We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but otherwise disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We had booked two rooms for a quick visit to Melaka as the hotel has carparking. The rooms were on the second floor up narrow stairs which were a struggle for my travelling companion who has had a heart bypass. The rooms were adequate although I would have liked a bedside lamp in my room (203) and toilet paper in the bathroom. Room 201 in which my friend was staying faced Jonker Street which was very noisy until 10.30 pm on a Friday due to entertainment on the street. Avoid rooms facing Jonker Street.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms, avoid bringing heavy luggage, avoid facing Jonker Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank glaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan C, Marketing Manager at Jonker Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear glaird,

Thank you for staying with us! We're sorry that we did not make it known to you that our hotel did not have a lift at first. Had we known about your friend's condition, we would have recommended you stay at our sister hotel, Jetty Suites Apartments, which has both lifts and private car parks as well. We've taken note on your feedback regarding having a bed side lamp. We hope you'll give us another chance in future to show you a better experience. Until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

Arrive slightly than expected, was able to check in around 1pm.

The hotel has its own car park at the back, open air and the gate will be close during the night. So if you planing to drive out or drive back during the night past midnight, make sure the hotel knows.

Was very impress with the cleanliness of the room, nice job! The bathroom have all the basic amenities and even a bath tub even tough we are taking the smallest room, great! Air-corn, fan, lightings are in great conditions as well! Plus point is the room have many power outlet.

Free Wi-Fi internet is provided but dont expect it to be on lightning speed, since we are here for a holiday, not a major issue.

The hotel only have 2 floors of room and no lift. Meaning you will have to walk up the slightly narrow stairs and carry your luggage during check in and walk down with the luggage during check out, so best is to travel light. Btw the reception lady will offer to help with the bags, nice gesture by them!

I notice the hotel will lock its main door and car park gate around midnight until 6.30am in the morning, so if you need to go out or come back, just press the bell. There is a guard by the reception counter, saw him sleeping there.

There is a twenty four hour convenience store across the hotel, so if you need anything its very convenient.

Just take note if you are driving or talking public transport you will not be able to drive in the main road to the hotel or hotel parking after the night market starts which is around 5pm until slightly past midnight.

There is a singing competition thing in front the hotel from 5pm until like 11pm, if you want more peace you can ask for a room that is facing the back which is the hotel car park. After we close our room door, its all quite.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kinna084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan C, Marketing Manager at Jonker Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Hi Kinna084,

Thank you for staying with us! We're glad you had fun over your stay. We hope you had your luggage brought upstairs and down by a member of our staff during your stay. If not, we apologize for the oversight. Carrying luggage up and down is part of our basic complimentary services and is done for all Guests. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Awesome stay with clean and spacious room and not forget to the friendly receptionists! Parking available just right behind the hotel and no worry about safety and finding parking around this area.. Jonker night market just outside the hotel and such convenient to hunt for foods and exploring the market!
Reading the negative feedback about how noisy of the singing competition outside the hotel but this is not a problem for us .. we return to hotel around 10pm and actually not noisy as what the feedback provided.. perhaps we not open the windows:))) the singing competition was stop around 1030pm..
The next morning we having breakfast at the Jonker cafe and again the lady serving us is very friendly (forgot to ask the name).. we ordered toasted bread and nasi lemak and my husband request to refilled the sambal where we can said that sambal is aromatic and nice and hard to find the same taste in KL :))
Overall, we definitely will return again and thanks everyone there for the warm hospitality :))

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mikii_fm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan C, Marketing Manager at Jonker Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Mikii,

Thanks for staying with us and your warm comments! We're glad we were able to show you a standard of hospitality you thought was great. We'll be sure to let Auntie know about your comment! Do remember to claim your Returning Guest Discount of 10% by booking directly via email, phone or our website the next time you're with us! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We spent one night stay in this hotel as it has deluxe family room available for my family of four. Room is big with clean bathroom.

Open air private car park is right at the back of hotel and it is free to hotel guests. From hotel, walking around Jonker street for shopping for foods and to nearby attraction is not a problem at all.



Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank MercuryP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Hotel is located at a good location (jonker street), and a walkable distance to most attractions. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and they kindly gave us a map of the area. Wifi is provided but a little slow though, but it's fine. Hotel room and toilet is clean and comfortable. A very good option for the price paid! I don't know of any lift in the hotel that goes up to the room and you have to climb the stairs up (max 2 levels I think), but it wasn't a hassle for my friends and I anyways.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ruiqi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan C, Marketing Manager at Jonker Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Ruiqi,

Thank you for staying with us, and for your five star review! We're glad your stay to be pleasant and everything to be in order. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
2.9 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,538 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 169 in Melaka
1,255 reviews
0.8 km away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#4 of 169 in Melaka
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: €39 - €81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing