We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,008)
Filter reviews
2,008 results
Traveller rating
803
863
251
61
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
803
863
251
61
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews straits view kids suite tea tree spa the executive lounge busy road sea view room infinity pool shuttle service shuttle bus jonker street club room mahkota parade high floor nice pool shopping mall booked rooms buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,008 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We checked in at the Holiday Inn Melaka on the 28 September and stayed 3 nights. Front desk staff were extremely helpful in assisting us. It was our first time visit to Melaka and we had to get their help more often. They were always polite and ready to explain in detail the directions to places we were interested in visiting.

The room was specious with all amenities provided. Breakfast was sufficient. Good price for a 4* hotel.
Overall a pleasant stay!

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Happytraveller201156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

This was our first time staying at a Holiday Inn and our first stop on our Malaysia trip. I have to say that overall we were very pleased with the hotel and its staff.

Location

While not located in the historic part of Melaka, the Holiday Inn is quite well situated for access to the river and is a short (15 minute) walk from Jonker Street. Nearby are a couple of shopping malls which are convenient if you are after a quick bite without going to the effort of going into town.

The hotel can feel quite isolated as it fronts a busy road, but it is trivial to turn left from in front of the hotel and pass under the road bridge. Continuing straight on will eventually get you to the riverfront.

Rooms

We stayed in a family room and it was very pleasant. The children’s bunks were separated by a wall and a curtain and the provision of some children’s toiletries and colouring in materials was very thoughtful. The room was quite spacious with plenty of space to unpack, although there wasn’t space to stow the luggage easily. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom acceptable. The shower was, unfortunately over the bath and a separate shower/bath would have been better.

The room was spotlessly clean.

Amenities

The hotel is well appointed and the gym quite acceptable. The swimming pool is very nice and the water beautifully warm.

Food

We ate only breakfast in the hotel and it was very nice. It was not wildly extravagant, but the variety and quality were of a good standard. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Staff

All staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. They were extremely professional and prompt.

Other

A couple of other reviewers have noted issues with hot water and noise. I can confirm that the hot water can take a very long time to flow through we waited up to 10 minutes one afternoon for it to run hot. However, in the morning it was quite quick.

We were on the 12th floor and at night could hear the occasional noisy scooter or motorbike. I can see how it might keep a light sleeper awake. On one occasion I did hear the thud of bass late at night. It may have been the night club, but from the front of the hotel it was very faint.

Overall

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again. A large chain hotel might lack something in personality, but the quality shows in the training of the staff, the quality of the facilities and the confidence you have in the service.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank AndrewU_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Good hotel with decent location near the city centre. Good breakfast spread and rooms were comfortable. Staff was friendly as well. Crossing to the Mahkota Parade area is a little bit of a hassle, but still manageable. Overall, pros outweigh the cons for this hotel, which still remains within walking distance of most places.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank wheeoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

There are more positives than negatives at this hotel for sure.

I will go into detail about the negatives..

The Bad;

Location. This can be subjective so I would say this really depends on the individual...but for my wife and I, it was a little bit troublesome getting around as we almost always had to call for Grab... Shuttle bus service is provided but it is only good if you meet the timings otherwise you will end up on your own. Also, if you intend to walk anywhere, it will be a long walk to anywhere other than Makota Mall. Speaking of which, the hotel might be just behind Makota Mall but getting there means walking past a very busy street with cars going at high speed and your view might be obstructed by bushes... It is dangerous. To be completely safe, you have to walk a long way to the traffic light to cross - although everyone I saw simply went the way I was going.

The next negative would be the club blasting music all night with the base so strong you can hear it clearly despite being quite high up. This will affect ALL seaview units.

Those are really the only downsides.

The positives are quite a few~

The staff are all polite and kind, the lounge is reasonably priced with good music, the breakfast is good for the price, the bed is comfortable and the hotel is in generally well kept and clean.

I see a lot of families at this hotel as it gives off the resort vibe. Probably it is more suitable for families with children?

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jonahmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

I stayed for one week. It was comfortable. We can enjoy lots of food such as Western, Japanese, Malaysian, Vegetarians, etc. as breakfast. You can enjoy music live in the hotel at night. You can buy drinks and snack at mini shop, but be careful, business hours is short.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Coastal807996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews