We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$75
eDreamsUS$75
Agoda.comUS$75
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
83
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
83
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rewarding stay mod cons stayed here for three nights quiet street two night stay fantastic stay a great place to stay breakfast and dinner small hotel bengali cuisine boutique hotel metro station home away from home special thanks heritage wassim typewriter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2021

We spent one night at the Calcutta Bungalow and absolutely loved our time there. It is a beautiful property with real character! We got an upgrade to Sahibpara. The room included a majestic bath tub and lovely artifacts. The food was delicious. They offer both Bengali and Continental fare and we were able to enjoy both! Service was absolutely wonderful. They were very flexible and available to accommodate all of our needs. We were able to pick up a few knicknacks from their small shop. Definitely some good items to bring back home. We hope to enjoy the Calcutta Walking Tours offered by them on a future trip to Kolkata. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and recommend to anyone looking for a unique stay in Kolkata!

Room tip: Each room has its own character and feel. The whole building is fun to explore.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hamsadwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 February 2021 via mobile

Old building restored and converted into a beautiful Heritage stay. Very tastefully done interior. If you are someone who loves Calcutta for its nostalgic heritage, this is the place you must go to.
Rooms are based on various themes which give you a flavour of North Calcutta- the old quarters.
The hotel is spic and span at all times.
The staff is warm and their hospitality is outstanding. Wasim is an excellent host! Cery sweet and swift!
The food is average. The dining area has a very interesting tit-bits section of food(snacks) items from north Calcutta.

They have amazing collection of books on Calcutta in different sections of the property.
They have few common spaces for meetings or just chilling out. Their terrace is also beautifully done.

The rooms may be priced a bit on the higher side but its worth it. In North Calcutta, this property is one of its kind.

They also organise city walks which are very elaborate and their guides are very well informed.

There is a small souvenir shop too, mostly selling Calcutta Bungalow merchandise and some local handicraft items, specially the hand-stitched kaantha bedspreads and the small rickshaw memento are outstanding!

I went for a week but ended up staying there for almost 4 weeks.

Room Tips- If you want quieter room, take Sahibpara or Muchipara, at the back. Sahibpara has a huge, beautiful, antique bathtub. ❤️
If you want a front balcony room then take Jatrapara or Boipara. They might be noisy but they are bigger rooms.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank monamukherji
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2020

A warm welcome when I arrived the hotel. Check-in was easier that I have ever experience in India. Love the warm touch on the WhatsApp group chat (with the staffs) after I enter the room, Staff were very helpful in all ways and offered tea, coffee and cookies at every opportunity.

The hotel is charming, authentic and has been very tastefully and lovingly restored. All rooms are well fitted in style with vintage props and materials to reflect the old building. Room are super clean, love the bed liner and the comfy of the pillows. Toilet are clean with Pure Essential Oil toiletries.

The location is interesting if you want to explore older parts of the city, great area to wander around. Those old buildings are amazingly beautiful.

Loved every minute of my stay & I will definitely come back again for my next Kolkata trip.

A big shout out to all the front desk staff who help me in getting my way out from India due to the Covid-19 situation. Let's combat the virus together by staying safe & hopefully everything will be back to normal real soon. Stay strong & stay safe everyone, take care.

Room tip: every room has their own unique characteristic & it is beautiful
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javierchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2020

Calcutta bungalow is a lovely place to stay, in the old town with plenty of character within a short walk. The staff, service and food were all top quality and I would rate our whole experience the same.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

Calcutta bungalows is wonderful! It’s beautifully decorated, and the rooms are very comfortable. It feels very “old worldly” and we loved it. The staff are warm, friendly and very hard working. The food is really tasty. It’s one of the best guest houses/hotels that we’ve ever stayed. Book a stay - you won’t regret it!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dnra4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews