We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveller rating
781
193
64
20
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
781
193
64
20
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club kids pool meal plan bush walk outer reef fish family holiday pizza bar beach bure main beach north side swim up bar meal package a la carte menu young kids banana boat waters edge
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Last visit here was 29 years ago our first was a honeymoon 37 years ago. After a little misunderstanding at checkin all went very well. Good snorkling right off the beach , dining options and a variety of trecks and motor water excursions. Can highly recomend the Dolphin viewing and a visit to that grinding left hand surf break Cloudbreak. We liked the south side beach Bure. It is a little quieter and though windy it was cooler. To be fair there are no bad accomodation options. Can recomend the Food Plan. It has no limits apart from drink being separate . A great stay and shall return with our larger tribe next time .

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Roland V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven A, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear Roland V
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was great having you back after 29 years! We apologise for the hiccup at check in and are pleased to read that despite this, the holiday went very well.
Great to see that you indulged in the activities offered. The dolphin safari is a awesome excursion to go out on as you see the dolphins in their natural surroundings. We are glad that you were able to experience that and Cloudbreak as well. It is good to know that you took full advantage of the perfect weather and managed to get in some good snorkeling and a few trecks around the island.
Our Executive Chef and his team work hard to keep meals interesting, well balanced and tasteful. The meal plan is great value for money as there is no restrictions to any restaurants or menus. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon
Vinaka vakalevu
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

My husband and I stayed at Castaway for three nights in early February as part of our 'complimentary' honeymoon.

Unfortunately, it rained the entire time, which meant we had no opportunity to explore the island, walk around or go for a swim in the ocean. If we were lucky, we managed to squeeze in two 20 minute swims in the pool.

The island is beautiful, rustic and lush. The buses appear to be newly revamped from the cyclone, and while new and modern, they are also very dark due the the furnishings inside, which in turn made the room very dark for the entire trip from the lack of sunshine. A bit more light and a bit less dark furniture would go a long way in making it feel more welcoming and homely. They are however very spacious, clean and easy to move around with plenty of storage.

The staff were attentive and friendly, especially Lingo who took the time to sit and talk with us.

We had no issues with the food and found each option enjoyable, especially the breakfast buffet. To keep our mind at ease, and credit card, we decide to go for the meal plan which helped us to enjoy our stay without having to constantly calculate meal costs all they time.

We hope to return one day in the not so wet season so that we can experience the full Castaywa experience!

Room tip: Beachfront bures don't come cheaply, but they are more than worth the extra $$$.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alice320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven A, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017


Dear Alice320
Thank you for your review of your stay in February. It was most unfortunate that the weather wasn’t too visitor-friendly but we are glad to read that that didn’t dampen your spirits. Thank you for your suggestions with regards to the interior of the bures which will definitely be looked at moving forward. It is humbling to read though, that despite the weather, you got to experience the warm Fijian hospitality that our hosts are well known for. In addition, our Executive chef and his team work hard to produce well balanced and tasty meals and it is gratifying to know that you were not disappointed in that regard.
We wish to congratulate you once again on your nuptials and we look forward to welcoming you back to our island home soon.
Vinaka vakalevu
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Spent a day on the beautiful Castaway island and had lunch at the resort. After a fantastic hike around the island (amazing views) we settled for a lunch table in the glorious sunshine looking out at the magnificent view. Unfortunately the food offerings do not match the stunningly beautiful surroundings. The venue is tired, the buffet area poor, the furniture and decor dated and heavy. The entire restaurant needs a complete overhaul if it is to even come close to doing justice to the wonderful location. Oh and the fish and chips/club sandwich we had were limp

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
13  Thank StewartRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven A, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear StewartRobert
Thank you for your review and for choosing Castaway as a day trip destination. We are glad that you got to see a fair bit of the island and managed to enjoy the amazing view together with the glorious weather as you described. Whilst we are quite surprised with your comments on the food, we have taken your comments into consideration and re-looking at our menu offerings.
We hope you can come back to experience Castaway for a lot longer than a day and as many of the reviewers have, leave our shores with having a great holiday experience.
Vinaka Vakalevu
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Our third time on the island, although haven't been there in 3 years and pleased to say the place is still paradise and has not suffered at all for the change in ownership (now owned by Outrigger Resorts). Would recommend this particularly for families but a range of different guests were there and all blended in fine.

Great holidays are about expectations - and you can expect the ideal sandy beach, shaded by mature trees with plenty of beach lounges and hammocks, overlooking your own reef. The rooms are simple but perfectly fitted out. The lack of TV and room wifi is the perfect antidote to the modern disease, you can access wifi in the bar and the break from screens is a pleasure. Expect relaxed service (all on Fiji time), no pretensions, but the perfect place to relax with plenty to do for the kids and active folk.

Stayed a week, highly recommend the seaplane connection from Nadi (esp if this gives you more time on the island with ferry connections sometimes resulting in loooong waits for international flights).

Not cheap, but worth every cent. Will be back for a 4th go soon enough.

Room tip: Recommend the North beach for better access to the house reef and a nicer setting
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven A, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Bula ArkiLuna
We are grateful for your review and humbled by your comments. Yes, we have had our fair share of natural disasters and ownership change but we have worked hard to maintain our well-known standards to remain the Castaway that you remember. We are also glad to know that our natural pristine surroundings and beach fit-outs were to your expectations. You have managed to capture the real essence of a holiday – free of modern technology, at least in the bures to give them a solitary feel and yet at the same time with plenty to do. As we say here on Castaway, we allow you to disconnect so you can reconnect with oneself, family and nature.

We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back for the fourth time soon.

Vinaka vakalevu
Your Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We decided on a spur of the moment trip & Castaway was recommended! We had honeymooned in Mana Island 15yrs ago & took a day trip to Castaway back then & had awesome memories so we booked & were not disappointed! The scenery was amazing, the food was the best! Plenty to do or do nothing! snorkelling, paddle boarding, swimming (pool & ocean) & cocktails in the pool bar were our favourite pastimes! We also hired a jet ski across to check out Mana Island! Jet ski totally worth doing! What also helped to make our stay the best & most relaxing holiday was definitely the staff! So thank you to all the staff! We will definitely be back soon!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank me51772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven A, General Manager at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear me51772
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are also grateful for the recommendation that brought you to our shores to experience what we have to offer. Your comment - ‘Plenty to do or do nothing!’ is really what a holiday is all about and that is what we strive to deliver. Our Executive Chef and his team are always changing and enhancing the menus to ensure that you have an unforgettable culinary experience and to know that you did, is extremely gratifying. We have been blessed with pristine surroundings and we are glad that you made use of the wide range of watersport facilities available. This combined with the friendly and hospitable spirit of our hosts, no doubt contributed to your relaxing holiday – the Jet ski being the added bonus!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back home.
Vinaka
The Castaway Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews