We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nirvana Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nirvana Hermitage
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Anjuna
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at the Nirvana Heritage for two nights in February and loved this hotel. We were given a warm welcome and the room was spacious and clean with a big balcony. The sunbeds by the pool were comfortable and pool clean. The hotel is on top of a hill which gives good views and the market and beach are within walking distance although you are a couple of kilometres from the main village. We really enjoyed it here and found it very relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sticks333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    69
    29
    18
    23
See reviews for
47
74
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The location is very nice .... Close to German bakery which is like the best place for a breakfast.....Never had breakfast at the resort because we woke up post 10 and they serve breakfast only till 10am.If you're planning on a nice and quiet vacation ...I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

The hotel is in a secluded place... the road is very bad. The place is very shabbily maintained. It doesnt look like anything in the photographs. The rooms were stinking throughout the stay. The furniture was just OK. There was seepage in the washrooms and toilets were very dirty. The pool was dirty and din't feel like getting into it. The breakfast was horrible. Would not recommend anyone to book this hotel. There are other very nice hotels at far more cheaper rates in the nearby area but since we had already paid for the stay, we dint have a choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abhilasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anjuna hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I had booked this hotel through Agoda and paid very high rates for the room. On arriving at the hotel, we were informed by the Hotel staff that there was no booking in our
name/ or Agodas name.
There were no rooms available in the said hotel or in nearby areas, so
we put our luggage at our friends room. In the meanwhile, the owner of
the hotel called us "unethical/liars" for coming to the hotel without
reservation and threatened to call the police if we dont vacate the
hotel. He agreed to let us sleep on a matress on "floor" in our
friends room at 70% of what he called "Desperate Room Rates" of Rs.
6000/day.
So paying a premium on the room rent for sleeping on floor at our
friends already booked room. He claimed that our booking was cancelled
14 days back by him and Agoda was informed about it, and he doesn't
care if the same was not communicated to the customer. For him, we
were desperate unwelcomed customers and he armtwisted us as per his
will.
Also the washrooms were dirty, the room was stinking all the time, linen and towels were of bad quality, swimming pool was dirty and breakfast was substandard. It was not at all worth for Rs. 7500 per night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shalini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirvanaHermitage, Owner at Nirvana Hermitage, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
It is really disappointing to go through this UNTRUE REVIEW of you.
You claim that you booked your Pool View Villa from Agoda. This booking was never confirmed as we were already fully booked. The same was officially intimated to our partner Agoda. As per their Company policy they booked you to another Hotel, this change in booking was informed to you as well. We have learnt from our partner Agoda that you did not want to stay in another resort and had therefore cancelled your booking with Agoda. As per business ethics Agoda had refunded your money. This clearly shows that neither we nor Agoda were bound to offer you any rooms. Thereafter, you called us & threatened to check in even when there was no room with us. Upon arrival your friends requested our Front desk staff to keep you baggage in their room till the time they could return from lunch. As we are from the service industry and a very warm and hospitable resort we agreed to let you keep your luggage in our property although you had no booking.
That day your friends had booked 4 rooms with us. Unfortunately due to some unforeseen circumstances we were able to give your friend’s only 3 rooms. So we refunded the money for the fourth room and accommodated the fourth couple and you (that is the fifth couple free of cost). Obviously on day 2 when all 4 rooms had been handed to your friends we were not bound to anything complimentary. It was at this point that we requested you to come to the front desk and let us know whether you would like to continue staying with us on an extra person basis or whether you would like to look for another resort, that you refused to come to the front desk to give us further intimation about your intentions. Our requests were not heeded at all and we had to face rude telephonic answers from your end. We were left with no option but to let you know that if you were unwilling to come and sort out your stay then we would be forced to inform the police. We’d like to remind you at this point that we are a resort and not a charity organization. I am sure that any resort would have reacted in the same way had they encountered a guest who was staying, who did not have a booking, who had not paid and who was not even willing to come to the front desk to sort out the problem.
Luckily your friends intervened and asked you to sort this out. You had two choices, either you could continue to stay and pay our official rates or you could go to another resort. You chose to stay. If you were so unhappy with the resort and services you should have paid for the stay till that point and then checked out. However you chose to stay so obviously all that you have written cannot be true.
Its only because we are a warm and hospitable resort that despite our busy schedule we gave you the opportunity to sort out your stay amicably with the front desk and did not take any further action, because as you well know you did not have any bookings with us or any resort booked through Agoda and your money had been fully refunded even before your arrival in Goa!!!! Also please do remember however you decide to malign us, we all have proof of this true account of your stay as even your credit card will reflect the transactions, payments, refunds etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have had the most amazing amazing time at the Nrivana Hermitage!
I had taken a break after 2 years of work and I dont think i could have chosen a better place than Nirvana to find peace and rest for myself. My friend and I have enjoyed every moment at the Hermitage... from the walk around the place, to the beautiful view of the mountains from the room, from having a delicious breakfast to a cool and pleasant time near the pool!! its all been a wonderful experience... My childhood buddy and i have made it our place to meet again and again every year...
The staff there are so friendly and always at their toes to make sure you have a worthwhile stay...
Thank you Nrivana!!
My stay there has become one of the memories i will always cherish!!! :)
Warm Regards,
Pooja Karkera

Room Tip: ask the staff what you need,.. they will get you the best... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.9 km away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#2 of 15 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.3 km away
Laguna Anjuna
Laguna Anjuna
#6 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.7 km away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#1 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
Premier Inn Goa Anjuna
#3 of 15 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.1 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.7 km away
Opus by the Meraden
Opus by the Meraden
#15 of 15 in Anjuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Hermitage

Property: Nirvana Hermitage
Address: 955/2 Pequen Pedden | Flea Market Road, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Anjuna
#2 Spa Hotel in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirvana Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Hermitage is one of the finest boutique luxury beach resorts in Goa with exclusive cottages, specially designed for elite travelers, creative artiste, film celebrities, honeymooners, corporates looking for tranquility & exclusive holiday in Goa. The ambiance at Nirvana hermitage has been its USP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Nirvana Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Hermitage Anjuna, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing