dining and lounging, extensive banquet facilities with stunning views, luxury spa, fully-fitted gym ,free WiFi and more, all crafted onto a picture perfect setting that speaks volume of the grandeur and finesse that is uniquely ours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai On The Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing