We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite place in Melaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River View Guest House
Ranked #16 of 222 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I'd recommend to everyone to go here at least once.Like me you won't forget the comfy bed,cakes, hospitality, view of river,great owners,Mani and Raymond, very funny staff (William and lovely little cleaner, by the way she's a great singer).The little balcony view of river is terrific and you're sure to catch sight of some monitor lizards in river. I'm only home a couple of weeks and miss it already!!! By the way William I hope you've recovered from the baby pidgeon who died in the shoe box, after all your efforts to save it's life. lol.I'll never miss a visit here any time I'm in that part of the world.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

This is a lovely hidden gem in Melaka. It's an old 2 story colonial style house directly by the river side. It's an old heritage building with a genius old air/con wall system which is using the walls to give moisture and cool air to the house. Nevertheless it has modern aircondition and fans in every room. The rooms are beautifully simple with old colonial style furniture and the terrace on the second floor is located by the river side with beautiful and romantic flair and views. Lot's of space, flowers and plants on the terrace to hang out days and night to meet others or simply to enjoy yourself. The house itself is beautiful decorated and quiet, I loved the old furniture and the precious old woodenfloor as well as the kitchen (with fridge and a huge wok!) and the book sharing shelf.
We also appreciated Williams advice for eating out, what to see and to do upon our arrival.
There were free wifi, filtered hot/cold water as well as free tea and coffee facilities all day and we got treated with deliciously home made cake every day. Last but not least the most pleasant experience was the staff and owner from river view. The lovely lady that takes care of the cleanliness in the house (and it was super clean there!) William, the good gost of the house, who is always up for a joke, would give you always advice, help you with everything you need and look after you and sweeten your stay with his careful manner. A true gentleman!
It doesn't matter if you prefer being in good company or rather enjoy staying on your own, staying at the guesthouse to relax all day or rather do sightseeing and stay there just for the night - it is the perfect place to be!
So go there and appreciate the charming history laden house and it's incredible staff and owner.
Thanks so much for everything!

Irmela(Irmala) & Oliver(Jay)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollirmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

If you don't stay here for clean airy rooms, or the quirky adorable staff, then stay here for the the freshly baked cake. It's the place to be.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urbanhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We had spent some nights in Singapore before coming here in several different hostels & were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Riverview. We were greeted by William with lychee lemonade & cookies (which we really want the recipe for) and shown around the building. The building is brilliant, full of character and clean. Our room was an excellent size & the even the 'single' beds were queen sized.
As soon as we saw the balcony overlooking the river, we went back and booked two extra nights!
William provided us with some excellent advice about places to eat & the local area and provided a map. The town itself was lovely & although clearly a tourist town, held onto its roots.
We loved it at Riverview and are planning to adapt our trip towards the end of the year to go back & spend a few more days there. It is perfect for relaxing, making local friends and feeling like you are welcome to help yourself to tea, coffee etc.
Absolutely A*, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicci_J83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

You will be hard-pressed to find this combination of comfort, hospitality, price and location during your travels. The River View Guesthouse sets the scene for a relaxing and enjoyable visit to Melaka. The beds are so comfortable, I want to ship one home! The Riverside location is perfect for relaxing during the day sipping coffee and reading, or at night enjoying a drink and a conversation with fellow guests, who all seem to be in a good mood.

The guesthouse is just a stone's throw away from all the tourist attractions and eateries. And if you want to escape the heat for the day, there's a sprawling shopping mall within walking distance. Energy to burn? Rent a bicycle, visit the gym (Home of Mr Melaka) or take a dip in the public swimming pool.

The River View Guesthouse is an expression of the charm of Melaka and it has kept me coming back. Whenever I am travelling around Singapore or Malaysia, I make a point to visit - I've already been there 4 times :-)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneToBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 km away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#20 of 168 in Melaka
103 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,238 reviews
0.4 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.3 km away
River Song Residence
River Song Residence
#32 of 222 in Melaka
102 reviews
0.1 km away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Guest House

Address: 94 & 96 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: €11 - €16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house offers accommodation in comfortable twin or double bedded rooms with fan and common bathrooms (hot & cold shower) for up to 14 guests. Towels are provided for guest use. Drinking water, coffee & tea is provided complimentary. The back deck terrace has a magnificent view of the Melaka River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River View Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing