We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
104
86
49
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
86
49
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cinnamon rolls separate sitting area nice hotel breakfast bar is would stay here again room was large free breakfast minute drive nice size front desk clerk last minute trip exercise room beds were comfortable nice stay parking lot grocery store spring break
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this property as a team for a soccer tournament in town. When I walked into my room I could smell cleaner, which made me oh so happy!! My room was very clean and beds were so comfortable! The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was good. There was plenty of seating in the breakfast area so even though it was busy, there was no wait for the pancakes, nor for a table. Location was fantastic, very close to the beach and restaurants! Very pleased with this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank riddle2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMgulfshores, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Evening!

Thank you for your feedback.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Gulf Shores, AL. We enjoyed having the team stay with us and very much enjoyed every ones company. We heard the great news that your team placed 2nd and we wanted to congratulate you! Very much deserved!!
We do have a major renovation planned for this fall and can't wait for your team to enjoy our new amenities in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

You don't often find a small-town hotel that is kept as clean as this one. Room quality was excellent (although it should be for the very high price paid!) There was a gentleman who was constantly wiping down the elevators.
Breakfast pretty good for a freebie, with eggs, sausages, pastries (the cinnamon rolls!), cereals and fresh fruit.
Too far to walk to beaches in the heat, so parking in town and traffic were a significant problem.
Rates way too high, though, and varied significantly night to night. Guess they have a short season to take advantage of.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LADB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMgulfshores, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Good Evening,

Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in hearing that our team worked diligently to ensure the cleanliness of our hotel during your stay.
The cinnamon rolls are a world favor and we are glad to hear you enjoyed them as well as our other breakfast options. We are planning a major renovation this fall and hope you will join us again once these are complete!

Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Gulf Shores, AL!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

This was a last minute trip before school started back. I booked less than two weeks before we departed so we were VERY limited on hotel/condo options in our price range. The first night within 10 minutes of arriving we tried to make the pull out sofa to find the metal frame was broke. They sent maintenance up and told us we couldn’t get a new couch brought in and they were out of cots so we had to make due. Only after the prompting of my husband did Ron offer to comp the room for that first night. Many misunderstandings later, we had a cot for the rest of our stay. The room was dirty. Friendly cleaning staff, but old, dusty food under the bed and mold in bathrooms was a huge turnoff. The bathroom vent fan didn’t work. Breakfast was comparable to our usual hotel of Drury Suites. They had turkey sausage and egg white omelets as a healthy option. Very small dining room! Some people were getting their food and taking it upstairs or standing because there were no empty tables. The cook/wait staff was rude, but she could have just been having a bad few days and wouldn’t hold that against the hotel management. The only other thing I didn’t like was the main floor was ceramic tile and VERY slippery as pool users and beach goers came inside the only entrance we saw. More than one time I saw someone nearly fall getting off the elevator not expecting the floor to be wet. 2 queen bed suite was a nice size.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Shenalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMgulfshores, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for your feedback.
We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and apologize we fell short of these expectations. We do understand your frustration and wish there was more we could have offered. As you mentioned, we did comp your first night as compensation for the inconvenience of not having extra cots or couches on hand that night. Once we had the man power to lift the sleeper sofa, we did switch it for your family as well as provide you with a roll away bed. We are due for a major renovation this fall and will address the sleeper sofa quality in all of our rooms.

We will address our team and ensure they are providing the world class service we expect from every member of the team. We hope once some of our renovations are complete, that you and your family will return with us again.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Hotel is older and the rooms are worn. Air conditioner is loud, but worked well. No hot water this morning, which cost a star on this review! Once machines on every floor. No vending, but the front desk has a small variety of drinks and snacks for sale. Free breakfast included.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMgulfshores, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Ms. Debbie,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and apologize we fell short of these expectations. We have addressed your concerns and will ensure no other guest experiences the same inconveniences. We do have major renovations planned for this fall and hope once these are complete, you will return with us again!

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Worst stay in a HIE ever. Nasty room and poor maintenance. They need a decent housekeeping staff and some major renovations. Dirty carpet, bathroom floor, counter and table tops. Hampton Inn next time!!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank jusfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMgulfshores, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and apologize we fell short of these expectations. We do take your concerns very seriously and will have them addressed immediately. We do have a handful of new team members who we are working diligently with to ensure you nor any other guest experiences the same inconvenience again.
We do have a huge renovation planned for this fall and hope once these upgrades are complete you will return with us.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews