We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
180
114
26
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
114
26
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foosball table infused water jonker walk swimming pool dutch graveyard palace museum beautiful garden view special design floor to ceiling windows deluxe king loved our stay simple breakfast frosted glass friendly receptionist free flow walking distance boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

First impression, the hotel is smaller than expected. Luckily it was comfy with extra comfy beddings and pillows. Quite generous too with the pillows and bolster.

We stayed in the deluxe family room so it was reasonably spacious. Room was also spotless and sufficient amenities - towels, toiletries

Location was great. Walking distance to all you need to be in Melaka - Jonker, the malls, numerous historical sites. Didn’t have problem with the parking , although limited, you can also park the car on the road side of the main roads. However traffic in the area is horrendous. You can get stuck driving in or out of the area.

Breakfast was a very simple affair. Fried rice , chicken nuggets, mee hoon soup and the usual sliced white breads and cereals. It would have been good if they can serve proper coffee rather than the sachets. Maybe invest in a good coffee machine?

All in all a good stay. Not the cheapest for sure but they made up for it with the comfy beds.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIZAHK4, assistant manager at The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Dear Alisa A ,

We truly appreciate hearing from our valued guests and to be allowed the opportunity to be a part of your holiday at our centrally located hotel. The concerns highlighted in your feedback will be looked at immediately with the intention to improve further. Looking forward to welcome you next and remember, life is filled with #solovethefeeling moments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Great touch from the Rucksack team to upgrade us with the room that was nicely decorated. Thank you so much!

Breakfast was normal and simple, less choices during non peak period. Limited parking spots, especially during holidays, however there’s parking area across the street, charged us RM15 for overnight, without person in charge around on the 2nd day we went there..

Easy access to tourist spots in walking distance. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank meowsyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIZAHK4, assistant manager at The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Dear moewsyt,


Thank you for choosing The Rucksack Caratel as the hotel of choice for your recent stay in Melaka and I appreciate that you took the time to provide us with this feedback on TripAdvisor.The concerns highlighted in your feedback will be looked at immediately with the intention to improve further. We are looking forward for a positive change and we hope that you will give us a chance to WOW you completely the next time round! No sighs, just all smiles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Overall experience wasperfect. Room is very comfortable, modern and clean. Amenities were prepared well which needless to worry. Breakfast was simple but great with the very basic selection which is totally satisfied enough for us. There also provided a outdoor pool with several benches and hammocks if you planning to chill at outdoor. Pool towels can be found at a storage for self-service. However, there are very limited car parks (Less than 10 slots) available near to the Hotel so please take note about it. Location is just 5-10mins walk away to/from the Jonker Street, however the hotel is located at the deep in the street, so it might be a bit creepy to walk at night along the alley especially for female traveller. Overall, it was still a comfortable and satisfactory stay in this Hotel.

Room tip: With the garden view
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kentwongbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIZAHK4, assistant manager at The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Dear Chee Khan W,

Thank you for choosing The Rucksack Caratel as the hotel of choice for your recent stay and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel. We truly appreciate hearing from our valued guests and to be allowed the opportunity to be a part of your holiday at our centrally located hotel. The concerns highlighted in your feedback will be looked at immediately with the intention to improve further. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for giving us a chance to WOW you completely the next time round! No sighs, just all smiles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

I've stayed in all sorts - budget, as well as high end and I, get that this is not a 5 star hotel and thus should not be judged as such, so let's break it down compared to other 3 star hotels.

Bad
- what is up with the sink being SO close to the bed, I pushed the bed against the wall and its still less 30cm away, I had to be extra careful not to splash water on the bed while rinsing out my toothbrush! And then I think about all the people who don't care and how wet this bed has gotten, shudder!!!
- what's up with the unfriendly posters up all over the front desk and lift. There are friendlier ways to tell people to not smoke in the room and also to not overstay their welcome. Extra large fonts about how much you'll be fined is just kinda rude and whatever it is you only have the 100MR deposit so what's the point? Anyway, not so great first impression.
- the extra dim shower area, why?
- When we got to the room the glass cups were obviously not washed, they had white residue in ALL 4 glasses. And when we had housekeeping come in the next day, no one bothered to clean those 4 glasses and neither did they bother with the 2 cups of tea we used and left in the sink cos we were in a hurry... yeah housekeeping was pretty much rubbish
- the horrible breakfast, seriously do not waste your calories

Good
- we got the deluxe family and liked the extra queen bed for the kids, liked that they weren't stingy with the pillows and there were blosters
- close enough to Jonker
- nice shower gel

It's like I really wanted to like this place so that we could keep coming back but that sink paired with the lack of housekeeping freaks me out, such a waste.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank ze_succubus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIZAH K, assistant manager at The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear ze_succubus,

I am so sorry that your recent stay fell short of your expectations. Thank you for sharing your genuine feedback with us. The Rucksack culture is all about creating #solovethefeeling moments for our guests and we are disappointed too that you did not experience this during your stay.
The points you raised on our Family Deluxe room are well received. Our specialty lodging is in fact different from other regular hotels and we believe in comfort, convenience and fun for all our guests. Our rooms have been mindfully designed to optimize space and comfort for every guest and we do have rooms that are of different layout which do not have the basin by the bed. With regards the cups, we have informed our housekeeping team to be more vigilant as we take pride in maintaining overall cleanliness for our guests to enjoy. We will do our utmost best to ensure that such situation does not repeat itself. The majority of guest requests favor a non-smoking hotel environment. The only way to provide this experience is to not allow smoking within the building. Therefore, we have applied this preference throughout our hotels. We have taken note on your feedback on our breakfast. Rest assured as we are continuously seeking to improve our breakfast menu to introduce a more local experience for all our guests to try.


It is our ultimate goal here at The Rucksack Caratel to take care of our guests' needs and to ensure that our guests have a memorable as well as comfortable stay each and every time. Once again, thank you so much for taking time to share your stay experience with us; we will take all feedbacks constructively and we sincerely hope that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time when you’re in Melaka to see the difference and improvements that we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Read a lot of good reviews about this place before finally decided to give it a try. We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist and soon were directed to our room. I must say it is really suitable for small family of three that stay in their one queen size bedroom, both me, my husband and my little girl aged 19 months old. The first room given to us was situated at the corner, we were blessed with the L shape window view but soon regretted as the room was heaty, especially in the afternoon. Anyway, we went out for the whole day and only came back in the evening so it wasn't that bad, but on the second day, we reached back to hotel around 5pm and the room was as hot as oven, even with the air conditioning on. We went to the reception and asked for a room changed, though there was a couple of guess arrival, but we were impressed with the quick action taken by the front desk in changing our room. We were pretty happy with the second room,though it was just one side of window, but the garden view was pleasant enough to make us happy. We were happy with the services after all and glad to be greeted every time we went out or came back by the receptionist. Will I come back to this hotel in the future? I asked myself, I would say yes as its location is ideal, so near to Jonker Street and of course, this is a simple hotel yet, with a friendly receptionist, I guess it kind of upgrade the overall hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank giraffe267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIZAH K, assistant manager at The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear giraffe267,

Thank you so much for sharing your dazzling review! Our team will be ecstatic to hear all about your kind feedback. It is wonderful to know that you had a memorable time here with us at The Rucksack Caratel! I am thrilled that our team have made the effort of showing personalised gestures that have lighten up your stay with us and I will certainly share your positive comments with the team which means a lot in continuing the drive to deliver service excellence to all our guests. Be sure to follow us on Facebook @therucksackcaratelgardenwing and Instagram @therucksackgroup to check out whats brewing next! We look forward to welcome you back and have a delightful time traveling the globe! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews