We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Nearby Hotels
US$1,094
US$950
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Island Resort(Taveuni Island)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nakia Resort & Dive(Taveuni Island)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Laucala Island Resort(Laucala Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taveuni Palms Resort(Matei)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
428
31
23
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
31
23
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqamea resortour honeymoonmy husband and ioutdoor showerbeach housedive shopfishother guestsvillage tourband boyslunch and dinnerday bedtravel agentkava ceremonylocal villagecocktail hourwaterfall hike
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

When looking for a place to spend our Honeymoon we wanted somewhere that was intimate, child-free, luxurious but not pretentious. We booked Qamea with high expectations and in every respect they were met and exceeded.

Upon arriving at the island we were greeted warmly and this continued for the rest of our stay. All staff we encountered were friendly and happy to make our stay a memorable one. I believe there are close to 60 staff at the resort and over our 1 week stay we probably only met half of them. It’s a big operation and we appreciated everyone, even the staff we didn’t see.

We embraced the concept of Fiji time and left our watches at home and spent the week unwinding after all of the preparations for the wedding. The free wifi provided was barely strong enough to view emails, and though we were offered premium wifi for FJD 100 for the week we declined out of principle given the amount already paid for the rooms. We were actually thankful to be away from the news for a week anyway.

We stayed in a Royal Beach House and it was pure luxury. The Beach Houses are located on the far side of the island, a fair distance away from the other bures and add that extra bit of privacy. The private pool was great, and lying down on the day bed looking over the ocean and falling asleep to the sound of the waves was total relaxation.

I was amazed at the “private aquarium” that was right on the doorstop. After heading no more than 20 metres from the shoreline we could snorkel along the reef and see all variety of fish and marine life below us. On a still day we could hover and relax.

The food was of a high standard and we found that the meal plan (USD $125 per person per day including tax) offered the best value. If you enjoy a bottle of wine I would recommend either bringing them with you from home, or buying them at duty free as prices at the resort are very expensive.

We really enjoyed the cocktail hour before dinner where guests could gather and sit around with staff. It was a great way to get to know your fellow guests as well as find out about island life from the staff.

We left the island refreshed and with a lifetime of memories.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt1538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnersAtQamea, General Manager at Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Bula, Matt1538, and many vinakas for your review! It's a pleasure for all of us at Qamea to know you and K felt Qamea exceeded your expectations for your honeymoon holiday! Though our entire resort lies on a very peaceful setting and atmosphere, our Royal Beach Houses are certainly the most private, especially with your own plunge pool and jacuzzi! We have many guests who like you and K, have enjoyed the outdoor daybed and fallen asleep in the cool breeze with the ocean accompaniment - no nature sounds CDs needed here!
We're very pleased you enjoyed the dining fare and found it to be of high quality - we get fresh, local vegetables and fruits multiple times a week, with special imports from New Zealand on a weekly basis as well, always so we may continue to serve our guests the most fresh, delicious cuisine. It also helps our local chefs are so talented!

We wish you both many more fantastic years to come, and perhaps we'll see you back on Qamea for an anniversary holiday! Many warm regards from your Qamea family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We recently stayed at Qamea for 5 nights for our honeymoon. We loved our stay at Qamea and it was a perfect place to go for our honeymoon. We stayed in one of the Royal Beach Houses and it was so nice having our own pool, hot tub and privacy. The room was very nice as well. During our 11 night stay in Fiji, the 5 nights we stayed here we slept the best. For some reason we were put in a 2 bedroom which I thought was strange and I was really looking forward to staying in the room I saw pictures of online, but we were on the furthest end of the resort so we had more privacy so it worked out. We also liked that they gave us water bottles that we could refill versus having to get bottled water. Since we were staying in one of the beach houses we had cocktails delivered to our room every afternoon along with a snack. This was a nice touch and something to look forward to every day. You could also choose to have any of your meals in your room at no extra cost which was also a nice touch. We ate most meals in the main restaurant but we had lunch outside of our room a couple times which we enjoyed. All of the meals we had were really good too. They were also accommodating with special requests. I would recommend that they take pizza off their lunch menu though. That was the first meal we had when we got there and were a little worried after having it, but everything else was great! The best food we had while in Fiji by far. In the evening they have cocktail hour before dinner and we really enjoyed talking with some of the staff and managers and other guests.

I think we did almost all of the excursions they offered – Bouma Waterfall Tour, Circle Qamea Island, Lavena Nature Walk, premium snorkeling, village visit (including hike to the village) and the private beach picnic. I have a hard time sitting and doing nothing so it was really nice that they offered a lot. You could do as much or as little as you wanted. All of the excursions we did were great! Edmond was the guide on a few of the excursions and he was awesome. The BBQ on the beach that the staff did during the Circle Qamea Island tour was delicious. They built a fire on the beach to freshly grill the meats and fish and had a nice setup with salad and sides. Probably one of the best lunches we had. The staff was also very accommodating when we asked to do the Lavena Nature Walk the day our flight left and they worked with us and the other guests doing the tour to leave an hour earlier so we could go. Then the staff met us on Taveuni with our bags and brought us to the airport at the end of the tour. The lunch on this tour was also amazing. They really know how to do picnic lunches! The snorkeling we did was also some of the best we have ever done. Renee was an awesome guide too. She was so friendly, helpful and professional. She pointed out things while we were snorkeling which was nice. We also appreciated that they were very conscious of respecting the reefs and marine life. I can’t remember the guide that did the hike with us to the village but he was also super friendly.

There were a few things that we felt could use some improvement. We felt like we waited for boats quite a bit including waiting in the rain for a while because they only brought one boat but we couldn't all fit in it so we had to wait for the boat to take the first round of people and then come back to get us. Given the price we paid for the resort we would have expected better service in this aspect. The spa was also pushed a lot. We ultimately did not visit the spa because we did not like feeling pressured to do so. I’m sure it was wonderful though. Most guests that were there while we were did do the Night of Decadence or some spa treatment and all raved about it. The hot tub at our room could have used some improvements. The head cushions were kind of gross and falling off and not all of the jets worked. Not a big deal but given the price, I would not have expected this. I’d also recommend just adding the 25% tax into the cost that is displayed. Everywhere else we went in Fiji had the tax already added in.

Overall we had a wonderful stay at Qamea and would highly recommend this resort to our friends. We hope to make it back there one day. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnersAtQamea, General Manager at Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Bula vinaka, Rachael H! We very much appreciate you and Ph choosing Qamea as your honeymoon destination. I can relate to not being one to sit and not be active, so we're pleased you felt you could be as busy as you wanted and you enjoyed all the different activities and excursions offered at the resort. Edmond (our main activities guide), Renee (one of our dive managers), and Pita (he lead you on the village hike) are all wonderful in what they do, so it's no surprise you felt well taken care of and had a lot of informative interaction. I'm glad you felt you slept the best at Qamea, especially with how busy you were during the daytime. Our high-quality mattresses are specially imported from New Zealand, and we often have guests relaying how well they sleep during their stay.

With your bure being a 2-bedroom, we have 3 Royal Beach Houses with 2 of them being identical (what you saw online) and 1 being the double bedroom. As you booked online with Agoda, it was the only bure of that room category available, which is why you were in that bure. However, aside from the 2 bedrooms, it has all the same amenities: indoor and outdoor shower, and back pool deck with full-size jacuzzi tub, plunge pool, and sun loungers. Despite getting a slightly different room than you were expecting, we're happy you still thoroughly enjoyed it.

I'm sorry you felt you had to wait for the boats on different excursions. It can be tricky when we have a group activity going out, and we have some people who show up on time (or even early), and then some who really take "Fiji Time" to the full extent. With the one boat having to go out and come back. Certain times every month when we have very low tides (depending on the moon phase), we have to use one of our little shuttle boats to take guests out to the larger boats which cannot safely come to shore in those low tides. I understand you had to wait a bit on the welcome area in the rain, but it is a large, covered area, so hopefully it wasn't too unfavourable.
With your recommendation of having the tax already added in to the listed prices, this is done differently at different places in Fiji, and many resorts have tax included in their price listing, and many other resorts don't. We happen to be one which doesn't already include it, but everywhere we list a price, it's stated the price does not include the 25% tax. Apologies if this was confusing.

Overall, we're thrilled you had a wonderful honeymoon holiday at Qamea and enjoyed your Royal Beach House, all of the many activities, and our delicious dining fare! Our chefs are very talented, and I'm happy you found them to be accommodating to your special requests. As for the BBQ on the beach?... yes, that is certainly tough to beat!
The whole crew at Qamea wishes you and Ph many happy years together! Vinaka vakalevu, and congratulations again! Hopefully one day you'll return to visit your family at Qamea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

This is a very intimate and private resort. From the moment we set foot on the property, we were greeted and welcomed as a new member of their family. The entire staff is extremely friendly and focused on making your stay at the resort a memorable experience.

The accommodations are top notch - we loved the outdoor shower! The food and drinks were fantastic and the service was impeccable. The spa was great and the staff were extremely friendly and focused on meeting your needs. The staff at the Dive Shop made our snorkeling adventures fun. The staff was very knowledgeable and were very willing to share information throughout each event.

The entire staff at Qamea made our anniversary a memorable experience. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this resort, and I can't wait for our return visit!

Room Tip: Each Bure is unique and top quality.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff_Chunglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnersAtQamea, General Manager at Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Bula vinaka, Jeff_Chunglo and many thanks for your review! All of us at Qamea Resort loved meeting you and D and we are so thrilled we were able to make your 25th anniversary so special.
We're so happy you enjoyed your accommodations - every bure is in a lovely location with stunning views of the sea, as well as the lush flora and fauna surrounding the resort. The outdoor showers are a favourite for many of our guests - the smooth stone walls and open air certainly create a serene feature. We're also happy to hear your comments regarding our Jungle Spa - our specially-trained Guinot Paris therapists are very talented, and we're happy they took great care of you and D and met your needs for your treatments.
It was such a pleasure getting to know you and D, and we look forward to welcoming you back with big, open arms! There's many more beautiful snorkel sites for our fantastic dive team to show you, and there's always plenty of delicious cuisine!
Vinaka vakalevu, and many warm wishes from your new family at Qamea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

hugely overpriced, average food at 6 star prices (burger and fries for lunch then pizza and ice cream, ) Wine was very expensive and priced without taxes included so cost even more! (Other resorts quote inclusive price)Rooms needed a repair man soon! (lavatory flush broken, shower soaked the whole floor, furniture missing from the room (Broken?) The thatched roofs of the bures were a disgrace, all falling off, rotten and really needed replacing. The pool was very small, and also needed repair.
The hotel needs an arrival/dinghy dock. we arrived and were soaked in the waves, from the boat to the beach!
The staff however were excellent, could not have been more helpful and friendly...without exception!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnersAtQamea, General Manager at Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Bula, RoryM, and thank you for your comments; guest feedback really is the foundation upon which our service and facilities are constantly evolving, so we take every comment seriously, however, there are some concerns with what you wrote.

First, I would like to mention you and S chose the Qamea meal plan for your 2-night stay where you booked through Agoda. This meal plan is USD$99 (FJD$199) per day, and involves a full, hot breakfast (options such as blueberry pancakes, carmalized French toast, eggs benedict, etc.), a 2-course lunch (entrée and main) and a 3-course dinner (entrée, main, and dessert), where for your two nights selected the Seared Lamb Rack with Eggplant Ratatouille, and the fresh catch of the day, which arrived to our kitchen from local fishermen just after noon that day.
This meal plan equates to less than US $33 per meal, which is beyond reasonable for any resort anywhere in the world, and is far from “6-star prices” as you say. Regarding the “burger and fries” and “pizza” you mentioned, we import our beef special from New Zealand, the bun is baked fresh that day in our kitchen, and the pizza is a wood-fired pizza which is personalized as you get to select your exact toppings and sauce on our freshly-made pizza dough. You did lament to me regarding your burger and fries after lunch, and as you recall, we discussed the lunch options that day of the NZ beef burger or the fresh, Red Snapper fish tacos, and when I mentioned the other option, you said you saw the Red Snapper dish which others had selected, and said it “looked lovely.” If you are not fond of a burger and fries, or wood-fire pizza, you had other options to choose from, and if you are not pleased with the other options, we will always do our best to create alternative dishes for you, but if we do not know beforehand, we cannot accommodate.

The time you and S stayed, we were in the middle of re-thatching (roofing) some of our bures, where you saw the pile of fresh thatch ready to be placed when you arrived. As the owners love to keep the bures in the more traditional, Fijian style, we use thatch. This is something which takes time; it is an art form. We rely on the supply made available by nature, and we can only gather thatch as fast as it grows.

We find it unfortunate you did not enjoy your bure or our swimming pool. You and S stayed in our Honeymoon Villa which includes an open shower, an outdoor shower, a private full-size jacuzzi spa, a bedroom area and living area. We can assure you there was no “missing” furniture. It is a large room with a woven loveseat, table, 2 matching woven cushion chairs, and plenty of open space, as we like to keep the living room free from clutter. The resort’s pool is a river-rock pool with a full-size jacuzzi spa, with loungers and a day bed. The pool is placed in a quiet area surrounded by our beautiful gardens and trees. It is not a pool you will find at a Hilton, but we are an intimate, boutique resort, and the pool is very fitting for our size, with many guests finding it a serene place of calm. I am unsure of what maintenance you are claiming the pool needs – you gave no details, and perhaps it’s because the pool needs no maintenance?

We are very pleased you found everyone at Qamea helpful and friendly. We do our best to go out of our way to assist all our guests, especially as we did with you and S in your special transfers to and from Qamea from your yacht.
Thank you again for your comments and feedback, and please contact us if you have more you would like to discuss.
We wish you both safe travels in the rest of your sailing adventure around the Pacific!
Kind regards from the team at Qamea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

If you are considering going to Fiji, stop looking at properties and go stay at Qamea. You won't be disappointed!

We feel like we got uber lucky landing at such an amazing place…after having done minimal research because we booked through Costco. (We live in Seattle and know that Costco values their reputation very much, so we were essentially banking on the fact that since we booked it through Costco, it would be awesome – big gamble, but we took it.)

1) The Staff
Hands down, you will feel like family by the time you leave.
- Lusia greeted us as soon as we got there with fruity drinks and a warm smile.
- Sia, Bubba, Mirahah, Edmonds, Moses in the restaurant were amazing and could not have been more friendly!
-Renee’ and Bev in the dive shop were top notch.
-Salome in the spa was an angel.
-Krista and Lars (the Managers) were also incredible.
And when we left…they sang to us as Captain Jack drove us away in the boat and I cried because it had been such a wonderful experience.

2) The Food
The food was really good. I am a vegetarian and I had tons of options. We ran into a couple on our flight home that had gone to another island and the wife was a vegetarian, too. She said she ate French fries the majority of her trip because there weren’t a lot of options for her. That was NOT the case at Qamea. Lots of fresh vegetables and amazing vegetarian dishes. We did the meal plan option and it was worth it. Otherwise, we would’ve been watching costs for all the meals every time we sat down.

3) The Spa
GO TO THE SPA! (If only for the lemon tea – it is that good!!) I read the reviews on here the day we left and read about the “Night of Decadence.” We ended up doing it one night and it is very worth the price ($1,250 Fjiian dollars after tax). Two Fiji Warriors pick you up at your Bure at 3:30, escort you to the spa where they give you a sugar scrub on your feet while you drink champagne and have cheese and crackers. Then you get a full-body sugar scrub, followed by a massage and facial. Then they escort you back to your bure where dinner has been set up on your porch, along with ANOTHER bottle of champagne. Then the band comes to sing to you.

4) Diving
I did my four open water dives while at the resort. Renee was an excellent teacher and she made me feel very confident when I went on my first “official” dive. My only regret is that I wish I had gotten certified before I went down there so I could’ve done more than one “real” dive. The diving in Fiji is amazing and the Dive Shop staff was great. It's also a good back-up activity if it is raining. You can dive in the rain.

5) Other Activities
There is a chalkboard where you can sign up for various activities. We did the Village Tour which was really cool. Only suggestion is to take sturdy shoes with you that can get wet/muddy. I wore flip flops instead of Keens and wish I had worn my Keens. They take you by boat and then you have to walk a path to the village. It’s not strenuous or hard, but can be wet and muddy. The resort will give the ladies a sarong for the village tour if you don’t have long pants to wear. You get to walk around with a tour guide and then they take you into the community center where they sing to you, bring you tea and kava and then you have the ability to purchase some handmade items. (Bring Fijian dollars) We also did the Honeymoon Beach Picnic – You also must do this because it is heavenly. They whisk you off in a boat, drop you off with two chairs, a picnic basket with wine, cheese, crackers and apples and then come back two hours later to pick you up.

Our package included a lot of activities, so when we got settled in, we sat down and started scheduling things to make sure we could accommodate for all the activities plus diving. That turned out to be a good idea because a lot of the slots filled up during the week.


6) The Room
Someone else gave a review back in June about the insects. Yes, there are insects, more specifically, mosquitos. We made the mistake of opening our windows the first two days and I was covered in mosquito bites. We closed the windows, but realized there were gaps in some of the slats (and a few holes in the screens), so we plugged the gaps with clothes and towels. I should comment that mosquitos LOVE me and I tend to react pretty strongly to bites. Yes, they spray your room and yes, there is bug spray at the bar and in the gift shop – just be prepared and bring bug spray and use it, keep your windows closed (and the a/c on), close the door to your outside shower as soon as you come in and consider putting the foot mat in the crack of that door. I imagine this is a challenge no matter where you go in Fiji and isn’t just a Qamea challenge. It is manageable if you are prepared. Unlike me.

Other than that challenge, the room was beautiful. The bed was comfortable. There is a fridge in your room and there are two water bottles waiting for you upon arrival (I swear they think of everything at Qamea!!) We were about five bures down from the restaurant (which is where you will go to get water to drink – you can’t use the water out of the sink in your room) and about two bures down from the beach.

Free wifi in your room is slow, but let's be honest...who goes to Fiji to sit on wifi?

Suggestions:
- Take coloring books/crayons for the children in the village
- Bring acoustic guitar strings for the band (I don’t know where I read this suggestion, but I brought three sets and it was good timing because it is very hard for them to get these down there)
- Take bug spray and look for suntan lotion with bug repellent in it (I took Badger Sunscreen & Bug Repellent because it is supposed to be reef safe) I read somewhere that bug repellent with DEET in it is toxic when combined with sunscreen. I didn’t have enough time to research it, so I bought the Badger brand.
- Make sure you sign up for the activities you want to do before the slots fill up
- Take a spare water bottle so you don’t have to go back and forth to the restaurant to fill-up. It’s hot in the tropics and is important to hydrate
- Ask for the ginger tea. :) We made it at home the night we got home from Fiji because it is that good.
- Take reef shoes - even if you don't plan on snorkeling or diving. We used them at the beach to walk out into the water and they were a life saver.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room on this property!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CarrieMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnersAtQamea, General Manager at Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Bula, CarrieMississippi, and vinaka for your all your lovely comments! The team at Qamea is thrilled you found your honeymoon "Qameahhhzing!" (We love that!)
It was such a pleasure to have you and J stay with us and become part of the family. You both partook in excellent activities during your stay, and we again pass on our congratulations to you for getting your PADI certification - Qamea is one of the most perfect places to get certified with our fantastic dive team.
Being a vegetarian myself, I agree about having an excellent variety of fresh foods to choose from, especially when on holiday, and I'm happy you felt you had many options at Qamea and enjoyed the delicious vegetarian dishes our talented chefs prepared. We take great pride in how we source most of our products locally, even as close as "next door" from the grounds and farms at the neighboring villages. When it's that fresh, it's always appetizing!
We are sorry to hear about the mosquitoes, but yes, you are quite right how you can never 100% avoid them, especially when we are such a lush island and very open-air to keep the resort refreshing and not a "shut-in" experience. We have since replaced the screen on the bure you stayed in, so it will be top notch for you and J to return again!
Many best wishes to you and J in your new life together! Thank you for choosing Qamea Resort to celebrate your honeymoon. Perhaps we'll see you in the future for an anniversary? The incredible Night of Decadence will be here for you to partake in again - it's certainly our highlight spa treatment, and as you mentioned, it can "ruin" all future spa experiences.
Warmest regards from your Qamea family in Fiji!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews