We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent meals!!”

Oriental Thai-European Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 409 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
brighton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“excellent meals!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We ate here 3 out of 6 nights in Goa! Not only do they serve mouthwatering thai cuisine, but the steaks are just out of this world!! I have been visiting Goa for over 30 years now, and have never eaten a steak, always preferring to sample Goan cuisine. But breaking with that tradition this year, we were so pleasantly surprised! Will definitely return, and would recommend to anyone visiting this part of Goa!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jax_46Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    53
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“superb food at great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

you can eat for less in goa but you only get what you pay for where ever you are in the world, food was great as i had three starters and a main meal ,nice setting thank you ,would visit again for sure

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mizzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not as good as we thought”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

nice setting but food was a bit greasy good value and loads of choice but people walking in and out of hotel was also a little offputting

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank emma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry2244, Manager at Oriental Thai-European Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear Emma, thanks for the review. Unlike some other reviews who could not give full points this one is more specific. Please allow us one commend to the point about the “greasy food”. After 9 years in business we hear this the first time and we will start a research to find out which food could possibly be greasy. It may be also a very individual opinion - for some people a Mercedes Benz may be too fast and for others to slow? And yes it is right. We are attached to a 12 room hotel and sometimes guest may walk in and out of the hotel. There is a separate way for the hotel guests, but if you watch carefully you may notice the hotel guest walking in and out. The ambience at the Oriental is now for nearly all our old customer who followed us over the years to the various locations considered as one of the best we ever had, since there is plenty of space, nature, plants, floating candles and open fire in the pool along with other features. But of course, as all of our loyal customers know, our main focus and pride is the high standard of the kitchen. This in entirely in our hand and we do not have to compromise at that point. We agree as well about your remark for the rich choices and the good value. Special the last point is highlighted by the “Rough Guide” as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor n.i.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“best food in Goa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I have never tasted fillet steak with blue cheese sauce as nice as anywhere in the world and thats saying something. The ambience and setting of the restaurant is excellent and the staff so friendly and Eric the owner so welcoming. Give it a try and I guarantee you will return to it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maxflyBangorN_i_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Wow! What a treat! A must place to go. Don't use high heelers though because the street is a BIT bumpy (made of rocks). But when you get there, wow. Absolutely perfect service and the food is just great.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank DonVido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental Thai-European Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Thai-European Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing