We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel if you have meetings in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed at This hotel in may 2012, for a company meeting inside the hotel.
The hotel himself is really new, very nice rooms, efficient staff, good restaurants and nice cocktails on the lounge bar.
Meeting facilities are good, nice snacks at morning break and afternoon break, very nice staff, able to provide you anything you need.
The -, is the area you are a little bit far from Beijing or the Bund, and it can takes you more than one hour to get there (rain + rush hour), the surroundings are also not very exciting for shopping or hang-out.
This is the only bad point, otherwise all was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyfamilyNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 230 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

Staying at this hotel could be a great experience, if the management and staff improved a few things. The room layout was very clever and modern, but the cupboard joinery was rubbish so our wardrobe doors hung at angles and wouldn't close, and the same with the fridge door, so the finishes were already chipping and looking bad. I checked the hinges, and there was a lot of chiseling out and filling to try make them fit, but the adjustable hinges had not been adjusted - so looked like the installers didn't understand how to adjust them and had butchered the cupboards instead. The bedside tables, which were fixed to the walls, were way too close to the mattress.
We had planned to stay from Monday to Friday, but with Typhoon coming changed our flights from Friday to Thursday. The hotel had been advised of this before we checked in, but insisted "you will be charged for Thursday night". The issue is not the money, it's the vibe that the traveller feels. Overall staff and facilities are 90% there...just needs some basic attention to maintenance and customer service training.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

It's may first time stay in this hotel,fresh design and great service. It's typhoon night when I arrived, only one staff in the front desk, but check in only use me 2 mins, very profession, good attitude,very good , staff ask me to join the member in the hotel that I can enjoy free wireless, good for me. I had found a bit dirty in the curtains, the bed was very comfortable, room service was delicacy and quantity. Breakfast was nice and the staff was inspiring me . I will come back again that please not give Conner room next time, haha.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreamCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Very nice luxury hotel. Rooms are modern, large and clean. Make sure to ask for non-smoking room if this is your preference. The room is open to the bathroom with sliding doors for privacy. Neat. Climate control was good. Breakfast area was nice with many things to eat including Western foods. Everything I tried was good. Service was very good in all departments. Hotel is located in quite area. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking when you book if you prefer this or have health issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Excellent choice of western or Chinese breakfast, wonderful and extensive hot and cold buffet with comfortable seating and attentive service. Huge selection. Rooms quiet, clean, 1st class all the way.

Room Tip: stress non-smoking because I did but was initially given a room with smoke odor. Reception said the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randonneur03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#10 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel

Address: No.50 Tongchuan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200333, China (Formerly Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel&A Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Caoyang / Zhenru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: €87 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel, a Marriott Luxury&Lifestyle Hotel you'll find a place where simple delights become memorable moments. Where distinctive style flirts with touches of whimsy. And where unparalleled service and uncommon sophistication provide a unique experience. At this exceptional boutique hotel in Shanghai, there's always something wonderfully new to be found. Indulge in inspired cuisine at one of four delectable restaurants, meet with colleagues and clients at our state-of-the-art meeting space, dive into our sparkling indoor swimming pool or take in the view from your room or suite. If you'd like to venture beyond our doors, all of the city awaits. Just steps from this boutique hotel's Shanghai location you'll find awe-inspiring museums, chic shops, exciting nightlife and world-renowned businesses. And if you're not sure how to spend the day, our Shanghai boutique hotel's concierge can help you choose the activities that best suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing