We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and quick service”
Review of LawLers Barbecue

LawLers Barbecue
Ranked #23 of 194 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Description: We are a chain of locally owned quick service barbecue restaurants that feature slow smoked hand-pulled bbq meats and southern sides. You order at the drive thru window (no speaker system!) so you get our full personalized attention. Inside diners order at the counter and your order is usually ready before you get your drinks. Rustic fishing decor theme. We strive for excellence in all we do and are here to serve YOU! Col. 3:23 Because we are just a "little barbecue joint" …not near as fancy or as famous as some…we know we must try harder to earn your business. We want to be faster, cleaner, and tastier. We cannot be everything to everybody, so we just want to be everything to YOU. LawLers Barbecue...Taste the difference!
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Tonyell delivered an extremely friendly smile and excellent service. So much so that I had to call in and let the manager know. He too was very kind and appreciative of the feedback. This place has an all star staff and I hope they keep up the good work. I will make that extra little drive out to this Lawler's. Thanks again for the kindness y'all show.

Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, Owner at LawLers Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Christian we will make certain Tonyell knows you mentioned her. We do have great employees who care. AND we have incredible customers like YOU who appreciate what we strive to do. Thank you for this great review. Hurry back soon. God bless and OINK OINK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2017

Had a veteran hat on, then after I ordered/payed I noted discounts available posted on counter. After asking, was denied discount. Menu is on wall near ceiling over the counter, therefore new customers may not notice the discount posting. No other people in line, only one other customer in restaurant, so cashier could have taken time to redo order and give me a discount. All ironic because a very visible poster emphasizing customer service is posted beside pick-up window. About to just walk out, but was hungry, and already paid. Should have walked out, as both sandwich buns were soggy wet (from water moisture), beef tasted old, dried out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tank501AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, Owner at LawLers Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Tank501AD we owe you a truly heartfelt apology for this terrible handling of what should have been an uplifting experience for everyone. First, know that this is not typical of what happens when we have a veteran ask for a discount...ever. Secondly, you are so right, this cashier, upon seeing you had on a veteran cap, should have immediately honored you and asked for your military ID and given you the 10% discount. We explain to them that all veterans are happy to present their ID and most have it ready when they ask for the discount. There is no excuse for what didn't happen that should have happened. As a company, we support our military community and honor our veterans in any way we can.
Please accept our most humble apologies and we ask that you forgive us. Do not judge the intentions of our entire company upon this one incident please. We have taken steps to address this at the store you visited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We are LawLers regulars (at least 2-3 times a month) because the food is great, consistent and service is always exceptional and super friendly. So refreshing to visit a restaurant where the employees seem happy to serve you and eager to please. Love the turkey sandwich with white sauce and pork stuffed potatoes. The drive through is a bonus but we usually just go in and sit down or order take out. We’ve never had to wait more than a few minutes either way. They have the small pellet ice for drinks (just an added plus). Have used them for catering and for large orders for holidays and always a delight. Love to support local businesses and especially Christian businesses. Keep up the good work!

Thank ttmt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, Owner at LawLers Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

So glad that you are a regular and helping us pay the light bills every month! Your kind comments make us believe our efforts are appreciated. Thank you. We'll be here waiting to serve you...come on. God bless and OINK OINK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I walked in and asked the clerk if they sold Brisket. She asked me what is Brisket. Seriously..this truly disappointed me that they don't sell brisket and their help doesn't know what bbq beef is called. I walked out.

Thank Wenchtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, Owner at LawLers Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Well guess we failed the bbq brisket test no doubt. This was a new employee and that is not something she had been told. We don't offer brisket and never have. Still we should make sure our team knows what it is so we can make sure customers like you don't waste a trip to us hoping for the brisket we don't have! Please forgive us. If you ever decide to try our hand pulled bbq, we do offer the beef version of that. If it is brisket you really want, Chuck Wagon BBQ in Madison has some great brisket and we would highly recommend them. Please forgive that young lady. It was our fault not hers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Lawlers is a great go to place for excellent food. The team there: William, Morgan, and Rene are all so friendly and make you realize how much they appreciate your business! We go there often because of the food and friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, Owner at LawLers Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

War Eagle James! Yes we have quite a great team there who love to tickle you pink with outstanding service. And we DO appreciate your business so very much. Hurry back. Football season is around the corner...God bless and OINK OINK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to LawLers Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing