We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,893)
Filter reviews
1,893 results
Traveller rating
635
723
284
146
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
723
284
146
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plantation island garden bure kids club musket cove family holiday coral restaurant meal plan poolside room fish black coral cash card lomani end coco hut three star great family copra shed breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 1,893 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We returned for another 7 night stay, and noticed that the Resort has been tidied up, and was even more fun to stay at ! The addition of the Bula Bikes is very welcome, and I recommend at least a few days rental to get around Island.

We rented a 2 bedroom, garden Bure, number 236, and enjoyed the bonus of sea views, sunset views even !, and the shade from a large tree outside the room.

Definitely will be returning, although having used the meal plan twice now, we think it will be better value and give greater variety to just pay as you go, enjoying the excellent Lomani, Ananda , Musket Cove, or Black Coral Restaurants. There's ample choice for family dining at realistic prices

All in all, a real 5 star Family holiday, with friendly staff, great weather, and brilliant facilities.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank KeithE911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Bula Keith

I means a lot that you felt we had improved, that is what we strive for. We hope to see you back soon...

Vinaka

Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

What a beautiful and relaxing way to spend a family holiday - Plantation Island Style! This is my 4th time there and our kids 2nd. To start off with, I was pretty determined to go somewhere else, simply to try somewhere new... But as our kids are now 13 and 14, our holiday expenses have jumped in price and we were struggling to get value for money. Finally, after looking at Port Douglas, Vanuatu, Isle de Pines and Hawaii... Plantation came out trumps (location, swimming, temperature, cost, free activities). It's also very easy to go back somewhere that you know is good: stunning location, picture postcard beach and beautiful Fijian people.
Fiji Gateway Hotel:
We had a night at the Fiji Gateway Hotel (Raffles) either side of our 8 nights on the island. We have always done this so that we can explore Nadi and brake up the travel, but we won't be doing this again. Raffles is fine... Dated but ok.... The pool is awesome for the kids, the staff are friendly and it's a great place to wait for your plane (it is a 5 min walk across the road to the airport). Even if you don't have a room, but need time to kill, go to raffles, it's much nicer waiting there than at the airport!
The Island:
The Fijian welcome song when we arrived off the boat was just how I remembered, such a lovely way to start. The water is super clear and there's fish everywhere around the wharf all day, every day. Your bags are taken directly to your room for you while you wait in the restaurant with a cold juice for check in. This is what you see when you look online and see Fiji, stunning location, crystal clear water, soft white/golden sand, you won't be disappointed.
The rooms:
We had requested a room on the 200's side of the island, closer to the restaurants, the beach (which you can still swim in at low tide), water park and snack bar. To start with, we were in room 275, a garden terrace room. It was a lovely refurbished room with really nice outdoor furniture and bathroom etc. but there was one problem..... No door on our bedroom! We asked for a garden terrace specifically as we had stayed there before and knew they worked well for a family, but our previous room had a door... This did not. Before we even unpacked, we went to reception to see if we could change rooms, but unfortunately the resort was at capacity. So we were told that in 2 days time they could shift us to room 261 which they did, thank you Ravin! 261 was brilliant, the closest block to the restaurants etc and had a door. I have to say... To me it is common sense, parents need a door on their bedroom, I won't spell out why... Management, please can you put a door on the bedrooms of your refurbished rooms. :)
The food:
We pre-purchased the breakfast only meal plan, which meant we only needed a snack for lunch. Hash browns, bacon, sphagetti, baked beans, mushrooms, cooked tomatoes, rice, pumpkin, scrambled eggs, tinned fruit (really??), fresh fruit (pineapple and watermelon every day, pawpaw only one day, which was very disappointing, I love fresh fruit.. And was hoping for more), freshly made eggs to order (omelette, fried, poached), toast, cereals and gluten free options, muffins or sliced cake, tea coffee and juice. The quality was ok, but in my experience buffets generally are pretty average.
For lunch we would get iced mocha's from the coco hut, pizza and wedges (or something similar from the snack bar. Pizzas are $18/20 FJD. We went to Musket Cove for lunch one day, but weren't very impressed... More expensive and we weren't allowed to swim in their pool. Plantation is definitely better.
For dinner, we tried them all, Old Copra Shed for the roast night (they only offer Buffett for dinner), Anandas, which we always enjoy and Black Coral, which has been built since we're were there last. Black Coral is definitely the nicest... But the menu is so limited, a couple more things on the menu would do the trick. The coconut crapes are the best! Yes, it all seems quite expensive for what it is, but it is served on a tropical island....in Fiji... And in FJD, so it's not too bad.
Free Activities:
Free kayaks, paddle boards, there are 2 small catamaran you can book for an hour, snorkeling gear and the blow up water park for the kids. We recon it's just missing some wind surfers and it would be perfect. Tennis and Mini Golf are also free, but you need to book a day or two in advance. One small thing with the free water activities.... The grumpy man in the activities hut. Yes, he needs to police the gear, but even I felt intimidated occasionally. He has a sense of humor and enjoys playing with the kids when he can, but if you don't know that to start with, you can get the wrong impression. Management, whatever you do, don't give him a megaphone, he definitely doesn't need one!
Paid Activities:
We did a surf trip on a pretty crap day unfortunately.... Our really nice guide sy, didn't charge us for the full fare (one person didn't surf snd 2 people were only in the water for 20 mins), so that was great, as he could have charged us the full fare. $69 per person FJD
We also went scuba diving with Dan. He was the best instructor and helped my daughter to overcome some fairly strong hesitations! Well worth it! $295 per person FJD for a learner experience. Learnt on the beach and we were able to dive in 10 meters (restricted by the age of our kids).
We also did the Shell Village trip, which we do every time. This is totally well worth it. The welcome and kava ceremony is beautiful, you can get lots from the stalls (bracelets, sarongs etc) and a visit to the school is very memorable. Take cash! Lots of small notes to buy things and larger notes to donate and help the village get back on its feet after the cyclone. $29 per person.
The people:
The people that made me cringe were the loud, self important, impatient tourists, who stick out like a flashing neon sign. Fijians are quiet, have a great sense of humor and love to smile. So chill out, slow down and appreciate that these beautiful people work hard every day to please you.
While standing in the breakfast Buffett one day, a Fijian lady asked if I had been there before and if I had a daughter.... Elenoa!! She remembered us from 5 years ago! We met her when we were walking through the resort and we asked her about the flower she had in her hair. She immediately took it out and gave it to my daughter (then 9 years old). She would then greet us every day and even took us on a walk around the island on her day off. She is the nicest lady and absolutely made our holiday 5 years ago. We were so excited to see her again and again, she made our holiday that much more special.

Hope you enjoyed this long novel... The reason this is so long is that I am writing it in my notes on my phone during my flight because Fiji Airways has no screens in the back of the seats... Drop down movies on tiny screens.... Alvin and the Chipmunks did not appeal!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
10  Thank AllySummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Bula Ally

Thank you for the comprehensive observations and feedback, the time taken to do so really is appreciated especially directly into a phone! I know what you mean about the flight....

We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Vinaka


Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Seeking a tropical paradise for the family to relax and have fun together we discovered Plantation Island. It's a good 3 star resort in an ideal island location. Offering water sports in beautiful water crystal clear. Take a bike ride, snorkel, tennis, putt putt golf or simply do nothing while enjoying an iced mocha. The island does not have tv and you don't miss it. Evening entertainment is provided or play card games with your family or even a game of table tennis. Its a great place to disengage from the outside world, recharge and have fun with your family. Thank you Plantation Island staff.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Bula Andrew, san donu (you're welcome)...

Its terrific that you and the family enjoyed your time, here and together!


Hope to see you back soon.

Vinaka

Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

After reading a lot of reviews on here I was a bit concerned, but from the minute we stepped off the Malolo Cat we realised we were in paradise. We travelled with 2 children (9 & 7 years) myself, husband and an older couple who are our friends from Sydney.. We stayed in a Studio garden bure. Our rooms were side-by-side which was great.. Room was cleaned daily and was just perfect for the four of us. We hired Bula Bikes which was a fantastic way to get around and explore the island. We loved the snorkelling, stand up paddle boards and kayaks which were all free. We played mini golf, tennis and hubby played 2 rounds of gold on the golf course. Breakfast and lunch were included in our package... Food was good and plentiful. We didn't eat at Black Coral or Ananda's. We bought fresh bread rolls for lunch from Ananda's each day and had sandwiches for lunch which was fine. Kids loved the kids pool with the slide.. Bua and Moses were great at the Cocohut where we bought our daily milk shakes and smoothies.. Joape in food and bev was awesome and looked after us really well. Some hints, take your own snorkelling gear as the hired ones can be taken early in the day. Take pegs to hang out your wet clothes on the clothes lines provided out front of the bures. Anananda's supermarket has quite a lot to choose from and was the best priced place to buy beer. Loved the nightly entertainment and also the activities during the day ie kava ceremony basket weaving. Lots to do or you can choose to do nothing and just relax and read, snooze or swim and snorkelt.. Overall it was such a relaxing holiday and it went over and beyond our expectations, so vinaka to all the staff at PIR who made our stay a memorable one..Yes it's a 3 star resort but definitely in a 5 star location!! We will be back :)

Room Tip: We had the studio garden bure which had a view of the ocean which was lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Bula Katie

We are so happy that you decided to come, and that the two families enjoyed our resort and had a good time. The vast majority of our reviews are positive, and we thank our team for that...

Looking forward to welcoming you all back!

Vinaka

Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

The good: friendly staffs, a lot of things to do in the resorts such as snorkeling, kayaking, swimming in the sea or the pool, bicycling and the culture activities. A very beautiful island, very clear water with a lot of tropical fishes! Live music while dining. Food and things were reasonably priced given most of the things were transferred via ferry.

The bad:
I only found out I needed to paid FJD80 to get to the island one way via Malolo cat ferry after finishing the booking and then receiving the further information via email. This extra fee would blow some people's budget. Just watch out.

Missing duvet cover/blanket when we arrived the first day, and we thought that's what we can get, it turned out a thin blanket was missing, we only found out that after we asked to change duvet. So it was quite code at night because the air conditioner could not be turned off. In the end we got cold in the hot place :(.

The sheet was not very clean, we found an insert dead body there and some marks of the sheets.

Restaurant waiters/waitress sometimes forgot about you when it's busy time (Fiji time?) or because you just asked for water not a paid drink.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Bula Carol

Thank you for the review, and feedback. we are very pleased that you enjoyed so much and found our team friendly...

The AC is individually controlled and remote controls located on the wall bracket I each room, and because of our year round climate beds are made just with sheets and runners - blankets on demand.

Hope you can return one day


Vinaka

Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews