We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
15
73
63
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
73
63
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews popiah jonker street famous food star hotel full house shower curtain room was spacious attractions jam walkable
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Booked into this on a tour. The foyer of the hotel id beautiful, with granite and two chandliers, smelling of rose perfume and with three fountains (that have splashed on the floor for quite some time and now have ruined the granite around it). This luxurious outside does not extend to its rooms. Hard beds, air con supplied but is like a fan, showers work but are cold or at best luke-warm. The shower curtain was quite mouldy; I can only imagine what the inside of the aircon looks like. On a main road and there is a 7-eleven across from it. 10minutes walk to one of the main attractions, the Stadhuys Museum, and about 15 mins walk to the Jodker Street night markets. Breakfast was cold, but I suppose they tried to supply what Westerners might eat? (Maybe Americans, as I stuck to toast and fruit) - sausages, wedges, french fries, bananas and watermelon. Good enough for a 3 star hotel.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank breathe-thetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is old.. the sink is mouldy but the shower and aircond are okay. Bed can be better. As the hotel is old im guessing the facilities are all from years ago eg the bed and carpet.

We got a room on first floor to which there is no elevator access. So if youre planning to stay here make sure to specify a room on other than first floor if you have trouble taking stairs. With luggage and small child the stairs are a burden for us during the trip.

Location wise its near jonker street. The roads in front of the hotel is usually very jam. Parking is free so thats a plus point. They take rm50 deposit and rm2 charge on some tourism fee.

The only advantage is sometimes via agoda you can book the room at a really cheap rate.. i booked at around rm90++ . I wont stay here if the rate is more expensive that than. Might as well look at newer hotel.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank CookieZ19855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Disappointed with front desk staff when my last visit on Dec 2017, check-in & check-out was very slow, only one staff are standby to serve you at front desk. Overall, room was clean & clear, comfort and large for family room. Walking around 5 min to night market at joker street. Parking lots are limited.

Room tip: Family room are large
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeterN1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Able to change room when we got the smoking room late at night even though it is full house. Good location if you like to walk as it is only 7mins walk to famous Jonker street. Next to hotel you will find few famous food including Non-halal popiah. Only bad thing is i can hear voices easily outside my room.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EricHTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Hotel is in a decent location. Rooms were clean but dated with dark colours. On Friday breakfast was late 8.30 to 9.30, we missed it as most hotels finish at 10am. Staff were unhelpful and did not care. There was no attempt to make coffee for us and there is no room service.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sibel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews