We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
20
35
18
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
35
18
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2017

This Hostel Just about made average, not for the accommodation but because the location was very good! The Hostel itself was very old and battered but it did have good WiFi and the staff were helpful. Another thing was that it was very cheap indeed so you do get what you pay for.

The Hostel is next to Laoximen station which is Line 10. Line 10 and 2 are the most popular for tourists that visit Shanghai because the majority of the things to do / visit are on there 2 lines. it's about a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank madmanprod2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I stayed here for a month in a 7 person dorm with attached toilet and bathroom. It depends on what type of person you are as this hostel is located in the old shanghai neighbourhood and Yu garden is about 10-15 walk minutes away. Xintiandi area is 30 mins walk away bit of a high end/expensive area.
Buses are better and cheap to take from this area if you want to go to East Nanjing road (shopping and centre). You just need 2 kuai or transportation card to touch and pay. Bus 929, 66 and 64 all go to the centre and near the bund. If you want the metro 20 minutes walk laoximen or the other one which I never used. The bus stop is 2 mins away from the hostel, just turn right before the crossroad. So, if you want to see some authentic Chinese area you will find it here. There is also a mall 5 minutes away on Henan road where there is Tescos (supermarket) inside and lots of eating places inside as well. You can also see the highest tower in Shanghai from the balcony area.
They also have a washing machine but have to air dry clothes which I preferred and I never had to wait for another person's laundry unlike other hostels.
I was disappointed that there was no pool table unless I totally missed the room. For the price the dorm was alright. I would recommend booking a room to oneself if you can afford it though.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank p3751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We usually intended to stay 4 days there but decided to extend by one more day. To our surprise, we were charged more for the same room! I'm pretty sure the extra 40 yuans that we paid went into the pocket of that dude on the reception! Location wise, it's not the best that you could ask for as you would need to take the bus to go to the Bund for example and that would be hard if you can't read or speak Mandarin. The room was just ok. Faulty A/C and slightly dirty room. Only positive thing about the hostel, with most of China's budget hotel not accepting foreigners, this youth hostel definitely comes in handy!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank thecoldpayer92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights and we couldn't be happier! Cheap hostel but the room was really clean and the bathroom was gorgeous with a nice and tidy shower.
Bed really comfortable and clean and the staff speak excellent English.
The location is perfect because in the centre e close to the metro and The Bund.
Well recommended

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Francesca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

I stayed in a dorm, the bed was ok. Showers and toilets were clean enough. The staff doesnt speak english though but check in was easy. Not so many foreigners were staying in this hostel so the ambiance was not that fun (it's hard to interact with chinese even when they are travellers). No food available at the hostel, only drinks (no coffee neither). The hostel is located in a a typical area of old shanghai which is nice, even if subway is a bit far on a walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews