We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas short trip”
Review of Grand City Hotel

Grand City Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand City Hotel
Ranked #59 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

We book a 2 nights stay via expedia in this hotel. Friendly staff but the check in was a little long as rooms are fully book thru the hotel reception from our understanding but still they have to cough out a room for us as we have already paid. Fortunately , she managed to squeeze 1 room for us . Those who came later then us and book via other "online booking " centre was turn down because they didn't pay first and reserve doesn't confirm they will get a room especially festive season. So we check in the room, bed and toilet is clean and new Aircon and water heater and TV with few international channels
as well. Only setback was no Windows in the room and we tell the hotel reception that our initial booking was Superior King room. We slept for a night and the next morning we get a swoop to the superior king room. Pretty much the same except the toilet has a bigger space and king size bed with window view at last. Overall house keeping was good , hotel location is far from city unless you have transportation.And it has car parks for hotel guest . Across the road is the famous tan Kim hock malacca local produce food stuff. And directly across the hotel there is a macik stall selling nasi lemak and other Malay food. The food is tasty and not expensive , recommeded to give a try for breakfast. Love the sambal mix with nasi lemak was good to give a "Shiok" ah...

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Isaac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We booked our rooms via Agoda at $30/nt for 3 pax. When we arrived at the hotel, the Male front desk and housekeeping readily attended to our needs. Our stay was only for 2 nights at room 313. The wi-fi is good. They also provide clean towels, bottled waters, electric kettle, coffee, and tea. There are also water refilling stations per floor and they are all free. The rooms are very clean. Thumbs up for the house keeping. The Jonker road is 10 mins away via car/taxi or 25 mins if walking. The Melaka sentral terminal is 13 mins away via taxi. For the walk-in room rates, please see the attached photo. I would recommend this hotel for travellers!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Trixie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

It's clean, and comfortable to stay. Staff (reception) are friendly, wifi signal is strong, venue is quiet, about 3-4km away from Jonker Street but not an issue to traveler who drive, the stay totally worth for the money i paid.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simplyiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

I'll start with the major downside of this place, it's unfortunately not in a great location. Walking down to the old part of town takes a good 25 minutes at least, maybe even a bit longer. I didn't mind the location because it's close to Bernie's Pub which I would have never visited if I was staying closer to Jonker street. It's pretty close to the main mall with a movie theatre (a god send during the hottest parts of the day) so in the end not really a terrible location, all the more so because it's nice and quiet.

The positives:

Very comfortable bed and pillows.

Nice big window

Excellent shower pressure (though I'd suggest turning up the temp a bit to allow for shaving, had to boil water)

Complimentary water and better yet, a water dispenser in the hallway serving both cold and hot water.

Quick and efficient service.

Overall, I had a great stay.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank TorontoJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We stayed three times in the span of six weeks and each time our stay was good.

Big comfy bed, cool air-conditioning and working toilet/shower with space to move.

Lift newly installed which is another plus.

However, poor Wi-Fi connection in the room. Local tv and some satellite channels.

Staff knowledgeable and accommodating when I requested an extra pillow and a towel (chargeable at RM5).

There is a convenience store right opposite the hotel which opens till late.

Directly opposite hotel is stall that has superb nasi lemak bungkus from 5.30 in the evening plus other cook-to-order Malay/Thai dishes. In the morning a different vendor sells breakfast and drinks.

Free parking outside hotel.

15-20 brisk walk to Chinatown/Jonker Walk.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Aida Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.5 km away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#66 of 168 in Melaka
19 reviews
1.8 km away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#37 of 168 in Melaka
68 reviews
2.8 km away
Sun Inns Hotel Laksamana
Sun Inns Hotel Laksamana
#87 of 168 in Melaka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Coastal Park Hotel
Coastal Park Hotel
#49 of 168 in Melaka
7 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Ninety Six (906)
Hotel Ninety Six (906)
#88 of 168 in Melaka
34 reviews
1.9 km away
Venus Boutique Hotel
Venus Boutique Hotel
#65 of 168 in Melaka
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand City Hotel

Address: Grand City Hotel 172 Jalan Laksamana Cheng Ho, Melaka 75000, Malaysia (Formerly Grand Southern Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: €14 - €31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Grand City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing