We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$94
eDreamsUS$94
Agoda.comUS$94
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
81
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
81
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rewarding stay mod cons stayed here for three nights quiet street two night stay fantastic stay a great place to stay breakfast and dinner small hotel bengali cuisine boutique hotel metro station home away from home special thanks heritage wassim typewriter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2020

This beautifully restored boutique hotel in the Bengali section of the city, which in colonial days was called Black Town, while central Calcutta, where all the shops are, was known as White Town. The owners have tried to restore the building with original pieces, and appear to have succeeded.
As a person who lived in Calcutta 50 years ago, it was such a pleasure staying here and relaxing completely without the hustle and bustle of central Kolkata.
There are very few mod cons, and especially no lifts.
Enjoy going out and meeting friendly people, who are most helpful, and not pushy.
The staff were fantastic - polite, efficient and willing to help in any way they could.
We had a couple of dinners on the terrace there, and it was the most relaxing experience of our trip. The chef is able to cater for both Indian and continental tastes, and all the food is freshly made.

Room tip: If you are unable to walk up many stairs, request rooms on the first floor.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsyh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020

Calcutta Bungalow is a great place for those in Kolkata who loves staycation. Also for tourists who want to explore the city's heritage and also enjoy stay amidst heritage. One of the best restorations I have witnessed recently. We enjoyed our time here to celebrate a special day with family. Each and every room has a story to tell yet interior of each room is different from the other room. The colour contract on the wall, indoor lighting, antic showpieces and switch boards all amp up the ambiance.

Room tip: Take top floor rooms
Date of stay: March 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imsouvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

Calcutta Bungalow is a unique and well preserved heritage property - with stunning and comfortable interiors. The staff are attentive and extremely knowledgeable about local highlights, and the food was delicious! Special thanks to Anjum and Wazim for taking such good care of us. This place will appeal to anyone who appreciates good design and heritage buildings. We enjoyed exploring the neighborhood - the old buildings, markets, and its relatively close access to major attractions in Kolkata. Hope to back again soon!!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank artysnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2019

I stayed in the smallest Patuapara room at the Calcutta Bungalow for one night. Situated within a rare quiet oasis in Calcutta, the bungalow and room were spacious and clean, and being situated inside a courtyard away from the main street, was very quiet at night. The walls and desk were immaculately decorated with artwork and an old typewriter. Considerate touches such as mosquito repellent and a map of the area only added to the stay. The staff were helpful and offered tea and coffee at every opportunity. Despite the slightly high cost of the room relative to other options in the area, the included wonderful Bengali breakfast, immaculate room and fantastic staff made the stay more than worthwhile.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank terence199452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2019

I spent two nights here on 20 and 21 November. There could not be a more delightful place to stay. My room was beautiful and furnished in the best possible taste. Breakfast and dinner were superb. Above all, the lovely people who work here were extremely friendly and helpful. It has my very highest recommendation.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CharlesH2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews