We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy home for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River View Guest House
Ranked #16 of 222 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Its duplex design. master bedroom on upper floor is spacious. has cozy balcony over looking Melaka River. Beautiful at nite with lights and boats passing by. The river is alive with many fishes. Fun to feed them with bread.
Downstairs bedroom has 2 queen size beds. I think it fits 4 pax.
Homestay Location is ideal.
suitable only for young ppl. Not ideal for old ppl as it requires Walking up stairs.
We enjoyed our stay there as the facilities available were sufficient for a nite or 2 stay.
We intend to stay there again soon. Thumbs up

Room Tip: the family duplex is good, as there were 2 couples, It has balcony to rest and watch the river...so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubySong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at River View Guest House, but some of that is just how much we enjoyed Melaka. The town is wonderfully charming with a great weekend night market, cool colonial architecture, a relaxing river walk, and hilarious light-up trishaws. We cannot recommend visiting this town enough if you are in peninsular Malaysia.

Now to the guest house itself. The guesthouse is located in a "charming old" or "rundown" building depending on one's perspective. On the negative side we could never get the showers hot and the atmosphere of the place was a little vacant. However, we also had no complaints about our stay. The view from the common space balcony is great and the interactions we had with the staff were pleasant. The security seemed good to us, with a keycard lock on the front door. In summation the price and location are very good if you don't mind the old building and the quiet.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabriella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Positive: On the river and close to the walking path, decently located on a quiet street but still walkable to major attractions, kind staff.

Negative: Chipping paint and stains all over the walls, disorganized, kind but unhelpful and non-local staff (knowledge of area wasn't very good), cramped shower/toilet situation, and no complementary breakfast.

Clearly, this place has already seen it’s best days. It badly needs some repainting and updating overall. In our private room, the walls were covered in stains and chipping paint. Very unappealing.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

located in an old-style Nyonya home, this is a great hostel for seeing Melaka's historical architecture. the hostel itself and the bathrooms were clean. However, the hostel is not very well-staffed. There is one housekeeper who only speaks Malay and the owners hire other backpackers to staff the front desk, so they aren't the most knowledgeable about the area. Also, the power went out the morning I was supposed to leave and was not fixed until a few hours later. Despite that, I had a great time at River View Guesthouse and I would probably stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

situated in chinatown i spent one nightvi didnt book before i went there withvan italian who i met in the bus who booked there the guesthouse was cheap wifi nice common area convinient to meet people and share trip storied and experiences wood made i recomand

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank SAHNOUN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 km away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#20 of 168 in Melaka
103 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,235 reviews
0.4 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.3 km away
River Song Residence
River Song Residence
#46 of 222 in Melaka
101 reviews
0.1 km away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Guest House

Address: 94 & 96 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: €11 - €16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house offers accommodation in comfortable twin or double bedded rooms with fan and common bathrooms (hot & cold shower) for up to 14 guests. Towels are provided for guest use. Drinking water, coffee & tea is provided complimentary. The back deck terrace has a magnificent view of the Melaka River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River View Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing