We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$248
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$74
US$71
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$184
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$399
US$377
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
10
22
14
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
22
14
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is potentialy a very good hotel - rooms are large, clean, free internet (wired but fast) and a good buisness location - be aware though that it is not in the city of Shangahai.

What lets it down is the buffet resteurant - there is apparently a very good chinese reteurant in the hotel but we coild not get to use it.

Also the front of house staff were not especially helpful and the standard of English was apart from one person poor. Thet need to improve this if they wish to cater for Western clients.

Overall - would I stay there again - probably yes if it was for buisness in the Jinshan region

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on business. The check-in process was quick and painless and I found the room to be extremely large with a large glass walled toilet area. The toilet contains a partitioned shower area and a bath tub. There was a rain shower in the shower area but it wasn't working.

The bed was large and comfortable and there was a bathrobe, slippers and shoe shine equipment in the closet.

A large working desk is provided which proved comfortable to work on at night and the internet connection was fast and provided for in the room price.

The main problem i found with the room was that the air-conditioning was quite weak and failed to properly cool the room even though the temperature and fan could be controlled via a control panel. Shanghai in the summer is hot and humid and the room took far too long to reach a comfortable temperature after a hot day.

Breakfast at the ground floor restaurant was average only and I found it boring after only 2 mornings.

The location of the hotel is near some shops and restaurants and is walking distance to some shopping malls.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dthk_msia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The hotel is located within 10minutes walk to restaurants, fast food, malls and hypermarket TESCO. You can also found street hawkers selling fruits and food.

The rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My daughter and I were visiting Jinshan for the World Sweimming Championships Open Water racing. We were most impressed with this hotel. Whilst not a lot of the staff spoke English, once we found one who could the helpfulness was of a very high level. The room was very clean and comfortable, particularly the beds which I had been somewhat concerned about having experienced very hard beds previously in China and the plumbing worked well (another concern from a previous visit!) . We went to the Chinese restaurant which was very good and the breakfast was sufficient. The bar on the top floor is well worth a visit and a lovely place to meet friends and socialise.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

It was my second stay in the Seagull Hotel. The first time I chose a room with city view, which I do not recommend. If you stay in this hotel go for the river view, which I did the second time. It is the location, which makes this hotel attractive and the service is better than some of the reviews state. However, one has to accept that the Seagull is a “Chinese” four star and they still have to work on getting the quality right. In conclusion, I can recommend this hotel, given the price/location relation and if you can forgive some of the quality issues.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews