We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in the heart of Kolkata”
Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #31 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 23 July 2017

A very comfortable stay....the location of the hotel is pretty good....one got to experience the beauty of old kolkata.....the rooms are nice and the overall ambience is great....Quality of food is also decent....service aspect is also appreciable...

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have beautiful view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to Thank you for choosing to stay with us and review us on Trip Advisor.
We are overwhelmed to receive such strong words of appreciation from you. At our hotel we always try to make our guests feel special by our small endeavors. We are glad to know that you have liked the room and F&B offerings We are looking forward to welcome you back again in our hotel soon.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Punj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days.

Good: Nice big room (ask for one overlooking Chowringee Rd for some people and traffic watching), great location with an easy walk to the museum and Park Street.Yummy breakfast.

Not good: Grumpy unhelpful reception staff, a/c could not be adjusted so we froze, water/tea/toilet paper NOT restocked daily, they kept unplugging the fridge so we couldn't keep anything cold, and at breakfast there was no self-serve coffee and huge delays getting any served...then it was the worst coffee I have ever had :(

This is a hotel designed for business people on short stays....not tourists.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is average and okay for stay for 1-2 nights. Following are Pro n Cons

1. Location : in mid of Kolkata with Park Street n other attractions nearby
2. Breakfast spread is good, multiple options
3. Staff is good. Response to toiletries need were responded quickly
4. Well connected with Metro, radio cabs
5. Neat n clean

Cons
1. Location : people who don't like much crowd around may find this place pathetic, it is just in mid of big street market with so much local crowd
2. Food in room service is average and don't support high price they charge
3. Room size is small

This kind of property is recommended for solo or business trips, though families can also find it suitable depending upon needs.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Khushal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to Thank You for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to know that your stay with us has been a pleasant one and our room service standard has met your expectation. Being centrally located the hotel offers excellent city view. We have noted your point on the issues related to food quality and the price for it and will certainly work towards improving the quality of food for sure. Our superior rooms are of standard size about 23 square meter and we also have suite rooms available in case you need more spacious room on your next visit.
Looking forward to serve you again in our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Punj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Totally value for money and would always recommend this place to others. I repeatedly stayed in this hotel and always have satisfactory experience. The service, the front desk, the food, the rooms all are superb.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maitisudip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review at Trip Advisor about your recent experience at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are really very touched by your kind words of appreciation.

We would like to assure you that we stay committed to offer our guests similarly comfortable and memorable experience, We at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata are globally recognized for distinctive services that offer our guests an inspiring and engaging experience.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Punj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

After a luxurious trip from Thailand, I had to take an early morning train from Howrah (the thai airways flight made us reach kolkata at 1:00 AM). Since we had to kill few hours, we thought we'll catch up with some quick sleep. We booked this hotel only for one reason, its location, which is close to Howrah.

What got for the money we paid was a stale lobby, followed by stale lift and topped with room smelling like it has never seen good days (stained walls, sheets & worn out towels).

I'll never recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Don't pick this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vijay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel, we do regret that your experience was not to your satisfaction.

Please accept our most sincere apologies regarding your overall experience at our hotel, kindly be assured of our immediate attention as we value and respect your concerns and that services did not come up to the desired standards and truly regret the same.

We are happy to share that we started renovating our old block rooms and soon we will find a change there and we urge you to treat this experience in isolation and allow us another opportunity to serve you better next time.

My team and I look forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Sanjay Punj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.7 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,972 reviews
0.5 km away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#64 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
190 reviews
1 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#20 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
597 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International K...
#35 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
724 reviews
0.1 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: €65 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing