We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bliss.. our weekend break felt like a week long holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We recently stayed at Lomani Island for 3 nights - it was way too short! This resort is fantastic - the people are lovely, the facilities are great and there are no children allowed so it was tranquil and peaceful at all times. The resort is really seamless, from the pick up at the airport through to the ferry service and arriving at the island with a welcoming group of fiji musicians and shell necklaces! Someone is taking care of you and your bags at all times, when you get to the resort they meet you with another song, and a freshly opened chiiled coconut! Delicious! We were shown our stunning room - a beachfron Bure which is literally just steps from the beach and the beautiful clear sea, picture perfect view from the room of the palm trees, sea and distant islands. Its spectacular. The room is great, a massive bed, airocn & fan and lots of windows if you like fresh air. There is s stunning outdoor but very private shower and the bathroom is also huge with a seperate toilet. The room has a deck with loungers and an umbrella that was lovely and private. There is also a great large pool with sun loungers if you feel like hanging out by the pool or having some drinks. The resort is immaculate, with fresjh flowers everywhere in the rooms and all around the resort. We had massages at the spa which my husband and I both really enjoyed. The resort also has activities if you are that way inclined - we went on 2 snorkelling trips which were both fantastic even though it was my first time snorkelling. The activities guy was really helpful and patient with me! You can also use the bicylces at the resort to explore the island which is a really easy and fun ride. We spent quite a lot of time kayaking around the island which is lovely as the water is so clear and shallow that you can see the fish and coral beneath you as you glide past. The waster is really beautiful and clear.
The island itself is really beautiful and offers a bit of everything - we tried all the different dining options at the other resorts (plantantion island and Musket cove) but found Lomani's Flame Tree Restaurant to be way above anything else on the island. The quality and vareity of food was superb and service excellent. The cocktails were also great especially when drunk out of a fresh coconut! for a special evening the staff placed a table down on the beach for us with flame torches and we had dinner down there next to the sea.. it was stunning!
There are some fun things to do on the island, Musket cove is popular with the yachting crowd and there are lots of boats to look at and a great island bar where you can drink fiji bitter with your feet in the sand and watch the sunset. The various restaurants on the island have theme evenings and jazz bands and loads of stuff to doif you want to.
There are 2 little supermarkets where you can get the basics if you forgot something like toiletries and you can get fresh fruit, icecreams etc. There is also a wonderful medical nurse on the island who really helped me when my ears got blocked up from so much time underwater. Really there is everything you need.
My only wish was that we had stayed longer - I wasnt ready to go home.

Room Tip: The beachfront Bure is worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Winelover063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 591 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

Just returned from 3 wonderful nights at Lomani . My husband and I chose this resort because it is " Child Free ". From the moment you arrive, you are made to feel welcome. They sing to you at the marine, then at the resort and later in the evening, they put on an amazing dinner and show ( Wednesday nights ).
The rooms are beautiful, the pool is big and very refreshing. The meals ( get the meal package ) are mouthwatering and the staff ( including the manager ) are truly special. They are always smiling, and friendly and the service is incredible. As Arnie in the movie " Terminator " says..."'I'LL BE BACK "

Room Tip: Every room at the resort looks great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel10140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

On the positive side, the resort is in a beautiful spot, and the staff are lovely. My husband was fond of Jonah and Nanise was a lovely waitress. Thanks to Bou for the help she provided us when we arrived. The activities available on a daily basis are a big plus. The standard of cleanliness is high, but then comes the negatives. The rooms are very 70s and looking tired. Its more than time they were given a face lift. Our shower door had broken off a long time ago and in its place was a skimpy dark curtain that didn't meet the sides and cut out the light. I leaned on the screen and it came away from the floor. The shower head could not be moved to suit and taps were heavily covered in calcium. There was often no warm water. The breakfasts were the worst I have experienced and the food boring. The bed and the pillows were very uncomfortable. We booked and paid in advance for 7 days with full board, but after 3 days, they tried to get us to pay for our food, saying that we had only paid for 6 of the 7 days. It was happening to other guests as well and when you are on a foreign island, with little other choice, it makes you feel very vulnerable. There is no doubt they were taking advantage of their position. We checked out early to avoid any trouble, paying another hotel for accommodation already paid for at Lomani. They ruined our holiday there and in spite of its beautiful surroundings, I could not recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Syam52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hraffe, Owner at Lomani Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

We are so very sorry that your holiday was soured by what was essentially a reservation error. The travel agent that you booked through incorrectly loaded a stay 7 pay 6 special, and did not include the charge for the 7th day of meals. I had told reservations that we would absorb the cost for the 7th day of meals, but apparently this was after you had already been told that you would have to pay for the 7th day of meals. By the time you were told that you would not be charged, you had already made the decision to leave a day early.

We do not believe that it is appropriate to disturb guests mid-holiday to pay for charges that a guest believes they have pre-paid for. Usually it is resort policy to email the affected guest prior to arrival so that they are forewarned of any additional charges. This instance was a one-off error in judgement made by an individual, and we apologise if it adversely affected your stay with us at Lomani.

Unfortunately the shower door in your room broke unexpectedly, and needed to be replaced by a shower curtain as a temporary measure. This problem only affected the room that you were accommodated in, and the shower screen will be replaced very shortly. We are in the process of updating the Deluxe Suites and Hibiscus suites with the look and feel of our new Beachfront Bures (e.g. dark wood mahogany furniture complimented by new paintings and neutral fabrics). The new furniture is due to arrive this Thursday. We have noted your comments regarding the room and food as well.

We sincerely apologise that your holiday was not everything that you had hoped it would be due to a few minor discrepancies. If you wish to return, I would be happy to credit the night that you forfeited towards your next stay at Lomani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

From the minute that we arrived to the beautiful singing greeting we felt welcome throughout the resort. We stayed for 7 nights, but would love to have stayed longer. We highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a romantic escape without children. The surroundings were beautiful and the staff were wonderful. It was an easy trip on the Malolo Cat from Denarau to get to the island.

Most importantly we experienced first class service, the staff were exceptional, they were so friendly & helpful. We simply cannot express how much we appreciate the effort the staff made in all aspects of the resort. Whether it was the admin and management staff, the grounds staff, the restaurant and bar staff, the room and service staff, the spa ladies, the musicians or the activities guys they were all great people.

The Flame Tree restaurant and bar was divine, we had the meal plan and we did not eat the same meal twice. This offered an unrestricted menu and the quality was excellent.

The free optional daily activities were great fun. Snorkelling was offered daily in the crystal clear water with tropical fish and coral at nearby islands and reefs. We were invited share in a traditional kava ceremony, lovo cooking & coconut use demonstrations. The Wednesday evening cocktail party was a great opportunity to talk to the staff and other guests.

The scenery was great and the sunsets were quite spectacular. The nearby reefs were very good and the water was very clear and warm.

We can't wait to go back again and enjoy some more of this beatiful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mpdaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Lomani's the perfect place for a couples tropical holiday. No kids are allowed, so it's quiet and relaxing, great for a romantic getaway. The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful. The food's excellent by Fiji standards, it won't match great restaurants in other countries, but you don't go to Fiji for the food. When we were there August 2010 the rooms were in very good condition, with quite effective air conditioning.

Another great bonus of Lomani is it's within walking distance of three other resorts, so if you want some variety for dinner it's easy to find.

The boat ride there's quite nice, but if you have a flight home before midday or even 1pm you'll probably want to leave on the last boat the night before and stay on the mainland, otherwise you'll be on the 5am boat out. The hotel across the road from the Nadi airport was a bit of a letdown after Lomani, The Novatel was much nicer and isn't far away.

The only thing I can think Lomani could do to improve is to add a few more poolside seats, a very very minor point at an awesome resort.

Lomani really is a gem, i've tried to go back once but it was booked out, so book early if you want to go! I'll definitely go back some time.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mrtimnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
4.7 km away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
626 reviews
17.6 km away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
1.1 km away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
25.1 km away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,505 reviews
8.3 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Address: Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: €270 - €471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing