We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of Cyclamen Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cyclamen Cottage
Ranked #18 of 222 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My Father and I really enjoyed our stay with Chris and Cindy. The colonial feel the building has is great, the breakfast was a lovely suprise each morning and the service was great. Chris was so keen to show my dad his amazing antiques collection and in general be helpful- a good host- thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank She_who_dreams_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

We found the renovated older style of building and room and furniture to be quite beautiful. The hotel was lovely as expected and while getting into the tourist areas of Melaka took some walking or organizing a bus/taxi, it was worth it to be away from the hubub of Jonker Street (where many of the competing hotels are).

However, the service left us feeling as though we'd somehow inconvenienced the owners by our presence. Breakfast wasn't bad, but again there was some undue pressure regarding the timing of it, which made us feel that the priority was convenience for the staff rather than relaxation and enjoyment of a holiday for the paying guests.

Room Tip: Garden wing is a separate house just a 30 second walk down the street. Both are lovely. Garden wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kampalasean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

It's been a refreshing experience staying at this place. Be it the cleanliness, the warm nature of Ms Cyndy, the owner who amazingly connects with you the moment you strike a conversation with her, the old world feel of the ambience, I am sure anyone who is so used to the hustle bustle of city life would immediately fall in love with this place. I did :) And I am sure I wouldn't hesitate a moment to book this place if I ever visit Melaka again. Flip side: not too far away but still far away from the town, no decent eateries around. They do provide a decent breakfast. One thing is for sure, you wouldn't regret your choice :)

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Kandhasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Beautifully restored facility with historic roots. Run by a family, as a guest you are treated as if you are one of the family.

A 15 min walk from the downtown Jonker area, it is a peaceful oasis in Melaka,

The architecture and furnishings are a treasure trove of modern antiquity ..

A simply lovely place to stay

Room Tip: Try the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klinoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at the Cyclamen Cottage for 3 nights in Dec 2011. It was way way beyond my expectations. The property itself is a heritage one, with a beautiful layout and gorgoeous pieces of antique furniture. IN fact a lot of the furniture pieces we saw were actually similar to the ones displayed at the museum, only here we were actually using it. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. IN terms of cleanliness, hygiene and overall upkeep the place matches up to any 5 star hotel. The hosts are warm and lovely people. We spent a lot of time chatting with them. The breakfast spread is very good and wholesome, Special mention for the homemade kaya and steamed Malay sweets that one can never try in restaurants. They don't serve meals but there is a great hawker centre just across the road and we had a lot of meals there. It was cheap, clean and tasty. The only negative of the Cyclamen Cottage is the distance. Its quite far from the main attractiions and tourist areas of Malacca, which means you always need a taxi to go anywhere. But then this distance also makes this is a quiet and peaceful place. My little 2 yr old son loved the fishes in the little water pond and we loved watching it rain while sipping our coffee. If I ever go back to Malacca, this is where I will be staying. Thanks Wendy and Chris for an amazing holiday..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Preeti_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
6 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
653 reviews
3.3 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
3.5 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,235 reviews
4 km away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
3.7 km away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#6 of 222 in Melaka
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyclamen Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyclamen Cottage

Address: 2884-C, Teck Chye Avenue | Limbongan, Melaka, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: €24 - €37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cyclamen Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cyclamen Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyclamen Cottage Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing