We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
55
79
27
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
79
27
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river walking distance jonker walk river view suite heritage district jacuzzi bathtub superior king antique furniture rooms are nicely decorated an executive suite koi pond excellent place to stay classic hotel breakfast and dinner very nice hotel hot water jalan bunga raya
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

1. Not Hospitable. 2. No extra key card. 3. Got cheated, room with window bloody opens up to a dirty broken brick wall. 4. Registration refused to give us Manager's name like it's some big secret. 5. Disappointed coz Malacca is such a beautiful city

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
8  Thank mistyqbleuC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1825GalleryHotel, Manager at 1825 Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you for choosing our hotel!
You had checked in to our hotel but unfortunately we are unable to meet your requirements so this may lead you felt disappointing. You're unsatisfied in 10 minutes time after checking in to the room. We had tried to fulfill your request by providing free upgrade to other room, but regrettably you refuses to take this offer. We worked hard to meet your requirements, but not to your satisfactions. You have been dissatisfied until we have no way to deal with it. With no choice, we had seek for assist from policeman to deal with and coordinate. Hotel will treat your valuable feedback strictly to enhance and strengthen our hospitality skills to serve you better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

If you're coming from Europe, you'll find this boutique hotel good value. However, I booked through booking.com and did not realise that this attracts a 10% service charge when checking in.

The two greatest advantages of this hotel are its central locatiion (good for those who need to get back to freshen up) and the fact it overlooks the river. The Rainforest Café at the back on the river is delightful in the evening (spray yourself with deet in any leafy location in Asia!).

You don't need to have breakfast in the hotel as you can get a good "roti canai" just across the road (two options). Yes, the carpet needs a good hoover, but the shower is very good (rain shower and wall shower).

This is a boutique hotel, not a five star hotel. If you need something, such as your room cleaning by a certain time, then you can simply tell the front desk. They are willing to listen and happy to help.

Believe me, there is plenty of backpacker accommodation in Melaka and not all of it central. 1825 Gallery Hotel is for flashpackers.

Room tip: room with no window are best value
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dubaijournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Checked into 1825 Gallery Hotel on the 4th day of Hari Raya. Upon arrival, there's a parking in front of the hotel allocated for quick drop off / check in.

Checking in was a breeze, the staff was very warm and helpful. The interior is simply lovely, with structure and furniture dating back to hundreds years old Asia combined with modern design. There's a parking area for hotel guests about 100 meters from the hotel, so once checked in, we parked our car there and walked back to the hotel to rest for a bit.

We stayed in the Riverview Suite, with a balcony overlooking the Sungai Melaka. Simply breathtaking. The room and bathroom was very spacious,very comfortable. Bathtub had a jacuzzi action going on, handy for a quick stress relief rest.

We found that the hotel was very close to everything - there are a couple of convenience stores downstairs, a quaint antique-themed cafe next to the hotel, and Jonker Street, the heritage district and The Shore were all in 5-12 minutes walking distance. What The Shore you ask? Its a mall where you can visit The Oceanarium, The Sky Tower (a rooftop chillout area overlooking the Malacca city), a 3D interactive park and a toy museum- all the fun packed family things to do.

Then take a short 5 minute walk down the road to the riverside to chill at one of the bars or restaurants for a drink or a bite to eat.

All in all, we had an awesome time at the 1825 Gallery Hotel. Thanks, we'll be back!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esmi2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Perfect stay as it is located right at Jonker Walk area. Cozy, friendly front office and room is clean and comfortable. Stayed 2 nights with my family and everyone enjoyed. Will definitely return to stay again in near future.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Myke28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

a beautiful decorative for both interior and exterior design.

the room was so spacious and comfortable. especially the good initiative spacing utilization design of bathroom.

the staff was so kind ,hospitality and supportive mind.

the location was so great, only few foot steps to reach Malacca ancient town.

there was some local minimart available as well.

the indian food shop near hotel was so impressive, the tasty indian curry served with rice on banana leaf and enjoy it by bare hand, that's so wonderful impressive experience.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Huang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews