We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Blanca Guest House(Melaka)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
36
41
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
41
8
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I stayed there for a couple of nights with 2 friends and we all loved to stay there.
The owners couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, it was really a pleasure to stay there and it's worth the taxi trip to the centre of Malacca (and it's only 15 RM).
The Cyclamen Cottage seems more like a little rural hotel than a hostel, and you can see that it was all "made with love". The decoration is really nice and the furniture, linen, pillows, etc are new. The breakfast was very good and they even give you fresh home-made local sweets!
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllyMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Back to visit Malacca after 60 years gap so welcomed the chance to stay in a lovely old building that predated my last visit. Welcome could not have been better. The owner came to Tampin to meet our train and waited one hour for its belated arrival! Took us all over Malacca to revisit places we knew and try to find our old house - we didn't - too many new developments. The old town was lovely with many interesting old buildings to visit. The food was excellent and our experience there was just what I was looking for, so much better than the huge high rise impersonal hotels that tour operators put forward for our trip. Would highly recommend (and have done already) this to anyone doing a trip round the Malaysian peninsula, along with our lovely L Residence in Singapore and Lakehouse in Cameron Highlands. Judy and Jeremy Keep

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keepstravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed at Cyclamen Cottage two nights and were fully satisfied with the beautiful room and friendly services. Although it is located a little far from the central Malacca town, taxies are easily available and we felt no inconvinience. The house is full of antique furniture and charming plants. In addition, there is a small museum of antiques in the same building open only to the guests of the Cottage. The owner of the Cottage Mr. Chris gave us detailed lecture of each display along with the history of Malacca. Stay at this Cottage add briliant colour to our memory of the trip. We highly recommend you to select this place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KNKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Very nice and cosy place. It was recommended by a friend we met in Melacca. The owners were very friendly and showed us around his own collection of antique. We learned a fair bit about nonya-baba culture. You could even rent a bike to ride around Melacca, which might be the fastest considering the traffic jam during holiday season.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LehChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

As described,everything about this place works.From the moment you arrive till the day you leave the service,the accomodation and the food.

Firstly,making reservations was a breeze.Spoke to Cindy about our requirements and it was was handled most efficiently.Details was confirmed thru email and subsequent changes were replied most promptly.

Checking in was a quick and most informative affair.Wendy and Chris showed us around the place and made us felt at home from the get go.The room is painted white with timber flooring and the toilet/shower has a built in exhaust to channel the hot air ensuring a most pleasant experience.(Not sure if all the rooms has this feature).

Breakfast starts at 8am and finish at 10am.An air of being in your own place is best described here.Although i must say the spread is a tad bit too small for my liking,its at most adequate.

Everything works in this place,its clean and the people here very helpful.Highly recommeded if you want a different experience and a clean place to stay.(notice the emphasis on clean,this is something lacking in most hotels in malacca)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazarusone65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews