We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Boutique at its best"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Many rundown small hole-in-the-wall hotels call themselves ‘boutique’ but do not deserve the title. Fortunately, the Jonker Boutique Hotel is not one of them. My friend and I stayed there in Room 105 for three nights and was impressed. Our air-conditioned double queen room on the 1st floor was spacious and well-equipped. Large LSD screen, coffee/tea facilities, dining table with 4 chairs, telephone, polished teak floor, smoke detectors etc. The fully-tiled bathroom was exceptional – large European size soaking tub, separate shower cubicle, plenty of hot water, quality towels, western toilet. All the fittings in the bed and bath rooms appeared to be brand-new (they all worked) as they did throughout the entire hotel. Everything was well-maintained, freshly painted and extremely clean. An absolute credit to the new owners who obviously didn’t stint when renovating and refurbishing the hotel from top to bottom.

Some TA reviewers here comment on the noise from the street. On our first night, a Sunday, there was public karaoke on the street outside the hotel. It was loud enough in the room to hear every word, but it stopped at about 10pm. Not a problem ! It didn’t start again until Thursday night. Again, not a problem. Therein lays a tip for travellers. It is only on Thursday & Sunday nights that Jonker St is closed to traffic and full of stalls - and the noise of karaoke.
On other nights, the traffic is so light that any noise is indiscernible. Jonker St is, after all, so narrow that the one-way traffic has to move along at walking pace, and there is little to attract traffic after 10 pm.

All in all, a clean modern well-equipped hotel that thoroughly deserves the title of ‘boutique hotel’ and which is staffed by the friendliest most hospitable and helpful people possibly in all Malaysia. Yes, I’d go again and recommend the JBH to my best friends.

PS – As anyone who has travelled thru Asia knows, mattresses are FIRM. The JBH is no exception. First timers and others thus inexperienced – please, no more complaints,

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Uncleron-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 585 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

the room is very charming with a huge bed, great bath tub, lots of windows and huge tv screen. free wifi works like a charm and the room is cleaned daily without fail. really enjoyed my stay there and recommend this place whole heartedly. the staff are very helpful - particularly Ms Amy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nyx799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hotel is located on Jonkers Walk and is extremely convenient for the night markets. Would suggest asking for a room around the back to avoid the street noise. Staff provided excellent service and booked our transport etc with no fuss! The rooms are on the older side but facilities are all in working order. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haroldluntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Hotel is very near to POI like a famosa, cruiser, jonker street, food stall n many more. Cleanliness of the room n many things in order, imagine that counter call u that u may check in the hotel, on the air cond b4 u moving in, try to locate u when u lost in the Melaka street, even a hotel staff send my son to a nearest clinic without asking for any pay n tips. Brilliant service keep it up.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanThamWangHock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were delighted with the room, which had pretty wallpaper, and a pretty comfy bed. It also had a window, which some hotel rooms lack. At first sight, the room looked a bit small, but after a while, it felt cozy. Loved the 'sunken' bathroom with its black and white tiles. I slept really well during our overnight stay and felt really comfortable in the room.

The lobby was a bit tired, and no one cared to bring us and our bags to our room. I expected a little more service; it was like we just went in and out of the hotel unnoticed. Staff need to be more welcoming.

I haven't tried the breakfast (or maybe there is no breakfast with the package). Anyhow, there wasn't much briefing when we checked in. So I guess I have to say that the staff just needs to be more attentive.

Location is excellent! Right by Jonker Walk and of course walkable from everything. It's really a stress-free walk home after a dinner or a night of drinks.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.5 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
669 reviews
1.3 km away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,525 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 169 in Melaka
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: €38 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing