We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,468)
Filter reviews
3,468 results
Traveller rating
2,949
387
83
26
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,949
387
83
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews al fresco excellent stay business trip would love to come back heritage property short stay great hospitality awesome experience comfortable stay special thanks keep up the good work special mention front office rooms are spacious breakfast spread enjoyed my stay courteous staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,331 - 1,336 of 3,468 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at The lalit kolkata. But that was solely because of the staff. While the rooms were quite ok, and the stay was fine, no complaints there, the staff made it memorable, especially Abheree and chandan were just amazing. Do look our for them. I'm quite a difficult traveller, and chandan made our stay just perfect. If not for anything we will definitely go back for the warm staff!
We left with a big big smile on our face. That's all that matters.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank buddhahng s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney G, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskar !

It is indeed a pleasure to learn of your great stay experience and i would like to thank you on behalf of my entire team for your kind words of appreciation and for making us your preferred choice. We truly value your precious time to review us on trip-advisor and your most kind words of encouragement for this most wonderful team & especially Chandan & Abheree who Rock with every guest interaction .

We look forward to your home coming and the joy of serving you. Please do write in to me (grodney@thelalit.com) should you be planning your next visit and will ensure another superlative stay experience.

Best Regards - Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

It was my first stay at Hotel Lalit and I was totally floored by this hotel with long standing history tradition and wonderful guest services...... I reached early morning in Kolkata due to pune Kolkata Jet Airways only early morning flight. However, it was a pleasant surprise to see the absolutely alert and smiling staff at reception and other departments. More then 100 years of old originally The great eastern Hotel is now taken over and managed by Lalit group and must complement them for making it amazing experience for every guest . Be it rooms or food or any other services. It’s the best you can get and it’s real value for every penny you spend, central location is yet another great advantage. And yes their bakery is it’s best asset ... and historical .
Every product was made with great pride and test. Every staff in every department is so courteous and warm that they make you so comfortable as if you are at home....
Keep it up....

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Makarand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney G, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Mr. Brahme,

Namaskar !

I take the pleasure on behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata to thank you for your recent stay and giving us an opportunity of being at your service. We appreciate you taking out your valuable time to share this wonderful experience and kind words of appreciation on this podium.

We look forward to your next visit and the joy of serving you. Please do write in to me (grodney@thelalit.com) should you be planning your next visit, will ensure another memorable stay experience.

Best Regards – Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We had a one-week stay at the Lalit. We really had a great time, wonderful service, great food. Our room was very large and clean. On a daily basis, we got a complementary fruit platter.
Kolkata is a fascinating city, absolutely worth a visit.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LifeOfBria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney G, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskar !

We at The Lalit Great Eastern are Indeed thankful for your just concluded stay and for being bestowed with the opportunity of being at your service. We are grateful for your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor and your most wonderful words of appreciation.

We look forward to your next visit and the joy of serving you. Please do write in to @ (grodney@thelalit.com) should your travel bring you back to this beautiful part of India , it would indeed be a pleasure crafting out another tailor made experience just for you.

Best Regards - Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Excellent location. Comfortable stay. Gourmet food and very accommodative staff.
Good facilities for the fitness pursuers also.
Your choice of food - north Indian, bengali, Low fat.
I may visit with family.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank sutripto d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney G, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Mr. Dev,

Namaskar !

I would like to begin by thanking you for choosing us – The Lalit Great Eastern for your trip to this beautiful city . We appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to review us on this global podium .

We look forward to your next visit and the joy of serving you again. Please do write in to me (grodney@thelalit.com) should you be planning your next visit , will ensure another incredible stay experience

Best Regards – Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Lalit is always fun to stay, exceptional and polite staff, well behaved.

Will always recommend for everyone to try out

Would love to return back and stay for longer time with family.

Excellent food and cleaned rooms.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Pramathesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney G, Front Office Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Mr. Bhurangi,

Namaskar !

I take the pleasure on behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata to thank you for your recent stay and giving us an opportunity of being at your service. We appreciate you taking out your valuable time to share this most wonderful experience and kind words of appreciation on this podium.

We look forward to your next visit and the joy of serving you. Please do write in to me (grodney@thelalit.com) should you be planning your next visit, will ensure another memorable stay experience.

Best Regards – Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews