We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$73
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$51/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Blanca Guest House(Melaka)(Great Value!)
US$12
US$11
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$41
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$42
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
US$212
US$186
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
36
41
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
41
8
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We found the renovated older style of building and room and furniture to be quite beautiful. The hotel was lovely as expected and while getting into the tourist areas of Melaka took some walking or organizing a bus/taxi, it was worth it to be away from the hubub of Jonker Street (where many of the competing hotels are).

However, the service left us feeling as though we'd somehow inconvenienced the owners by our presence. Breakfast wasn't bad, but again there was some undue pressure regarding the timing of it, which made us feel that the priority was convenience for the staff rather than relaxation and enjoyment of a holiday for the paying guests.

Room Tip: Garden wing is a separate house just a 30 second walk down the street. Both are lovely. Garden wing is possibly a bit nicer and more spacious, but the original building is probably more authentically antique and definitely more convenient for breakfast.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kampalasean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

It's been a refreshing experience staying at this place. Be it the cleanliness, the warm nature of Ms Cyndy, the owner who amazingly connects with you the moment you strike a conversation with her, the old world feel of the ambience, I am sure anyone who is so used to the hustle bustle of city life would immediately fall in love with this place. I did :) And I am sure I wouldn't hesitate a moment to book this place if I ever visit Melaka again. Flip side: not too far away but still far away from the town, no decent eateries around. They do provide a decent breakfast. One thing is for sure, you wouldn't regret your choice :)

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Kandhasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Beautifully restored facility with historic roots. Run by a family, as a guest you are treated as if you are one of the family.

A 15 min walk from the downtown Jonker area, it is a peaceful oasis in Melaka,

The architecture and furnishings are a treasure trove of modern antiquity ..

A simply lovely place to stay

Room Tip: Try the new wing
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klinoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at the Cyclamen Cottage for 3 nights in Dec 2011. It was way way beyond my expectations. The property itself is a heritage one, with a beautiful layout and gorgoeous pieces of antique furniture. IN fact a lot of the furniture pieces we saw were actually similar to the ones displayed at the museum, only here we were actually using it. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. IN terms of cleanliness, hygiene and overall upkeep the place matches up to any 5 star hotel. The hosts are warm and lovely people. We spent a lot of time chatting with them. The breakfast spread is very good and wholesome, Special mention for the homemade kaya and steamed Malay sweets that one can never try in restaurants. They don't serve meals but there is a great hawker centre just across the road and we had a lot of meals there. It was cheap, clean and tasty. The only negative of the Cyclamen Cottage is the distance. Its quite far from the main attractiions and tourist areas of Malacca, which means you always need a taxi to go anywhere. But then this distance also makes this is a quiet and peaceful place. My little 2 yr old son loved the fishes in the little water pond and we loved watching it rain while sipping our coffee. If I ever go back to Malacca, this is where I will be staying. Thanks Wendy and Chris for an amazing holiday..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Preeti_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Couldn't recommend Cyclamen Cottage enough!
We had a month long trip - stayed in many beautiful places - but this is the one place that we truly bonded with!.
This gorgeous renovated malaccan bungalow keeps true to the malay shop-house tradition and you feel like you've stepped back in time.
Though a little removed from the heart of Jonker st it's only a 5 minute drive and is a welcome respite from the hubbub and business of Jonker.
Chris and Cindy went out of their way to make us welcome - and even went to lengths to find and send to us the beautiful artwork that we were admiring on the walls.
(Chris is an avid collector of vintage Peranakan furniture and wares and this quirky fascination and eye to detail permeates Cyclamen Cottage).
We had such a wonderful time lounging around the gorgeous pond in the centre of the house.
The Cottage is clean, cool, peaceful and comfortable and every request is met with a smile.
The rooms were well sized and the Cottage is located right in front of THE BEST Hawker stall that we've ever been to (the Formosa hawker center).

Breakfast was delicious and the homemade Kaya is highly recommended.
We can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: See if you can book a room in the newly renovated wing (Just a little up the road from the central building)
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews