We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Authentic Stay”
Review of Cyclamen Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cyclamen Cottage
Ranked #18 of 222 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2010

If you want clean, authentic with a heritage type of stay - come over to Cyclamen. Reservation and check in was so seamless that we didn't feel like it. Being Malaysians too, we felt as though taken to a time warp 50 years back with the type of antique (but well kept) furniture.

Rooms were clean and spacious, though two comments. If we could have more chairs in the room to lounge and laze, would be great. The pillows were not great, had a tough time sleeping. It was puffy.

Breakfast was always on time. Only thing, felt the spread wasn't that big or great. Suggest to get "real" sausages rather than the factory made ones. Buns could be served instead of sliced bread. Butter is always too hard when served. Coffee and tea was perfect! Nice addition was fruits and local delights!

You can't walk to town centre. A taxi would cost you RM15 (USD5) one way, or just 5 minutes drive if you have a car.

All in all, I'd be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terence7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

I stayed there for a couple of nights with 2 friends and we all loved to stay there.
The owners couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, it was really a pleasure to stay there and it's worth the taxi trip to the centre of Malacca (and it's only 15 RM).
The Cyclamen Cottage seems more like a little rural hotel than a hostel, and you can see that it was all "made with love". The decoration is really nice and the furniture, linen, pillows, etc are new. The breakfast was very good and they even give you fresh home-made local sweets!
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllyMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Back to visit Malacca after 60 years gap so welcomed the chance to stay in a lovely old building that predated my last visit. Welcome could not have been better. The owner came to Tampin to meet our train and waited one hour for its belated arrival! Took us all over Malacca to revisit places we knew and try to find our old house - we didn't - too many new developments. The old town was lovely with many interesting old buildings to visit. The food was excellent and our experience there was just what I was looking for, so much better than the huge high rise impersonal hotels that tour operators put forward for our trip. Would highly recommend (and have done already) this to anyone doing a trip round the Malaysian peninsula, along with our lovely L Residence in Singapore and Lakehouse in Cameron Highlands. Judy and Jeremy Keep

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keepstravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed at Cyclamen Cottage two nights and were fully satisfied with the beautiful room and friendly services. Although it is located a little far from the central Malacca town, taxies are easily available and we felt no inconvinience. The house is full of antique furniture and charming plants. In addition, there is a small museum of antiques in the same building open only to the guests of the Cottage. The owner of the Cottage Mr. Chris gave us detailed lecture of each display along with the history of Malacca. Stay at this Cottage add briliant colour to our memory of the trip. We highly recommend you to select this place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KNKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Very nice and cosy place. It was recommended by a friend we met in Melacca. The owners were very friendly and showed us around his own collection of antique. We learned a fair bit about nonya-baba culture. You could even rent a bike to ride around Melacca, which might be the fastest considering the traffic jam during holiday season.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LehChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
6 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
654 reviews
3.3 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
3.5 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,238 reviews
4 km away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
3.7 km away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#5 of 222 in Melaka
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyclamen Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyclamen Cottage

Address: 2884-C, Teck Chye Avenue | Limbongan, Melaka, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: €24 - €37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cyclamen Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cyclamen Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyclamen Cottage Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing